We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps not 5-star but excellent anyway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #28 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perhaps not 5-star but excellent anyway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Equatorial is somewhat out-of-town, but it does provide a free daily shuttle bus service to District One, picking up near the Opera House and dropping off there, at the cathedral, at the Reunification Museum and at Ban Thanh Market. Walking into the centre isn't a practical proposition due to the distance (about 3km), the heat, and the prodigious courage required to cross roads along the way. The hotel is located in a suburban area which is in itself quite fascinating and gives the visitor a better idea of ordinary Vietnamese city life than a hotel in the city centre could ever do.

The hotel itself is advertised as 5-star, but it is getting on in years and the rooms are showing it. However, it is impeccably clean, utterly comfortable, well-serviced, friendly and in every way pleasant. Breakfasts are somewhat less sumptuous than you'd expect of a 5-star, but the food is tasty and plentiful, and Asian meals are available - I had a delicious Mee Lam one morning and I have never had a better one. The Orientica Restaurant specialises in seafood and its set menu 7-course meals are absolutely fantastic for the price. There is a good 24m pool and a gym.

So although in truth it's a 4-star hotel, there is nothing wrong with it and a great deal to like. Recommended.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better the district views you'll get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    455
    107
    32
    9
See reviews for
157
531
47
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel staff very nice clean rooms nice food, location a bit out of the way need to taxi to most of the places, the major let down for us was the on going painting of the pool area the fumes of poxy paint really not great especially with young kids, shocked that this was left happen during pool times, could have easily been done after closing time, other then that nice hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royzer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this Hotel for three nights. Very nice hotel excellent in every way except for the location just a little bit far from district one. Need to get taxi's, hotel does offer a bus shuttle to and from the Hotel. Nice breakfast staff very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmelgB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
235 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a place where management would go the extra mile for you. All departments work together to provide you the best services Hotel has to offer.
Chit Chat Cafe serves buffet breakfast that I personally did not skip every morning during my stay. The Orientica is one of a kind. From Sushi, Tempura to Chinese delicacies Orientica offers the finest fusion cuisine.
Finally we celebrated a friend's birthday at Flo Lounge. Bottles of Plaimont Colombelle Blanc complimented by light snacks and Tapas made the evening a memorable one.
And certainly the Foot Massage was most relaxing.
Thanks to the well trained team.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHADIADNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We could not fault this hotel with perhaps one exception it being located a little away from places of interest. however a hotel shuttle is available for guests and taxis are very cheap.

The Octavia restaurant which is one of the two restaurants at the hotel was fantastic. We dined there both nights of our stay & consider it equal to any top class restaurant in Australia for the food. We chose to dine on the set menus of "Jade" & "Ruby". A great choice as we were able to appreciate 7 different courses of artistic presentation, flavours and variety.

We particularly appreciated the Duty Manager, Mr Saker, who was friendly and very helpful.

Bill & Desiree - Melbourne, Australia.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff could not help enough. This hotel was spotless. We paid a bit extra to have the Club package which included a nightly spread of Tapas and drinks on level 10 and lot of other extras.The buffet breakfast was delicious. Most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in. About 5 mins to upmarket district 1 by their regular bus shuttle. But that area is just like any other high end shopping inner city area. To experience true Saigon but in complete comfort stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KENDALLJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for 5 nights when we arrived at Ho Chi Minh City.
Had a welcome drink on arrival then taken to our room which was very nice, clean and the bed which was very comfortable. The decor and amenities in the hotel were beautiful. The breakfast was very good with wide variety of foods to choose from. There was a buffet for dinner which was very nice and the staff provided good service or you could go to one of the restaurants. The pool area was very good to. We enjoyed our stay at this Hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weeroona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.2 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#19 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#30 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
2.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#15 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#33 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windsor Plaza Hotel
Windsor Plaza Hotel
#57 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
#12 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#22 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#39 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star business hotel is centrally located between the waterfront and Cholon (Chinatown) and is only 20 minutes to the airport. 10-minute's drive from the hotel is the city's major commercial, financial centres, shopping strips, recreational parks and night spots. The newly refurbished rooms are elegantly designed and tastefully furnished, providing guests with contemporary surroundings and comforts. Facilities include 7 outlets, a business centre, meeting and function rooms and a comprehensive fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho Chi Minh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing