We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Saigon
Ranked #67 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Continental is everything that an older majestic hotel should be. From the front doorman in smart white uniforms to the spacious well decorated rooms. The location is superb, directly opposite the opera house in the central square. Our balcony opened out to the square and you were able to watch the buzz of everyday life go by. Staff were efficient and helpful. Rooms were opulent and clean, with large bathrooms. Everything that was required to work did. We spent Christmas at this establishment and they did everything over and above what could be expected of a hotel in a non christian country. Great stay! Thank You Staff and Management.

Room Tip: Go the extra for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel Continental, two nights before our Mekong trip and two nights after. Our first booking was upgraded to a junior suite, overlooking the Opera House, and our second room was a deluxe (as booked), overlooking Dong Khoi Street. Both rooms were exceptionally spacious and came with daily breakfasts and free wifi. Despite being on one of the busiest intersections in the city on two busy Saturday nights, the rooms were surprisingly quiet.

Staff were unfailingly friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfast selection was broad - breads, pastries, cold cuts, cheeses, eggs cooked to order, soups, dim sum... if you've seen a decent breakfast spread in Vietnam you'll know what I mean. The courtyard was a lovely place to start the day, with discreet fans providing a gentle (deceptive!) breeze.

As other reviewers have noted, the Continental is located in the ritzy hotel district (the Park Hyatt is right next door, the Caravelle opposite and the Intercontinental, Sheraton and Majestic Hotels a stone's throw away). It's still easy to find down-to-earth eateries within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naustrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had everything that we wanted - a feel of the colonial era in a courtyard facing room that was clean and recently refurbished while keeping the wood-paneled style. Great service and buffet breakfast under the frangipani trees. No noise from the road but a central location that meant we could walk to everywhere. Comfortable beds and room WiFi without any login hassles.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mature_traveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I love this hotel of its location,excellent,walking distance to halal restaurants
The courtyard is beautiful, airy and relaxing to have breakfast there.
Brought the feeling being in France when I had my breakfast there.
Good service .
The room is huge.Facing the Opera.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mad_yahya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed in a junior suite with a balcony overlooking the old opera house. Our room was fully renovated just a few days before our arrival. (they are renovating all the rooms on the 1st floor (actual 2nd floor)). So we had brand new carpet, paint and a completely refurbished bathroom. Of course all the original wood work remained and was nicely cleaned. The room was huge.

It overlooked the street which presented memorable views, but it came with the cost of traffic noise (the ice cream trucks parked near the opera house was the worst). I guess this is all part of staying in the heart of Saigon. The noise would die down around 10 pm and would not pick back up until around 9 am, so sleeping was not a problem.

Breakfast was incredible. The dining room was beautiful and the morning weather perfect for having breakfast in an open patio. Lots and lots of selections, unlimited coffee, and made to order omelets.

The area around the hotel is somewhat touristy, with the typical name brand overpriced fashion stores. With that you have overpriced restaurants. So, each evening we would walk 2 - 3 blocks and we found some really good authentic restaurants.

We posted a video of the hotel on our photography travel website quickadventures.net

Room Tip: With most of Vietnam hotels being so cheap, pay the extra money while in Saigon and get a suite with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluefive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

As mentioned by others, the hotel is charming.
We were pleased to get a room on the second floor that faced the inner courtyard, but for three evenings running, we have had the added "pleasure " of listening to very loud music from wedding parties going on literally below our windows. Even though Vietnamese wedding receptions/dinners only last about three hours, this is a bit much and no warnings have been given. With sound rehearsals etc several hours beforehand, we find this rather tiring, especially up to a New Years evening when we would have liked an afternoon nap.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing inner courtyard, go for traffic noise instead!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kirsten274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Lovely old, elegant and charming hotel in a great location (get room with balcony). Little dated,especially the bathrooms, but the location and elegance made up for it. Great breakfast choices. Would be better with a pool.Bit noisy due to the traffic around the square.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front if you want a balcony overlooking the square and hustle and bustle. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaNamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#41 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#22 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Saigon
Grand Hotel Saigon
#44 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#30 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Saigon

Address: 132-134 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#45 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $93 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Continental Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing