We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #27 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Collie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have been to HCM more than a dozen times & had always stayed in District 1.
This time we stayed at the Equatorial despite it being in District 5.
We are so glad we did. What a wonderful stay. We upgraded to a Club Room. It was just as good if not better than we have had in places like Singapore ,Hanoi etc.
The extra cost was more than worth it considering the extra benefits we received & the Staff were attentive, efficient & extremely helpful.
Our room was spotless, spacious & the bed very comfortable with high quality linen.
We made use of the 2 free items of laundry per day & it was returned looking like a new purchase; as were the shoes from the complimentary shoe shine.
A shuttle is available for trips into the city centre for shopping & Taxis are cheap if this is preferred.
Tour services are available & the Hotel even arranged a game of Golf with transport at our request.
At the Spa the massages & reflexology were fantastic. The Staff were certainly well trained & the facilities were very private & clean. A nice touch was the fruit platter & herbal tea given at the finish of each treatment.
We won't hesitate to stay here again. It was fantastic. I cannot think of a single negative.

Room Tip: Up grade to a Club Room....well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1947Collie_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    439
    102
    32
    9
See reviews for
148
516
47
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful Hotel, room ok, nice pool. All staff very helpful. Delicious buffet meals. The tour desk was fantastic in helping us with organizing our day trip around Ho Chi Minh and the Saigon River dinner cruise. The hotel is close to the markets, but go early as it gets very busy and very hot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Look the hotel was fine.......service was good and the room, Ample, But oh so hard to do anything out side the hotel........I even tried a swim but the SMOG made it impossible to breath......
sorry guys just a good hotel but in the wrong district.....

Room Tip: If you stay here take a cab to District 1 about $5.00 (100,000VND) and thats giving the driver a tip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien O, Rooms Division Manager at Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having chosen Equatorial hotel for your stay in Ho Chi Minh and let us, afterward, about your experience.
We have noted your comment in regards to the location of the hotel and would like to apologize for the inconvenience created.
However, please allow me to inform you we do provide on daily basis free shuttle bus to city center, which is just about 3km from the hotel.
Following your feedback regarding the smog experienced at swimming pool, i can say it is very unfortunate as our swimming pool is located on 04th floor and therefore should not be impacted by such event. Moreover, we never received any negative feedback in that regards in the past.
Once again, thank you for sharing your concerns and rest assured we are looking forward to welcoming you back, should you consider Equatorial hotel for your next stay in Ho Chi Minh City.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a couple of nights stay in Hotel Equatorial and upgraded to Club Level, well worth it. Apart from the excellent service from all the staff, not just on the Club level, the late check out was appreciated. I read a previous review about not being able to change money, don't get that, we changed ours at the front desk in the main Lobby, and at a good rate.
Our room was spacious and clean. Breakfast in the Club area was more than adequate, and the availability of refreshments throughout the day an evening was great, especially with small children that like to snack.
Hotel were very concerned with our safety, with Bell Hops constantly reminding us to watch our money, only catch taxis with drivers in uniforms etc. While the hotel is a short distance out of the centre of town, with the free shuttle bus and cheap taxis this wasn't an issue. I woud happily at the hotel again on our next visit...soon I hope!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Creakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Of all the hotels on our trip to Vietnam and Cambodia this was my least favourite. It was ok but not a lot better. Firstly the position - it is a good couple of miles or so away from Saigon centre - and with the traffic and roads you would not want to walk it. To be fair they run a free shuttle bus but only every 2 hours and the last one back leaves the centre at 20.30 - so you need to get a taxi - the best way to get a taxi is to go into one of the centre hotels such as the Imperial or Rex and ask the porter to get you a taxi - there seems to be no problem with you not staying there and they will give you a card with the taxi number written on it - just in case you have a problem with the taxi which we didn't. - About 5-6 USD to get back to the Equatorial.

The hotel had a very tired feel to it. The room was a bit shabby with a broken singed lampshade and peeling wallpaper. It wasn't particularly clean with heavy dust on the dado rail in the bathroom. Having said all that it was quite comfortable and we slept well.

Breakfast was quite lack-lustre - a very busy food buffet with the usual breads, cereal and small choice cooked offerings. The worst thing was that the cooked foods were not hot - warm at best - and therefore not enjoyable.

One thing that annoyed me was their inability to change travellers' cheques at the cashier desk - they recommended a bank around the corner........who also wouldn't change them! Not a huge problem as ATM's seem to work well but a nuisance.

I think if I was traveling again I would choose elsewhere to stay next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here for business - our event was also held at the hotel. I need a very late checkout and the staff was very accommodating. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The Chit Chat cafe had some nice selections and wasn't too terribly pricey. My room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was not upgraded but was still nice and clean. Laundry service was quick and reliable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAW1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on 11th Septmeber, check in is very efficient and was upgraded. Fantastic room and had complimentary water as well. The tour desk lady was very helpful and she could speak very good english.
Only downfall is that you can hear the traffic during the night and day time. So, not very good if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank din26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#25 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#32 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
#11 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#39 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star business hotel is centrally located between the waterfront and Cholon (Chinatown) and is only 20 minutes to the airport. 10-minute's drive from the hotel is the city's major commercial, financial centres, shopping strips, recreational parks and night spots. The newly refurbished rooms are elegantly designed and tastefully furnished, providing guests with contemporary surroundings and comforts. Facilities include 7 outlets, a business centre, meeting and function rooms and a comprehensive fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho Chi Minh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing