We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back into a bygone era”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Saigon
Ranked #69 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Step back into a bygone era”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our family of four just returned from Vietnam where we spend our last two nights in Saigon at the Hotel Continental. We booked two rooms with balconies overlooking the Opera house. The rooms were huge with high ceilings and ornate fixtures. There were french doors which led to a small balcony (no seats) overlooking the bustling street below. You are right in the midst of it all at this hotel - a great location! We were in rooms 207 and 208 and were happy with both rooms. (Graeme Greene stayed just down the corridor in 214 when he wrote The Quiet American.) Beds were comfortable, everything was spotlessly clean, shower over bath - you will need to take a large step to get leg over edge of bath - may be difficult for some older people. They even left a little chocky beside your bed each night. The breakfast buffet could be taken inside a lovely ornate room with columns etc, or outside in the courtyard under the gorgeous old frangipani trees. We ate inside in the air-conditioning. There was a lovely assortment of hot and cold buffet items which all four of us thoroughly enjoyed. We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night - on the Saturday there was a wedding - this hotel is popular for weddings. The loud music may disturb some, but it did not bother us. It is also important to note that the rooms with the balconies facing the opera house are exposed to quite a bit of traffic noise from the busy streets below, as the windows are not double glazed. Once again, this did not affect us, as after a hectic day of shopping we were literally out like a light once our heads hit the pillows. We were also provided with a breakfast plate delivered to our room (which we requested) on the morning of our departure, as we were leaving the hotel before the breakfast buffet would commence. Included was bread, butter and jam, ham, cheese, yoghurt and bananas. We really enjoyed staying in this historic hotel to end our wonderful trip in Vietnam. We could not fault anything - the rooms, the food, the service. A great step back into a bygone era.

Room Tip: We loved the rooms with the balconies overlooking the Opera house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmyjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    565
    259
    78
    53
See reviews for
214
511
134
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just came back from Saigon city last week. Thought I would drop a review for this hotel as my mind is quite fresh from the trip.We booked the junior suite for 3 nights, it was a short trip.Our balcony overlooked the Opera House, so during the weekend was woken up by some opera singer (not too sure, didn't check but it was in local language).Because of the location of the room, every morning we were woken up by the rhythmic honks of Saigon city scooter/bike riders.I'm actually missing those sounds.So if you are a light sleeper and would mind, I guess this room is not a good option.Room was spacious and comfortable, no complains there.

Loved the history of the building, I found out that some journalists & spies mingled around here during the war (apart from Givral). The architecture of the building is lovely, conveniently located in Dong Khoi which has the European feel to it.Walkable distance to almost every tourist spots, plenty of coffee shops around.Good location if you ever need to do some last minute shopping for gifts (which was what we did). The courtyard was a lovely place for breakfasts, can see why it's a popular hotel for weddings. Breakfast selection was good, breads were nice & different varieties.

Now comes this part which I have the need to address to.Most of the receptionist were cold except for one slight chubby lady.As someone else mentioned in previous comment "frosty".As soon as we arrived we thought it was kinda odd that we were greeted with a sour faced.I thought the Vietnamese weren't a smily bunch & compared with the neighbouring countries because of this first incidence.I was wrong of course.Just some of the receptionist of this hotels weren't trained to greet properly.One of them was quite rude when I needed to leave my paper bag at the counter before I left for home.The bellboys, security guards, waiters/waitresses and chambermaids were friendly & helpful, but not receptionist staffs.How odd.

Overall, I had a taste of this place.Not sure if I'd return to this hotel, perhaps I'd try other place the next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairyfairuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were a group of friends traveling together and we agreed quickly that we would never want to stay anywhere else in Ho Chi Minh City. The Continental is delightful. The old age elegance is completed by attention to detail, and five star service at every level. Think chandeliers and ceiling fans. The location is second to none, overlooking the opera house. We were a bit disappointed that the hotel seems to lack a (good) pastry chef. Breakfast croissants were clearly supermarket quality: unforgivable in Vietnam! But everything else was wonderful so we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Spring for the Premium Suite, it is well worth the difference to have such a large and comfortable r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dab107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the continental for 7 nights.
We were very pleased with the service and amenities the hotel provides.
This hotel is not for all kind of travelers, instead is for the history and architecture lovers.
There is no other hotel like the continental in Vietnam with so much history and character that this hotel.
We stayed at a newly renovated suite that contain : a flat screen tv, light switches, nice seating area but the decor was kept

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatwac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

French inspired with a great location... I was impressed by it's long standing history & it's collection of antiques (though minimal), it shows how well they cared for their establishment especially the Frangipani trees in their relaxing courtyard, it still stands now, beautifully since 1880...well that's impressive! We booked in a junior suite & upon check-in they presented us with an upgrade to a premier suite, making us feel like we deserve nothing less. On my books that's another plus point for this hotel! Both their junior & premier suites are big, spacious, airy and it comes with a sitting area & a balcony that gave us a view of the beautiful opera house just across the street & a mini park. From the doorman, security, reception, bellhop, waiting staff & housekeeping, their service was superb! To the point of perfection actually... like everything was aimed just to please us and make our stay truly enjoyable & memorable. Well, it was that alright! Our trip was semi-business con pleasure and about 30 something boxes were delivered to us in the hotel which I requested to be sent up to our room, they instead offered to safe keep it in one of their conference rooms so that our room is left spacious for us to have maximum comfort. Wonderful! Saigon's Notre Dame basilica, Municipal hall, Post Office, Reunification Palace, Ben Thanh market, Saigon River, malls, shops, cafes & restaurants are all just a walk away. I love this traditional old-fashioned hotel and I highly recommend it for a great stay.

Room Tip: Junior and premier suites has sitting rooms & balconies that gives you a view of the Opera house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAndrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Over 100 years old , The continental is a beautiful low rise and high ceilings hotel with huge room sizes( imagine 2 times the size of a normal hotel room ). Many rooms face the opera house which is an equally charming building from the same period. Residents enjoy a discount on tickets for the opera.Centrally located in the heart of the city , which has lovely parks and is within a few minutes from several attractions. We stayed here 2 nights and 3 adults were very comfortable in a triple room. Service was good and the hotel facilities were clean.

Room Tip: ask fro a room overlooking the opera house.. you may have to pay a bit more but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akka29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great location! Everything is walkable from here. HCMC's oldest hotel certainly looks impressive, nostalgic and romantic from the outside and our suite was large with small Juliet balcony overlooking the opera house. It seemingly had original fixtures and fittings in the rooms that gave it a real sense of the history that we had been hoping for. Breakfast was quite good, with nice selection of fruits and buffet style hot dishes. That is about all the positive things I have to say about this hotel. We arrived at 11.15pm on a Friday to a very frosty reception, not welcoming at all. We asked if there was a bar in the hotel that was open where we could get a nightcap. We were laughed at as they told us no, all bars are closed. We made do with a beer from our room minibar. During our stay of 3 nights, there were weddings on both the Saturday and Sunday (to be expected I guess) but this meant the attractive courtyard area where you'd go for coffee or a cocktail, was out of bounds for hotel guests and no other alternative was suggested. Not only that but the music that was played for these weddings was beyond loud. I can not express in words how loud it was. We had chosen to have hotel spa treatments one afternoon which was in a windowless room close to the courtyard. The volume of the music was so loud that the massage beds were vibrating, we could not hear what the therapists were saying and at one point I actually put my hands over my ears because the music was deafening. Totally unnecessary. The spa itself was not great. The changing room was a small open space for men and women to share in a through room from the reception to the treatment room so staff (men and women) were constantly passing through. There was one corner with a shower curtain hanging from the ceiling so my husband and I got changed behind there! Delightful! This is also where the jacuzzi was situated, not particularly relaxing. The other hotel bar that we were forced to use since the court yard was closed to hotel guests, was soulless and empty on the 2 occasions we went there. It attempted to play upbeat music but this was just drowned out by the blaring wedding party music again from the courtyard leaving a headache inducing mix of different types of music competing for airspace. Also, when asked for the bill the barman asked me to go back to the spa to sign the bill as this was apparently the only room on the floor with payment facilities. Ingenious! On our first day we approached the travel desk to ask if they had a map of the local area as we were heading out to explore. Upon asking my question I was snarled at and rudely told no we don't have maps here, ask at reception. How silly of me to think that a travel desk would have a map of HCMC! We wanted to love this hotel because of its history but unfortunately, overall we would not recommend this hotel and we will not be returning. The location is excellent and the hotel is beautiful from the outside and full of history and nostalgia but the service and facilities fall very very short. There are other historic hotels in equally excellent locations such as The Rex hotel where we will probably stay on our next visit.

Room Tip: make sure your room does not overlook the courtyard incase there is a wedding and/or very loud music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoGarethB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#44 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#42 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#52 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#16 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Saigon

Property: Hotel Continental Saigon
Address: 132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#55 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing