We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My holiday in Ho Chi Minh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #27 of 475 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had my year end holiday in Ho Chi Minh. Travelled there alone to meet my sister who is working there. Stayed at Equatorial in District 5. Services and management of the hotel was good with friendly and efficient staff. The hotel was also hygienic and clean. The food, especially the buffet breakfast that came with the room rate was great. I was told the location of the hotel is not so favourable as it was away from town centre (District 1), but to me it was alright. I took a taxi to go to An Dong Plaza and when I wanted to go to D1, I took the complimentary shuttle service. Then I would take a taxi to my next destination. I only took taxi from the company Vinasun or Mai Linh. After a day of wondering around in D1 or An Dong, I found the hotel to be a peaceful and quiet place to come back and rest. HCM is a nice city except for the motorbikes and chaotic traffic. Somehow, it's amazing, the few days that I was there I did not come across road accidents nor cars badly dented.

I had a great time there even though short. My only regret is I did not buy any souvenir from the GPO. I thot I could go with my sister the next day but since she was working it was not possible. Also did not have the time to go to Ben Thanh. Perhaps next trip.

Room Tip: If you are afraid of the heat, choose a room that does not face west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HohInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a deals.com Vietnem holiday. We upgraded to a Club room as we like the extra service & business facilities (free wifi). The room was great, very quiet, comfortable bed, nice bathroom. Club staff were excellent very friendly and helpful, and the club had nice breakfasts and free evening drinks with canapes. Be aware that the hotel is in district 5 and most of the tourist areas are in District 1 so it is a bit out of the way. The hotel runs a shuttle to the major tourist spots a few times a day. We had a full day tour booked for the day we were in Ho Chi Minh so the location wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I went here for my friend's birthday. The price is quite reasonable. You will have a selection of fresh seafood including NZ oysters. If you want to have a acceptable-price buffet. Here is good choice.

If you want to have a more various selection buffet, Caravelle, Sheraton and Legend should be a better choice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmaKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

First off, the staff are excellent! Very well trained and very customer oriented. The ride from the airport took about 45 minutes, but the check-in process was a breeze, took about 5 minutes, did not even have to bother with the bags, everything was sent up without my asking or telling.

The facilities are good, although the hotel somewhat resembled an old train station.... in a good way of course. Overall, I have no complaints, the room was big and comfy, the staff were very service oriented, and most of all, it felt safe staying at this hotel.

Whenever I called for a taxi to go anywhere, the hotel staff would take down the registration number of the taxi, and tell the driver in their native language (Vietnamese, I think it was), exactly where I wanted to go. They also took the initiative to advise me on places of interest and gave me directions on how to get there and back.

Overall, a very good experience staying here and will definitely be staying here again if I were to be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I wasn't over impressed with this hotel. Public areas look quite grand but some of the stuff in the bedrooms is a bit antiquated and needs refurbishing. We had problems with the room safe and were not best pleased at the staff insisting it was our fault. Free wi if is only available downstairs and is very slow. Food was very good but expensive and there are not many alternative eateries nearby. It!s not in the best part of town but there is a free shuttle service to the centre every two hours and taxis are not expensive. If you are getting a taxi to the hotel take a map with you - there doesn't seem to be a Vietnamese equivalent of The Knowledge and drivers tend to look blankly at you when you say the hotel name . Breakfast service was a shambles -no-one to show you to a table and hard work to find somewhere to sit that wasn't covered in dirty dishes. It was equally hard work to get a cup of tea or coffee. Some staff training is needed!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien O, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for having stayed with us at Equatorial hotel during your previous visit in Ho Chi Minh City.
We have well noted your comments and would like to thank you for your feedback as it will help us to improve our service.
Following your experience during breakfast, rest assured we are going to conduct proper training to our staff in order to avoid such inconvenience.
Once again, thank you for having shared your concern with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Well managed hotel, helpful staff, good breakfast buffet; small pool.
Minor complaints: City "map" is a poorly photocopied A5 pamphlet; no touristic brochures etc available.
Major problem: The doors cannot be closed quietly, but must be banged to shut. Have a group at your floor and you can forget any sleep after 5:30 in the morning.
It is very surprising that the large Malaysian Equatorial Group - with hotels all over SE Asia - is unable to care for a proper door mechanism.
And, of course: The hotel is in the middle of urban nowhere. Trying to walk to the centre (25 minutes) is an obstacle course with poor walkways and maddening motocycle drivers hindering your undertaking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien O, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience while staying at Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City.
We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced regarding the door closer and rest assured appropriate action has been taken in order to avoid further occurrence.
As mentioned, our hotel is situated out of the city center but only 3km away, which takes only few minutes to reach. Moreover, we do provide complimentary daily shuttle bus to city center for the convenience of our guest.
Finally, a tour desk is located in our lobby in order to assist guest with any queries regarding sight seeing or tours. Map in better definition can as well be provided upon request.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Equatorial on the way to DaNang. Our preferred hotel accommodation these days are the Club Rooms, where we also stayed this time. Reception was very friendly, courteous and efficient. The rooms were on the 11th floor which gave us a great view across the city. Rooms were spacious, very clean and well appointed. The king size bed was very comfortable, giving us a good night's sleep. The hotel is situated a few km away from the city centre, but as we were staying only two nights and had a full day tour planned, it was of no concern to us. An unexpected bonus came on the last day, when we were offered a trip to the airport in the hotel limmo just as we prepared to order a taxi. I recommend this hotel about 20 minutes drive from the airport for a stopover in HCMC.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#28 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,757 reviews
1 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#32 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
708 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#20 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Windsor Plaza Hotel
Windsor Plaza Hotel
#45 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,011 reviews
2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,795 reviews
1.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#12 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $82 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star business hotel is centrally located between the waterfront and Cholon (Chinatown) and is only 20 minutes to the airport. 10-minute's drive from the hotel is the city's major commercial, financial centres, shopping strips, recreational parks and night spots. The newly refurbished rooms are elegantly designed and tastefully furnished, providing guests with contemporary surroundings and comforts. Facilities include 7 outlets, a business centre, meeting and function rooms and a comprehensive fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho Chi Minh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing