We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe Room better, the other rooms..bleh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #28 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had trudged through 2 roach motels in Saigon, and so called it quits and booked it here. My husband and I got a free upgrade to a deluxe room and it was wonderful. The shower was incredible. The prices for beers and food were dumb. The pool was nice, and their free appetizer..ha! Happy hour blows and the night band was... had bad manners.

Our friends got a regular room at the same over priced offer, but their room was not that great. The bathroom was like being at a Best Western and the furniture was kind of junky. I only complain because our room was so much better than there's. At $85 a room in vietnam...You would think that all the rooms were like the deluxe.

Room Tip: DO NOT get the food. The appetizers are tiny! I'm talking 5 rings of calamari. tiny. we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeboOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien O, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen Equatorial hotel for your stay in Ho Chi Minh city and taking the time, afterward, to let us know about your experience.
At Equatorial hotel, we strive to provide friendly and efficient service; therefore, your feedback is very important to us.
We have noted your comments and would like to thank you for your feedback as it will help us to improve our services.
However, please be informed we do offer regular rates on Food and Beverage as any five star hotels in Ho Chi Minh City, even cheaper.
Moreover, we do ensure you that we try our best to propose you the best musical entertainment through our professional live band.
Once again, thank you for your comments and rest assured we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon at Equatorial hotel.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the best hotel I've ever stayed at with this hotel. The service is errorless. The staff is oh so kind. The facility from top to bottom is squeaky clean. The food on the "Club" floor is just wonderful and always plentiful. Was quite shocked that one must pay for WiFi when you can go to just about the worst place to eat in town and get free WiFi. But when I return to HCMC I will stay at the Hotel Equatorial. Oh, almost forgot, best bed I've ever slept in. Beverages prices were out of this world expensive in the room minibar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel Equatorial is a modern hotel but not quiet five star in my opinion. It lacked the class and attentive service that true five star hotels have. The rooms were good but not great. The mirrors in our room were streaked when we arrived but to the manager's great credit he apologised for this. The hotel is about 2 km from the centre of the city, which we found inconvenient because of the terrible traffic, and the heat made walking difficult. However the location might suit some travellers who want to be in a quieter location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is nice, friendly and efficient staff, good and comfortable rooms. We were happy with the hotel, all was as expectet for a five star hotel. The food (breakfast and we had one dinner buffet) was good too. The location is ok, but you need to take the shedule bus or walk or take a taxi to get to the first district. We did not take the club upgrade and enjoyed some cheaper beer and food around the hotel.

Room Tip: We liked the room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReginaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a package deal purchased on deal.com. We had just spent 6 nights at the Vin Pearl resort in Da Nang. It was difficult to accept the high food and drink prices charged by the Hotel Equatorial compared to the much lower prices charged at the very luxurious Vin Pearl resort. The Hotel Equatorial had everything going for it. Clean comfortable rooms, great pool, but the lazy cocktail hour by the pool leaves a bitter taste in your mouth with the high prices.
There is a huge supermarket within walking distance. It is called “The Big C”. You can stock up on drinks and nibbles and get some great bargains in the home wares section. They sell all the lovely condiment dishes at marked prices.
We have no complaints about the location and the free shuttle was useful. We found 2 local restaurants nearby. One that only serves the traditional beef soup. The place was packed with locals. The food was great. They don’t have a menu you just order the house specialty.

The breakfast is good and they do not rush you out, you can sit and linger over a pot of coffee while they clear away the buffet. There is a smoking area in the breakfast restaurant.

The price for a manicure and pedicure in the spa was acceptable but the massage was too expensive. The beauty therapist was very friendly and good at her job.
We had free Internet included in our deal. If it had not been included we would have had to pay extra because the room rate does not include Internet access.

I would stay at this hotel again but only if the price was right. There is so much competition in Ho Chi Minh you may find a cheaper deal for a better hotel where you can eat and drink in house without paying exorbitant prices. We also stayed at the Legend Hotel Saigon at the beginning of the trip. I preferred the Legend Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscardog16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, albeit in the corporate western style , we were upgraded to club floor ( but without all the add-ons ) which was a great room with high view of bustling Saigon. Location in HCM is not vital as it is hard to walk far in the heat, crumbly pavements and risk of death by scooter, but hotel is local to a supermarket, some restaurants and the maddest roundabout in the world - a sort of Arc De Triomphe for scooters- to be viewed , not crossed! It is also a short cheap ( 3 USD ) taxi ride from bustling and beautiful centre. Hotel also has a buffet with unlimited drinks for 45 USD each - if you drink 2 bottles of wine the food is free!
Great base for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Try to get on club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikefre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I, plus our 2 twenty-something adult sons stayed at this hotel in 2 rooms on a deals.com voucher for 3 nights in early in February. I was grateful to read posts from members before I travelled, so want to contribute my own thoughts.
We greatly enjoyed our stay at this superior hotel. The pool area is fabulous - a big, warm pool with plenty of seating, and we swam there each night after dinner. Others members have mentioned upgrading to the club room floor - we were not offered this, but were very happy with the standard of our rooms on the 4th floor overlooking the pool. The restaurant at lobby level where breakfast is served is a lovely light filled area, with plenty of both Vietnamese and western choice, although slightly less than hot.
Other members have also mentioned the lack of restaurants around the hotel. As we arrived late afternoon on our first day and didn't want to go downtown, we walked around the block looking for somewhere to eat. We went left, and left again, and before the next corner found 2 large authentic local restaurants with menus in both Vietnamese and English. We ate at the one with the motorbike carpark at the back - fabulous food, a great experience and a great introduction to Vietnam.
We didn't ever catch the hotel shuttlebus, but always took cabs downtown at AUD5 a ride. Tours from the hotel tour desk are expensive - we caught a cab downtown to the Rex Hotel on our first morning and walked across the road to the Saigon Tourist office to book a Chu Chi tunnels tour (AUD25pp) and a Mekong Delta tour (AUD45 pp). Airconditioned mini buses with English speaking guide and small groups - no doubt can be booked more cheaply if you look around, but we were very happy with value for money.
We can recommend the open roof top bar at the Rex Hotel for a late afternoon/sunset drink. It's the hotel where foreign journalists lived during the Vietnam War - not the cheapest beer in town, probably twice the average, but a great view from there of this exciting city.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Jay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#30 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#27 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,784 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#20 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,832 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windsor Plaza Hotel
Windsor Plaza Hotel
#46 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,031 reviews
1.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#17 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $76 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star business hotel is centrally located between the waterfront and Cholon (Chinatown) and is only 20 minutes to the airport. 10-minute's drive from the hotel is the city's major commercial, financial centres, shopping strips, recreational parks and night spots. The newly refurbished rooms are elegantly designed and tastefully furnished, providing guests with contemporary surroundings and comforts. Facilities include 7 outlets, a business centre, meeting and function rooms and a comprehensive fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho Chi Minh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing