We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Site
$50
View deal
Booking.com
$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$46
View deal
Hotels.com$51
Expedia.com$51
Priceline$58
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,654)
Filter reviews
1,654 results
Traveler rating
796
653
147
39
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
796
653
147
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar shuttle bus great hotel club floor shuttle service taxis are cheap star hotel buffet breakfast lovely pool duty manager a short taxi ride comfortable hotel short stay the hustle and bustle opera house district city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,191 - 1,196 of 1,654 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I wasn't over impressed with this hotel. Public areas look quite grand but some of the stuff in the bedrooms is a bit antiquated and needs refurbishing. We had problems with the room safe and were not best pleased at the staff insisting it was our fault. Free wi if is only available downstairs and is very slow. Food was very good but expensive and there are not many alternative eateries nearby. It!s not in the best part of town but there is a free shuttle service to the centre every two hours and taxis are not expensive. If you are getting a taxi to the hotel take a map with you - there doesn't seem to be a Vietnamese equivalent of The Knowledge and drivers tend to look blankly at you when you say the hotel name . Breakfast service was a shambles -no-one to show you to a table and hard work to find somewhere to sit that wasn't covered in dirty dishes. It was equally hard work to get a cup of tea or coffee. Some staff training is needed!

Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien O, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for having stayed with us at Equatorial hotel during your previous visit in Ho Chi Minh City.
We have well noted your comments and would like to thank you for your feedback as it will help us to improve our service.
Following your experience during breakfast, rest assured we are going to conduct proper training to our staff in order to avoid such inconvenience.
Once again, thank you for having shared your concern with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Well managed hotel, helpful staff, good breakfast buffet; small pool.
Minor complaints: City "map" is a poorly photocopied A5 pamphlet; no touristic brochures etc available.
Major problem: The doors cannot be closed quietly, but must be banged to shut. Have a group at your floor and you can forget any sleep after 5:30 in the morning.
It is very surprising that the large Malaysian Equatorial Group - with hotels all over SE Asia - is unable to care for a proper door mechanism.
And, of course: The hotel is in the middle of urban nowhere. Trying to walk to the centre (25 minutes) is an obstacle course with poor walkways and maddening motocycle drivers hindering your undertaking.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien O, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience while staying at Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City.
We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced regarding the door closer and rest assured appropriate action has been taken in order to avoid further occurrence.
As mentioned, our hotel is situated out of the city center but only 3km away, which takes only few minutes to reach. Moreover, we do provide complimentary daily shuttle bus to city center for the convenience of our guest.
Finally, a tour desk is located in our lobby in order to assist guest with any queries regarding sight seeing or tours. Map in better definition can as well be provided upon request.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed two nights at the Equatorial on the way to DaNang. Our preferred hotel accommodation these days are the Club Rooms, where we also stayed this time. Reception was very friendly, courteous and efficient. The rooms were on the 11th floor which gave us a great view across the city. Rooms were spacious, very clean and well appointed. The king size bed was very comfortable, giving us a good night's sleep. The hotel is situated a few km away from the city centre, but as we were staying only two nights and had a full day tour planned, it was of no concern to us. An unexpected bonus came on the last day, when we were offered a trip to the airport in the hotel limmo just as we prepared to order a taxi. I recommend this hotel about 20 minutes drive from the airport for a stopover in HCMC.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had three nights here in October/Nov. Hotel was spotless, food excellent, great pool. Also had laundry done for good price and it all came back in excellent condition (not with some other Vietnam hotels). Staff were great and very helpful with advice on getting around in Vietnam. Extremely helpful with taxis etc. We also enjoyed using the spa/massage facilities at the hotel which were a good price for top quality in a hotel.

The only negative is that it is out of Dstrict 1. It is in district 5 but only 15 mins from District One. It is easier if you are going out of the city area to be a bit further out sometimes though.

We would certainly stay here again if in Saigon.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A really good hotel but too far out of the centre although they do provide a shuttle bus but fairly infrequently with the last bus returning at 8pm. However a taxi is not expensive. Stayed for three nights. Breakfast was acceptable but was poor in comparison with our experiences in Hanoi and Hue, staff were rushed off their feet, getting a tea or coffee was not easy!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormaJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews