We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel option for Ho Chi Minh Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Ranked #20 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel option for Ho Chi Minh Travel”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Visited Ho Chi Minh city, and vietnam for the first time this summer. First stay was at Sofitel Saigon Plaza and was very please with room, service and breakfast. Hotel is very reasonably priced and provides ability to walk anywhere one would want in 'downtown' if that actually exists in the sprawling city. Hotel has reasonable pool that is great escape from mid-day heat. Would recommend over any of the older colonial/historical hotels, they are fun to visit but the rooms are in various states and are showing age.

Room Tip: higher floors have more city-wide views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jnmoe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that our hoteland the service provided by our Ambassadors has met your expectations and provided you with a nice guest experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next visit to Saigon.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    615
    181
    38
    18
See reviews for
273
913
105
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed two nights in July 2014. From when we booked in we had nothing but good things to say about the hotel. We, my wife and I, couldn't fault anything. The breakfast food was very good and a wide selection, including western food as well as a good selection of local food.
Room was very good with nicely finished bathroom.
Close by is a number of very good restaurants which we took advantage of. We found the location of the hotel to be close to everything we wanted, about half an hour from the airport.
Staff were excellent. We used the pool a number of times and the staff there were friendly and helpful.
We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentley1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us from the room and the friendly service of our Ambassadors to the refreshing pool on the roof top.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Vietnam.

Best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had a quick 2 night stop-over in Ho Chi Minh City earlier this month and based ourselves at the Sofitel Saigon Plaza. From the moment they picked us up at the airport we found their service to be absolutely faultless. All the staff are genuinely warm, friendly and helpful.
The hotel itself is beautifully designed and the entrance lobby is breathtaking. We didn't dine there at all, but enjoyed the excellent buffet breakfast both mornings. It is one of the best I have had in a hotel.
We were offered our choice of the room we had booked or an upgrade to a suite, which we declined. Our room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable, and the only complaint I could make about our experience was the bathroom in our room. While looking very schmick and glamorous it was probably one of the worst designed hotel bathrooms I have ever seen, without even one hook from which to hang anything.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us from the moment you stepped into our hotel limousine and that you appreciated our Ambassadors' friendly and attentive service.

We have taken good note of your comment on the lack of hooks in your bathroom and will correct this.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Vietnam.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

The minute I walked into the room, I was pleasantly impressed by the cleanliness and comfort of the modern decorated room, with little bite-sized desserts and bottles of still and sparking water to welcome guests! I was equally impressed with the well-pressed robes nicely hung in the closet and the soft comfortable bedroom sleepers, with branded toiletries in the bathroom.
However I was disappointed that there was no traditional Vietnamese restaurant in the hotel, only a French restaurant and a buffet restaurant that serves international cuisine. Being a vegetarian and being first time in Vietnam, I would really love to try some authentic Vietnamese food vegetarian style. The first day of my stay at the hotel the receptionist recommended me a Vietnamese restaurant nearby the hotel, which was nice but not worth the money. On my second day there, another receptionist was kind enough to call the hotel buffet restaurant to enquire if they could prepare a la carte meal for me, and they could! So I went to the buffet restaurant and was warmly greeted by one of the waitresses, Chau, who patiently and attentively listened to my dietary requirement, and discussed it with the chef, who prepared three dishes that I ordered, vegetarian style, plus he cooked them deliciously! It was indeed worth paying for!
All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, especially Chau, I will definitely stay at this hotel again on my next visit to Ho Chi Minh!

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Ambassadors were able to answer your dietary request with flexibility and we will share with Ms. Chau your commendation of her service. It is always a pleasure when our guests acknowledge our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Vietnam.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We booked this hotel as part of our package and it is fabulous. The Club Bar has the best finger food and cocktails (all complimentary) and breakfast, included in the room rate was the most extensive and freshest I've ever seen. The room is luxurious and the service impeccable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissaclh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We had the pleasure of welcoming you under the Luxury Escape package and we are glad to read that you greatly enjoyed your stay on our Club floors as well as the service provided at - and the facilities of - the Club lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Vietnam.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

During our family trip (2 adults, kids 13, 10, 8 years) we stayed for 4 nights at the Sofitel Saigon Plaza. The location is excellent as it's just a few steps away from the Notre Dame Church and Dong Khoi road with its shopping malls and restaurants as well as major sights as the reunification palace. Given my ClubAccord membership, we were upgraded and had access to the 18th floor lounge, that has an excellent view and was ideal for having a bite to eat before going for dinner or just chilling and watching the sunset. The rooftop pool is on the same floor and an oasis of peace after a busy day walking the streets exploring Saigon. The breakfast buffet served all our desires in terms of European, American or Vietnamese tastes. The downsides are a slow and unstable free Wifi (under 1MBit and limited to 2 devices), there are very high prices for premium speed that we did not try; expect to login every 5 minutes anew. The rooms are fairly small and big rocking chairs make them even smaller. The unified control unit to handle the Aircon, light and Alarm Clock takes a PhD degree to understand. Still overall, we can recommend for a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thkohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us from the Club Lounge to the rooftop pool to the breakfast buffet spread.

We have taken good note of your comments on speed of internet. We offer a complimentary broadband of 1 MB per second for two devices. We gather that your children might have been using additional devices at the same time, thus explaining why the connection was at time unstable and also weaker and why reconnecting was needed several times.

On the topic of the control panel we place in every room a notice explaining its usage. We apologize if this notice was not in your room during your stay.

Thanking you again for your constructive comments we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming the whole family back on your next trip to Vietnam.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great service, enjoyable stay. As a club Accor member checking in on the 19th level was very good, it definitely made me feel welcome and well looked after.
Too achieve the status of 5 stars I would consider banning children from the bar area of the club Accor level as well as having staff at the bars be generally more knowledgeable about the wines that are offered.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gareth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments on banning access of children to the Club Lounge but believe that would unfairly discriminate between LeClub cardholders of similar status on the ground of them staying or not with their children. The summer is traditionally a period when families travel together, hence the higher number of children going to the Lounge with their parents.

On your other point we can certainly improve the wine and alcohol knowledge of our Club Lounge Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Vietnam.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre
Pullman Saigon Centre
#12 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
#8 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Saigon Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Saigon Plaza

Property: Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Address: 17 Le Duan Boulevard | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Saigon Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Saigon Plaza is located on peaceful tree-lined Le Duan Boulevard just a moment from the city's commercial centre with it's fabulous shopping dining and landmark attractions like Notre Dame Cathedral and Reunification Palace. Newly renovated rooms and suites offer guests contemporary 5-star hotel style with a blend of modern French design and Vietnamese influences. Each room features spacious elegance while the Imperial Suite is the largest in Saigon. Situated in the business district and offering a full range of expert services the hotel is ideal for business as well as leisure travellers to Ho Chi Minh. It's conference facilities make it a preferred host for Magnifique weddings and events. Experience the French art de vivre the best of Ho Chi Minh City and gracious 5-star hotel service at Sofitel Saigon Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Saigon Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Saigon Plaza Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Sofitel Hotel Plaza Saigon
Sofitel Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing