We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Saigon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental Saigon
Ranked #61 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is a wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Why is this hotel so poorly listed in trip advisor? We just spent 1 night, but it was with regret as the rooms have been beautifully renovated. We had 2 large beds in a big room overlooking the interior courtyard. Lovely modern bathroom with both bath and shower, good buffet breakfast in the courtyard in the most famous and historic hotel in Hi Chi Minh and all at a price I consider reasonable. go there!

Room Tip: You can choose between quiet overlooking the courtyard or noisier overlooking the opera house or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    464
    223
    61
    40
See reviews for
166
413
106
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was there for three weeks in December. I had booked a Junior Suite and was delighted when I arrived that they had upgraded me to the Continental Suite. What a beautiful room. The Hotel has, and is going through a renovation so I had to make a few calls to quiet the construction above me. It is a small hotel by comparison (80 rooms) which I felt was a plus. The housekeeping staff was attentive and caring. The front desk is a little dry.. they don't smile much. But they are really nice people. Better than the Rex down the street. You are right downtown but not in the middle of all the noise. I had no trouble sleeping at night. Delicious Continental Breakfast every morning. Can't say enough good things about this hotel.

Room Tip: I made my reservations online directly with the hotel. Their email communication was excellent. Le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Continental is everything that an older majestic hotel should be. From the front doorman in smart white uniforms to the spacious well decorated rooms. The location is superb, directly opposite the opera house in the central square. Our balcony opened out to the square and you were able to watch the buzz of everyday life go by. Staff were efficient and helpful. Rooms were opulent and clean, with large bathrooms. Everything that was required to work did. We spent Christmas at this establishment and they did everything over and above what could be expected of a hotel in a non christian country. Great stay! Thank You Staff and Management.

Room Tip: Go the extra for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel Continental, two nights before our Mekong trip and two nights after. Our first booking was upgraded to a junior suite, overlooking the Opera House, and our second room was a deluxe (as booked), overlooking Dong Khoi Street. Both rooms were exceptionally spacious and came with daily breakfasts and free wifi. Despite being on one of the busiest intersections in the city on two busy Saturday nights, the rooms were surprisingly quiet.

Staff were unfailingly friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfast selection was broad - breads, pastries, cold cuts, cheeses, eggs cooked to order, soups, dim sum... if you've seen a decent breakfast spread in Vietnam you'll know what I mean. The courtyard was a lovely place to start the day, with discreet fans providing a gentle (deceptive!) breeze.

As other reviewers have noted, the Continental is located in the ritzy hotel district (the Park Hyatt is right next door, the Caravelle opposite and the Intercontinental, Sheraton and Majestic Hotels a stone's throw away). It's still easy to find down-to-earth eateries within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naustrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had everything that we wanted - a feel of the colonial era in a courtyard facing room that was clean and recently refurbished while keeping the wood-paneled style. Great service and buffet breakfast under the frangipani trees. No noise from the road but a central location that meant we could walk to everywhere. Comfortable beds and room WiFi without any login hassles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mature_traveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur,malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I love this hotel of its location,excellent,walking distance to halal restaurants
The courtyard is beautiful, airy and relaxing to have breakfast there.
Brought the feeling being in France when I had my breakfast there.
Good service .
The room is huge.Facing the Opera.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mad_yahya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed in a junior suite with a balcony overlooking the old opera house. Our room was fully renovated just a few days before our arrival. (they are renovating all the rooms on the 1st floor (actual 2nd floor)). So we had brand new carpet, paint and a completely refurbished bathroom. Of course all the original wood work remained and was nicely cleaned. The room was huge.

It overlooked the street which presented memorable views, but it came with the cost of traffic noise (the ice cream trucks parked near the opera house was the worst). I guess this is all part of staying in the heart of Saigon. The noise would die down around 10 pm and would not pick back up until around 9 am, so sleeping was not a problem.

Breakfast was incredible. The dining room was beautiful and the morning weather perfect for having breakfast in an open patio. Lots and lots of selections, unlimited coffee, and made to order omelets.

The area around the hotel is somewhat touristy, with the typical name brand overpriced fashion stores. With that you have overpriced restaurants. So, each evening we would walk 2 - 3 blocks and we found some really good authentic restaurants.

We posted a video of the hotel on our photography travel website quickadventures.net

Room Tip: With most of Vietnam hotels being so cheap, pay the extra money while in Saigon and get a suite with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluefive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#43 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#8 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#11 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#40 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Saigon

Property: Hotel Continental Saigon
Address: 132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#55 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Continental Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing