We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
$120
Fully refundable before Wed, Apr 24
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
$84
Fully refundable before Wed, Apr 24
Breakfast included
Vio.com
$72
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Breakfast included
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,692)
Filter reviews
1,692 results
Traveler rating
517
708
305
98
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
517
708
305
98
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera house historic hotel rooms are large central location location is fantastic post office reunification palace saigon vietnam city district
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 1,692 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2014

The hotel is the oldest in the city and is likely in the prime spot. Hotel has high ceilings and a very colonnial feel. Had a twin room with small beds and experienced a lot of noise from the Hyatt Hotel next door which had significant buildings work in progress. Bathroom did require some updating but room was pleasant and breakfast ok. Did not feel service was up to the same standard as some other hotel in Vietnam where the standard is generally very high.

Room tip: Ask for a double bed and a room away from the Hyatt Hotel
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gentlemanoftheslopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is at one of the best locations in HCMC, in district 1. Right opposite opera, at walking distance from Banh Thanh market and Saigon square and many more must see locations of HCMC.
I must say that breakfast options are good as well.
Check in experience wasn't smooth. Being given a Twin beds despite clear booking instructions of a double bed. Carpet of the hotel, it seems, needed some good cleaning. Ongoing construction work in hotel makes it noisy (Nov 2014).
Staff in the hotel is nice though. If you need taxi, it's always available outside hotel. And if you need massage, many options nearby.

Overall, a hotel worth staying, thanks to location and nice staff, despite some minor negatives.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank ANILKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 12, 2014

The Hotel Continental is very charming with the building being of French colonnial style. We stayed in standard rooms which were very large and airy and kept very clean. There was fresh fruit in the room on arrival and two new bottles of mineral water were put in every day. The beds were pretty firm but fine. There was air conditioning but you didn't really need it at nighttime. In the evening two chocolates were brought to the room with a fresh flower, a lovely touch. An English language newspaper was hung on the door every morning too which was nice. The only down point is that the showers are quite low so tall Western men may have to bend slightly to use them!
There are plenty of staff in the hotel, sometimes too many, especially at breakfast time when you don't need an individual to 'self-serve' your orange juice for you! They all want to help though and are very polite. Breakfast buffet was excellent with a good variety of dishes and cereal for those who want it too. You could have your eggs cooked in front of you to your own specification. We ate in the restaurant twice as well and the food was reasonable but nothing special. The reception staff varied and their English was often a barrier.
Unfortunately when we stayed they were doing building works outside the hotel for the new metro which meant cement trucks arriving at 2am! If you are staying in the near future, ask for a room facing inside to the courtyard or outside to the shopping mall (not outside to the opera house) as you will be disturbed less.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susannahmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 12, 2014

This hotel is the oldest in Saigon, it's bang in the middle and if it's good enough for Graham Greene it's good enough for me. The rooms are huge and airy and the bed is the biggest I've ever slept in and the staff are very kind. You get a real sense of what it was like to be here before all the high rise came. This was my third visit to Saigon but my first stay here, if I ever go back I shall come back to here. The only downsize was no pool, but then the courtyard garden is a haven in the middle of the mayhem.

Room tip: I got up graded to a suite so I would say a suite. It was vast you could have danced in it and I did
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bettystaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 8, 2014

Enjoy its rich history and travel back in time during your stay at this hotel. A place where presidents, officers, journalists, writers, some even say spies of the warring past once walked these corridors and had breakfast at the same place you will. It is walking distance from many landmarks, including Notre Dame, Central Post Office, Ben Thanh Market, Opera House (!!) and shopping malls. The staff are all nice and friendly. Mr Van Quyen and his colleagues really go out of the way to make you feel at home. It was like having a friend away from home.
The rooms are furnished with an old world charm as if nothing had changed since 1880 except maintained really well and of course kept really clean. Had their continental breakfast for 4 days and everyday there is something new to try. Lunch at Le Bourgeois was also exquisite. Potato rissoto with grilled scallop and truffles is light on the palette, yet, fully exuding the natural flavours of the fresh ingredients. Strongly recommended! Not forgetting great dessert too. Will definitely go back to get away from the modern world! :)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hotel_Continental,_Saigon

Room tip: This room is a little noisy, but perfect for those who love people watching, sights, sounds, lights, in the streets of Saigon. It's transforms, day to night. Facing the Saigon Opera House.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yongster76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews