We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try another 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Ranked #24 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The location is 15 mins from any attraction and forces to take a cab if you have young kids. The hotel did not acknowledge my request for a high floor and at check in wanted to upgrade me to a superior room. The rooms are a bit beaten and the bathroom had mold around the shower with the tub rusted. Upon letting the manger know she only offered to change the room. Not something I wanted to do since I unpacked already. Not sofitel standards and not swanky like other sofitel a I stayed at. . Stay at the Sheraton park hyatt or intercon or caravelle. The restaurant either had fixed price options or buffet. No alfa carte!!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Smart_Traveler_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Bonjour,

I thank you for your feedback during your recent stay on New Year's eve.

I am truly sorry for the trouble caused regarding your bathroom issues and not granting your access to a room on a higher floor. The Hotel was completely fully booked upon your arrival and as you booked a standard room we were not able to upgrade you to the next room category.

Both restaurants were fully booked on the evening of the 31st of December and a indeed a fixed menu was scheduled for the festive season.

I look forward to welcome you back at Sofitel Saigon Plaza.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,491 - 1,497 of 2,308 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

The service and staff were outstanding, the restaurant and food were great, breakfast was the best even if your not a big coffee drinker you must try the coffee at breakfast. Now the bad part our first room was a disappointment the carpet was dirty and damp with an odor of mildew. We were moved to a slightly better better room and I mean slightly, this room had the added bonus of listening to the remodeling on the floor above which included some type of air chisel. Now my disappointment is based on the fact that in 2006 I spent a week at the Saigon Plaza and it is what I would expect of the Sofitel brand. This stay feel way short.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teded001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Bonjour,

I thank you for your constructive feedback as every guest impression is valuable.
Thank you for complementing our outstanding Sofitel Ambassadors and their service. As well our famed buffet breakfast and the coffee we serve in Cafe Rivoli.

We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your satisfaction completely during your stay.

Furthermore, we are genuinely regretful to hear about the experience you had with the accommodation. We would hope that on a future trip to Ho Chi Minh City, we would be able to show you the personalized attention one expects in today's world of luxury hotels.

In any case, do not hesitate to let me know should you chose to plan a future visit, and we will do our utmost to reverse the impressions you had during your recent visit.

With best regards,
Frederik Deman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed at this property from the 30th December - 2 January. Booked a Luxury Room and was given room 1416.
Really a great property and service was excellent from the very start.
Check in:
- very quick (done in Executive Floor)

Rooms:
- Rooms in this property is very small.
- Some may find the rooms a little dark.
- shower in the toilet leaks ( glass panel )

Property:
- Good location near to the Reunification Palace, War Museum.
- Ben Than Market is about 7 mins drive away
- Buffet breakfast was good however, spread is limited.
- Good ala-carte breakfast at the Executive Lounge

Service:
- Very friendly staff
- Concierge was very helpful with recommendations
- Kudos to housekeeping staff as they did a good job helping us do
up our room late on New Years Eve.

Room Tip: Get a high floor to avoid the constant honking from the scooters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkth90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us over the New Year and that you had a good time in the city.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future and extend our warmest wishes for 2014.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had an excellent stay New Year's Eve at the Sofitel in Saigon. We got a suite on the 20th floor and had a balcony and perfect view of the fireworks.

The room and amenities are amazing and what you expect from Sofitel, and the service was top notch. We had access to the Club Lounge which had great drinks and vietnamese and french delights. Breakfast is great there too.

The location is very central with access to tons of great food and shopping in the area. It's a tie between the Intercontinental and Sofitel in Saigon for best hotel in Ho Chi Minh :)

Room Tip: Venture outside a few blocks and you'll have access to some great coffee and local vietnamese fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon over the New Year and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the service provided at the Club Lounge, and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

With our best wishes for 2014.

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Glad to stay at the Club level.

Check-in was done at the Club Lounge at 18th Floor.
At the club level breakfast, afternoon tea, Apero are served and Club Lounge is open until 22:00.

The room was rather small for two person.
We had 3 big luggages, and 2 cabin bags, and it was a challenge to put things out of sight.
The room was equipped with Bose CD Player, DVD Player and Coffee Machine.
Finally not always Nescafe packets!!

Room:
As mentioned the room was rather small but sufficient for people on the move.
The room is nice decorated.
The shower door need to be fixed.
Water flows during shower and wet the dry floor in the bathroom.

Staff:
Friendly and helpful.

Location:
Central. taxi from airport USD10, to Ben Than market around VND40K.
5 Min walking distance to Diamond Plaza Shopping Mall.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us, including the coffee machine. We are sorry to read that you found the room a bit small with the luggage you carried with you. On your next visit you may want to try a Sofitel suite for a larger space.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed with my wife at the Saigon Plaza on one of the club levels at the start of our Vietnam trip for four nights then a further two at the end of our holiday.
Central location and easy walk to the Diamond shopping centre, Post Office, N Cathedral and also Reunification palace. Very cheap taxi fair to local markets and Ben Tanh along with many other District One locations.
Rooms were well refurbished and stocked with ample toiletries daily. The furnishings were suitable for short stays and the pillow selection added the special Sofitel touch.

Staff at the club lounge were extremely helpful and provided tourist information as required. Breakfast, all day drinks and snacks along with the evening canapés and cocktails were a welcome addition. Sofitel signature bakery basket is a must!
The entire hotel staff seemed to be very attentive and welcomed us upon every return to the hotel. The hotel has a wonderful fragrance and atmosphere is very relaxing.

We attended the restaurant for the seafood buffet on our final night and the offerings were as good as any hotel I have chosen for this type of meal. Plenty of selections for mains (my selections were freshly cooked by chef) desert area was also most impressive along with salads cold seafood and wines made the dining experience special.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Club room, cannot beat this relaxing and quiet space to enjoy daily breakfast. Also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and indulged in the various services we offer and appreciated the service provided by our Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With our best regards,

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We are currently checked into this hotel and are having a great stay. The rooms are huge, the beds comfortable and massive and staff extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with. The breakfasts are brilliant, we have the buffet and it is beautiful. There is something for the fussiest of eaters. The coffee great and egg chef on hand. We are making good use of the facilities and the concierge is very helpful. They also have a free shuttle to the market on the hour which we found out about by accident and can be quite useful. Although taxis are extremely cheap and the staff will organise one for you at a minutes notice. Will come back to this hotel. Also, location is handy. Walking distance to a many attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room for a great nighttime view of city lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B-Courtois, General Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for having chosen Sofitel for your stay in Saigon and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, our services and the availability of our Ambassadors. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Ho Chi Minh City.

With our best regards and warmest wishes for 2014.

Bertrand Courtois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.6 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre
Pullman Saigon Centre
#15 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
#8 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,656 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#22 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
#5 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Saigon Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Saigon Plaza

Address: 17 Le Duan Boulevard | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $117 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Saigon Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Saigon Plaza is located on peaceful tree-lined Le Duan Boulevard just a moment from the city's commercial centre with it's fabulous shopping dining and landmark attractions like Notre Dame Cathedral and Reunification Palace. Newly renovated rooms and suites offer guests contemporary 5-star hotel style with a blend of modern French design and Vietnamese influences. Each room features spacious elegance while the Imperial Suite is the largest in Saigon. Situated in the business district and offering a full range of expert services the hotel is ideal for business as well as leisure travellers to Ho Chi Minh. It's conference facilities make it a preferred host for Magnifique weddings and events. Experience the French art de vivre the best of Ho Chi Minh City and gracious 5-star hotel service at Sofitel Saigon Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Saigon Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Saigon Plaza Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Sofitel Hotel Plaza Saigon
Sofitel Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing