We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental Saigon
Nearby Hotels
New World Saigon Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
$176
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blue Diamond Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
$44
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rex Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
$165
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Majestic Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
$130
$102
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Windsor Plaza Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
$89
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
$143
$96
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$106
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silverland Yen Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
$110
$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$87
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$54
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,452)
Filter reviews
1,453 results
Traveler rating
427
612
275
83
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
612
275
83
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgraham greeneopera houseoldest hotelfrangipani treeshistorical hotelcentral courtyardold damerooms are hugeclassic hotelsitting areaan updatefirst floorcolonial stylejunior suitelocation is fantasticgrand hoteldong khoi street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
693 - 698 of 1,453 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had reservations at a modern, sterile, name brand, high rise hotel on the riverfront but decided that we wanted a richer, more local experience. We chose the Hotel Continental based on historical value, centrality of location, ambiance, size, value and reputation. We are absolutely thrilled with our choice.
The staff has been nothing but exceptional so far. My wife called the front desk to ask how to operate the centralized lighting system. Within literally a minute there was a knock on the door and a pleasant, helpful young man demonstrated the system perfectly. Actually we were shocked by how prompt he was. Every employee has greeted us with a smile & kind word. Truly makes one feel that their patronage is appreciated by everyone at the property.
Our room is large with a sitting area and large windows - a suite without a balcony though such is available. The a/c works great, the king bed is extremely comfortable, the bathroom full-featured with excellent water temp & volume control separate tub & glassed waterfall shower, an in-room safe, fridge and many desireable & unexpected ammenities are included. The included full breakfast buffet in the lovely dining room with accompanying beautiful music is a great way to start the day. For $85/nite, the value is outstanding.
We love the French Colonial architecture of the hotel & rooms. It's a beautiful old hotel from the 1880's which is well maintained yet has kept its original charm unlike the Rex Hotel. The location is superb across from the Opera House. We enjoyed sitting at cafe tables alongside the hotel, sipping coffee while listening to the free public concert Sunday morning al fresco from the Opera House steps. The market, district 1 sites, museums & good restaurants are within easy walks of a few blocks.
After touring other uniquely local hotels such as the Rex & Majestic, as well as sterile monoliths like the Intercontintal Asiana, we feel we have truly found our home here at Hotel Continental and will return again without the least hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShowMeVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was my second holiday at Hotel Continental, Saigon and the second time surpassed the first. This hotel has a long and interesting history, more recently during the Vietnam War with the USA. The building is in the french colonial style and is complemented by the surrounding buildings such as the Opera House and the old Post office which are all of similar architecture. My husband and I chose the oriental suite which was huge, with bright modern bathroom, enormous bedroom and a lovely sitting room which has french doors opening up to the balcony and overlooking the beautiful Opera House.
This hotel is situated in the main street of Saigon and has easy access to all the sites of the city.
The breakfasts would have to be close to the best I have eaten and I am a very regular traveller around the world. Breakfast can be had in the restaurant, or weather permitting in the very pretty garden area. There is a french restaurant on the ground floor which is very good, however probably a little expensive when compared to most restaurants in the vicinity.
I can recommend this hotel to any traveller. Forget the Sheratons or the Hyatts, this hotel has character.

Room Tip: Try for a suite on the Opera House side. Rooms on Dong Khoi Street can be a little noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My colleague and I stayed here on an eight hour stop in Saigon. We wanted to see the site of "The Quiet American" and some of the old colonial splendour.

We had a great time. First of all, the hotel let us check in early (9:30am) and eat breakfast immediately. Our happiness was at the forefront of their minds.

The building is lovely and beautiful. Our room was spacious with high ceilings. The internet worked and the beds let us catch a few hours of kip. I had a reasonably priced massage at the spa by a beautiful young petite lady. I was surprised when she started walking on my back, but I felt like a million bucks afterwards, so she knew what she was doing.

Between us, we had several espressos and Vietnamese style iced coffee. They were good quality (my Italian colleague has very high standards for espresso) but pricey.

If I return to Saigon, I will stay at the Continental.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zmrzlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Myself and two friends stayed at the Hotel Continental for five nights recently. As it was our first trip to Saigon we figured this would be a nice reputable hotel in a central location which would negate some of the insane hecticness of this crazy city. This worked out well as it provided a nice break after a day of exploring. however, it seemed many of the senior members of staff were rude to the younger workers which we all thought was pretty unacceptable given how friendly and welcoming these staff were. they also didn't have great english speakers at the reception and when paying $150 this is kind of to be expected. Also, the third bed in the room which was a roll away was pretty hard, not great to sleep on. still, a lovely older hotel with amazing decor and these faults were partially overshadowed by this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomEkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Tables by the pavement with very good service. Pricy cocktails as expected. Saigon beer was a good option - ice cold. Easy walk to luxury shops and cathedral. Great view of the square. Good wine list. Try after dark for the people watching atmosphere. No hassle from passersby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beijingfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews