We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star all the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #28 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Five star all the way”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Everything one would expect from a luxury hotel. Distant location from centre offset by complimentary hourly shuttle service. Particular highlights were the outstanding buffet breakfasts and the best steak sandwich I've ever had down at the poolside.
Service was efficient and friendly but not much to see if you want to walk and explore in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kije99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    466
    108
    32
    9
See reviews for
161
547
47
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
342 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel is very pleasant and located more in traditional city setting not far from the City proper. Complimentary shuttle bus takes you to all main city attractions on a regular basis. The Breakfast Buffet is superb with more than ample variations. Staff make the scene welcoming and the pool is a relaxing feature with adjacent bar. If you prefer to be amongst more everyday life, this is a great spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a City view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elekesla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here over Tet 2012 and really enjoyed the ammenities, great pool with poolside bar and a gym with Sauna and jacuzzi. The restaurant was a bit pricey for HCMC but the buffet we had was worth the price if you don't want to explore. Location is a bit bad, but with cheap Taxi prices (30-40 kD to city centre) this was fine too. The rooms were ok. Silent and clean The best thing was the Lion dance organized on Tet in front of the hotel, really professional stuff an big WOW-factor. We saw a bunch of other shows the days following Tet but this one was the best.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel is really nice if everything goes well.However, if you encounter any problems as we did you will find any assistance very difficult to come by.Our luggage went missing for the whole time we were staying at the Equatorial and although I appreciate that missing luggage is not their fault I would have expected them at the very least to assist us in attempting to trace it but at no point did we recieve any such help. we were very much left to get on with it.Not a single member of staff asked after our welfare at anytime in fact we found that they were doing their utmost to avoid us as my husband was constantly visiting the foyer trying to get help.One receptionist did suggest that as we had money we could go and buy more clothes.the concierge was at best unhelpful and at worst utterly useless he just paraded around the foyer doing very little.Our luggage was eventually traced by my husband spending a considerable amount of time making telephone calls which the hotel did try and charge us for.Very disappointed with the whole experience.I believe that any hotel has a duty of care when things go wrong on a holiday and unfortunately at this hotel the duty of care was sadly lacking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susimate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Equatorial will not disappoint anyone. It is a 5 star hotel offering everything in top class condition. It represents extremely good value for money due to its location in District 5. This should not put anybody off as the hotel offer a shuttle bus and the taxis, which surprisingly still run on meter, are not expensive into the city.

If you do stay here you will find the concierge extremely helpful for trips and local knowledge and a few dollars spent here will help you find an amazing trip. The facilities at the hotel offer an excellent restaurant, superb swimming pool, gym facility and his n hers sauna and steam room. The breakfast is very good to suit all nationalities and ages and the restaurant buffet in the evenings is wonderful.

However, on one slight adverse note, during our meal at the buffet in the evening, we could see that the tables were being prepared for breakfast and were told that the restaurant was closing which was prior to 10pm. I have never been in a hotel anywhere in the world and been told that the restaurant is closing whilst there were guests present, especially in a 5 star hotel. This is one area the management must act upon and ensure that this bad practise ceases.

This year was our third visit to the Equatorial and if I go to Saigon again I shall stay at this hotel. As a point of interest do not attempt to walk into the city as the roads are quite busy with motorbikes. Always take a taxi or the shuttle bus.

Also be aware on check in that the hotel staff will be very eager to sell an upgrade package at something in the order of 50$ each per night. Do be aware of what you are already getting before you enter into this agreement because a lot of it on the list is included in your deluxe room. I do accept that afternoon tea and then cocktails to follow in a deluxe lounge is very nice but it does amount to circa 100$ a day extra for a couple, and in my opinion the young lady who was selling it to us was bordering on sharp practise which we are only too aware of in the Far East so do be warned and The Equatorial - take note of my comments.

However I would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing for a stopover of a few days in Saigon. We are a couple in our late 50s/early60s, globe trotting flash packers and would recommend this hotel for likewise and families alike.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Not bad although it's very much a tourist hotel and a bit tired.

The executive floor is however very well done.

I only stayed because I was at a conference in the hotel - also look at the Hotel Nikko nearby that is absolutely stunning!

Try the massage at the Equatorial - it's great value for money.

Room Tip: The executive floor is nice - ask for a corner unit as they have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEABoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We were welcome on the Club Floor with extraordinary friendly staffs at the reception. Breakfast was yummy and a good selection of food and drinks. The beds were very comfortable. The location is great!´

Tipp: If you stay more than a day in Vietnam and you need to stay in touch with home, buy a prepaid sim card at one of the money stores near the hotel. It's MUCH cheaper than to pay roaming fees!

We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Club Floors is a great experience. Not only is breakfast included, but also snacks and drinks in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurasian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.2 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#19 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#29 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
2.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#31 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windsor Plaza Hotel
Windsor Plaza Hotel
#57 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre
Pullman Saigon Centre
#11 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 242 Tran Binh Trong | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#22 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#39 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star business hotel is centrally located between the waterfront and Cholon (Chinatown) and is only 20 minutes to the airport. 10-minute's drive from the hotel is the city's major commercial, financial centres, shopping strips, recreational parks and night spots. The newly refurbished rooms are elegantly designed and tastefully furnished, providing guests with contemporary surroundings and comforts. Facilities include 7 outlets, a business centre, meeting and function rooms and a comprehensive fitness centre and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ho Chi Minh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing