We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Ranked #23 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Birthday cake waiting. Made my birthday memorable. Thank you so much.
Staff very friendly and helpful with every enquiry we made. Would definetly stay at this hotel again. Organised shuttle and taxi when asked.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to see that our birthday cake made your stay memorable and we look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Vietnam - we'd love to celebrate your birthday again!

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,131)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Saigon Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,166 - 1,172 of 2,131 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Ive visited a few Hotels but overall this one takes the crown.
We stayed in a suite which was superbly appointed with modern Art Deco furnishings.Very refreshing from the standard Hotel offering. Two large Tvs complete with Bose/DVD stereos.Comfortable beds,huge shower and bathroom.Electric blinds. Overall we loved the room. The Executive Club is brilliant. All day drinks including beer/wine.Brilliant cocktails at night. Superb breakfast in the morning made to order. Lounge staff where superb. Hotel is in a great location near many shopping districts. All staff were extremely pleasant and friendly. Always opening doors and smiling. I would go back to Saigon just to stay at this hotel!!! Its that good!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Our_USA_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you greatly enjoyed your stay with us, from your well appointed suite room to the Club Lounge and the service provided there by our friendly Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon on your next trip to Vietnam.

With our thanks and best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Over the last few years I have been staying at this venue many, many times. Rooms are very modern and very well equipped, selection at breakfast is just outstanding and the evening buffet amazing. As a returning customer I had my fastest ever check in. The lady at the counter recognized me while entering the lobby and immediately gave me the room key. All in all it is really a warm and pleasant "welcome back"and an exceptional
high quality and service.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Uzwil_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thanks for having chosen Sofitel once again for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that we have repeatedly met your expectations every time you stayed with us and even more delighted to see that our Ambassadors have notched it up and pleasantly surprised you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have stayed here a number of times in the past, but this is the first time since a major refit of the rooms. I must say they are massively improved, particularly the bathrooms which now boast a modern a bright area and large shower.
The executive club has also improved in regards to its offerings. The happy hour drinks are more diverse and the canapes are of a higher standard. We really enjoyed spending time in the lounge to wind down from the hustle and bustle of HCMC.
The staff were excellent and attentive.
Only downside was the fitness centre which could use a facelift and some new equipment. Most importantly though, it is way too hot in there.
Apart from this, everything was great and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ray3149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our renovated and appreciated the significant improvemenst since your last stay with us.

The hotel is continuing its upgrade plan and will eventually renovate the fitness centre. We have already started to replace several equipments.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I came here as part of a package before going north to VinPearl Danang. We spent 2 nights here in July. It was absolutely beautiful. The staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful. Food was yummy. We got to be part of the Sofitel Club. This was such a nice place to relax after a hard days sightseeing. Our room was spacious, very clean and well presented. We were on the 17th floor overlooking the back area towards the river in the distance. We were treated to a transfer back to the airport in the hotel's mercedes. Very nice service.Although it is not right in the middle of the city we walked there and back as well to the river.

Room Tip: go for a higher room to get the best views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank HeatherN142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sahring your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, form the service provided by our friendly staff to the facilities of the Club Lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon in the not too distant future.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Straight to the room to check in which I like. Top floor suite, fantastic having a seperate living room, two toilets and three tellys! Immaculately clean. Rain shower. Club lounge great, afternoon tea with snacks, buffet type dinner from 6pm until 8pm and free beer and soft drinks all day. Needed some documents urgently scanned and emailed which was done straight away with no fuss. Breakfast ok but not as good as Pan Pacific in Singapore (previous review). Bit too dark in the lift foyer on teh 19th floor. I liked the fact that the hotel was on the edge of the chaos, and that the main road outside was a nice wide boulevard, some of the other hotels are crammed into the back streets. Worth the US$60 airport transfer, very nice e-class Merc. Just beware that you have to exit the terminal to find the driver. Absolute heaven to return to from the mayhem outside. Would I return to HCMC though? Hmmm....

Room Tip: pay the extra for a suite
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simla10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Club suite as well as the Club Lounge service met your expectations, providing you with a nice respite after a day out in the bustling city.

We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Saigon.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I absolutely loved the details and decor at the Sofitel Saigon Plaza. They had beautiful fresh floral arragements everywhere and in the evening, candles were lit every where as well.
We had a king bed with the city view. There was a seating area as well as a vanity area. For Asia standards - this room is huge.
I loved the room decor and color palettes - and adored that the rooms were modern and fused with beautiful Asian details. Like a bird cage, or an Asian design motif in their sidetables.
We ordered room service a few times and it was great. Very tasty and clean - and they bring it up on a beautiful table on castors with a vase of flowers and a candle. It's expensive compared to what you pay for on the streets in Ho Chi Minh. But you are staying at one of their nicer hotels.
The rooftop pool was really nice. Especially after a morning of hustle and bustle in the humid and hot city - jumping into that pool with a glass or rose or a beer was just perfect.
I was really disappointed by the spa though. The spa shared space with the fitness centre - which was great btw. The reception staff were quite friendly. But the spa was really small and didn't have much to it. No hot tubs, or lounge area. I'm accustomed to the therapist leaving the room when I disrobe and get onto the massage table. However, my therapist stayed in my room and waited for me to undress. Very uncomfortable. The massage itself was ok. But i was not able to relax the entire time because the staff out at the reception desk were so loud - they were almost shouting at each other for a whole hour! It was very frustrating. My therapist also left the room for about 5 minutes part way through the massage. I hope the hotel will commit some time to better training so that their spa can align with the rest of their hotel image (i.e. professionalism and better standards of service and facilities).
The front desk staff and the pool staff were great though. Very polite and their communication was great. However, I didn't know about their shuttle service until I read someone's review on here today. On our last night, I called the front desk to book a shuttle to the airport and they were going to charge us $60-$65USD. I think that's a bit steep (taxis are only around $20?).
All in all - the hotel is very lovely. It's clean and the staff is friendly. The rooms are spacious and the food is good. The spa was a thumbs down. And even though we told the hotel we were on our honeymoon - we didn't get anything. No offers to upgrade, no little welcome fruit plate. Nada. If you ask for something they'll make sure to get it to you, but don't expect them to go above and beyond.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xoxojho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thanks for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks for pointing out the areas of improvement for the Spa. We will convey those and discuss them with the Management of the Spa in order to improve the service provided.

The airport transfer by hotel car can be arranged at a charge of about USD 59 net per way. It is done in the latest model of Mercedez car. If indeed a taxi would cost about USD 15, the level of service as well as the quality and comfor of the car do not compare with the hotel service. It is definitely at the discretion on guests to chose which option is preferred.

We are sorry that our staff did not follow up on your informing about your being on honeymoon and express our heartfelt congratulations and best wishes for a long and happy life together.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next visit to Saigon.

With our thanks and best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,454 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre
Pullman Saigon Centre
#14 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,963 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#21 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#17 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,742 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
#8 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Saigon Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Saigon Plaza

Address: 17 Le Duan Boulevard | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $123 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Saigon Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Saigon Plaza is located on peaceful tree-lined Le Duan Boulevard just a moment from the city's commercial centre with it's fabulous shopping dining and landmark attractions like Notre Dame Cathedral and Reunification Palace. Newly renovated rooms and suites offer guests contemporary 5-star hotel style with a blend of modern French design and Vietnamese influences. Each room features spacious elegance while the Imperial Suite is the largest in Saigon. Situated in the business district and offering a full range of expert services the hotel is ideal for business as well as leisure travellers to Ho Chi Minh. It's conference facilities make it a preferred host for Magnifique weddings and events. Experience the French art de vivre the best of Ho Chi Minh City and gracious 5-star hotel service at Sofitel Saigon Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Saigon Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Saigon Plaza Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Sofitel Hotel Plaza Saigon
Sofitel Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing