We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel i will never forget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #26 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hotel i will never forget”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

An excellent hotel with great staff. We stayed in one of the club rooms, which had some extra perks such as breakfast, morning and afternoon tea. The food was seriously delicious especially the sweets for morning and afternoon tea. They had a gym, beauty salon and restaurants attached to the hotel. A luxurious hotel with great people working there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    473
    110
    32
    9
See reviews for
165
561
47
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and I requested an early check-in, i was emailed back promptly and my request was fulfilled. From the moment you arrive it feels like indulgence, the lobby is amazing and our room over the pool was beautiful (plus we could keep an eye on the best time for a swim), and the swim-up bar was a great addition.

We didn't get in-room wifi with my room as it costs extra which was a little disappointing but to be expected with the fancier hotels. We did get the buffet breakfast which was spectacular, so much selection. The only thing that we found hard was the shortage of places to eat close to the hotel (which is not the fault of the hotel) but you can always just take a short taxi ride to somewhere. Trip to the airport is quick, easy and cheap as well (160k VND)

This hotel felt safe and professional, and just what i needed to end my holiday on a high note.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahLeah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are currently staying at this hotel and cannot find fault with any matter. From the time we arrived we have only experienced the best in service. I suggest that you pay to have the club lounge accommodation. John, Steven and Dang that are waiters in the club lounge are attentive and a lot of fun. We have travelled the world and can say that this hotel is up there with the best of them for service and food. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burls_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
423 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Equatorial Hotel is a little out of the main hub of the city, but that is actually a good thing. We still walked into the centre from there which was about 15 minutes - and as long as you are prepared to take your life into your own hands when crossing roads, it's all relatively easy to navigate your way around. One warning - we took a taxi back from the market to the hotel and we knew that the fee should be around 100,000 dong. The taxi driver deliberately missed the turning to our hotel, therefore parking in another street as he couldn't reverse back. He then locked the doors of the cab and told us that the amount we owed was 787,000 dong. The meter said 787 - which we knew meant 78,700 dong. We sat arguing in this taxi for 10 minutes - he would not let us out, he would not drive to the hotel and he was getting extremely animated. Eventually we handed 100,000 dong to him and told him to let us out or we would cause a major scene. He finally gave in and let us go. Not a pleasant experience so be warned not to let any taxi rip you off.

We upgraded to the exec floor in the hotel which is the 11th floor and therefore had some extra services and facilities - such as free drinks and cocktail food between 5:30-7:30pm and breakfast every morning up there rather than in the main room downstairs. Apparently the rooms are slightly larger too but I can't compare that to anything.

The room itself was very comfortable and clean. They are not enormous rooms and certainly the bath is made for little people, but all in all it was very nice. It felt modern and the staff were extremely polite and helpful.

The car transfer between airport and hotel is excellent. Very modern new BMW's - with very polite drivers. This was an excellent touch.

Our experience here was a very good one and I would definitely recommend the hotel. We did eat at their main restaurant, The Orientica, and I have done a separate review for that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A friendly place to stay with 'culture' and good restaurants nearby; quiet area; free shuttle to tourist spots or only $3.50 by taxi. I enjoyed getting lost in the local streets while seeing how the locals lived and worked. Safe area, close to supermarkets, great pool and spa, but staff made the difference in typical Vietnamese friendly style - always went the extra distance. We 'stumbled' across it this time but would recommend to anyone. Has convenient ATM in the foyer. Washing is expensive but good, but a little laundry 50m away was reliable and cost $4 for three days of washing (and ironing) for two people!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Club floor for an extra $60/night - included a 2.5hr happy hour each night with g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Kauter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Everything about the hotel was great. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and didn't need to upgrade to the club floor. Shuttle service was excellent and plenty of taxis right out front. About $10 AUD for trip to airport. Dim Sum lunch in restaurant was excellent and great value. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

It's not in district 1 which can be an issue if you want to be in the heart of things and the street its on doesn't have a much appeal but the hotel itself is good, as we're the staff.

Hue in the pool bar deserves a special mention as he was always worked hard and always had a smile. The breakfast was also very good.

Our rooms did smell of smoke and the windows needed a serious clean and further to that, if you have a room on the street side of the hotel you will hear everything so get a pool view at the least.

Hotel is nice but 5*s seems a stretch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0bbits_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,532 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#14 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
302 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#30 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#31 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
574 reviews
1.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,503 reviews
2.1 mi away
Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa
Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa
#24 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#16 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#39 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star business hotel is centrally located between the waterfront and Cholon (Chinatown) and is only 20 minutes to the airport. 10-minute's drive from the hotel is the city's major commercial, financial centres, shopping strips, recreational parks and night spots. The newly refurbished rooms are elegantly designed and tastefully furnished, providing guests with contemporary surroundings and comforts. Facilities include 7 outlets, a business centre, meeting and function rooms and a comprehensive fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho Chi Minh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing