We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel, Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Saigon Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Ranked #15 of 435 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

On first examination, you may think that there are other hotels more central to the commercial district. However, the Sofitel is within walking distance to all of the major sights, including the shopping district and benefits from the slightly less frenetic pace of Le Duan Bvld.

The hotel is well presented, with all of the hallmarks you would expect from a Sofitel property. The lobby bar is very nice (if a little quiet) and the pool deck and bar with views over the city is a very nice place to spend a couple of hours. The rooms of the club floor are newly renovated in a funky modern style and benefit from access to the Club on the 18th floor. The breakfast served in the Club is nicely put together and what it may lack in variety (compared with the main buffet) it more than makes up for in outlook and attentive service.

Finally, the standard of service in this hotel is of the highest level. Staff were attentive and helpful to a fault. It is the view of this reviewer that these high standards are set and maintained by the consistent supervision of senior staff who appear to be constantly on the floor. Frederik D (who can be seen responding to many reviews) was always happy to stop and chat and on request provided an excellent restaurant recommendation that miraculously turned into a dinner reservation. Every request of the staff was followed through and confirmation fed back to you - wherever you might be in the hotel. We genuinely appreciated this very personalized level of service and felt that it was superior to almost all of the properties we have visited. For this reason alone, we would recommend this hotel to others visiting HCMC.

Our thanks to the management team for a great stay!

Room Tip: We would recommend paying a bit more for a club room to have access to the lounge and be so close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you for being so thoughtful in giving your appreciation of the time spent with us during your stay earlier this month.

Needless to say, we were thrilled that you had a memorable experience and that you found our hotel Ambassadors attentive, helpful and very professional. Please know that we will be sure to share your positive feedback with all of the Teams.

We were sincerely touched to read how much you appreciated your newly renovated room with a subtle and elegant style that combines a French and local touch. It is truly satisfying to know that your experience amongst us met with your expectations and that, for you, Sofitel Saigon Plaza is superior to almost all of the properties you have visited.

We were particularly pleased that you very much enjoyed the delicate attention of a very personalized level of service that we offer here at the Hotel!

It is a great honor to read that you can recommend Sofitel Saigon Plaza to anyone who would come to Ho Chi Minh City.

Once again, thank you for your kind words, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel Saigon Plaza.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    531
    162
    32
    13
See reviews for
224
779
89
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Sofitel maybe a nice hotel but not upto the mark. We spent extra money to stay in the club rooms cos we thought it would be better since we are traveling with our 2 yr old daughter but we shouldn't have.
1. The hotel rooms are big but not enough lighting.
2. The aircon doesn't cool the room.
3. Room service not so great.
4. We called maintenance thrice and complained at the front desk about the ac but no change whatsoever.
5. We called room service twice to clear our food but no one came And we had to clear it ourselves the following morning and this happened 2 nights in a row even though we had complained about it at the front desk.
6. I was bitten 2 nights in a row and again I complained at front desk but nothing.

After all this we have got nothing from the hotel and were gonna have stay here again cos we pre booked.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khushbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Bonjour,

We thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your last visit at Sofitel Saigon Plaza.

Nevertheless, we were deeply sorry to read that your experience has not been entirely in keeping with your expectations. At the same time we are deeply surprised that you mark down some points that you have not mentioned before on our previous and private correspondence or during your entire stay at the Hotel.

If for whatever reason we are unable to respect our promise to pickup the room service tray, we must show thoughtfulness in getting back to you before the promised pickup time with our apologies and correct time. I am most sorry to learn how overall not impressed you were with your room service food.

You acknowledged that our Engineering department came to your room late at night to review your air-con. As I wrote to you before our minimum temperature per default is 18 degrees, and what was fully functional at 18 degrees during your entire stay. The temperature measured at that particular evening on 20 of May by our Engineer on Duty was in your room 18.7 degrees.

We would hope that on a future trip to Ho Chi Minh City, we would be able to show you the personalized attention one expects in today's world of luxury hotels.

In any case, do not hesitate to let me know should you chose to plan a future visit, and we will do our utmost to reverse the impressions you had during your recent visit.

With best regards,
Frederik Deman

frederik.deman@Sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is very close to most tourist attractions. Hard Rock Cafe is only about 5 mins by foot. Ben Tanh Market is only 5 mins drive from the hotel which will only cost about USD1.50 by meter / 180,000 VND.

I have stayed in this hotel several times. I noticed the hotel rooms are renovated recently. Interior is very pleasing and the hotel staffs are hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mizgohxxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Bonjour,

We would like to express appreciation for your kind words following your stay with us.

It is a real pleasure to know that you found Sofitel Saigon Plaza to be your favorite place to now stay in Ho Chi Minh City. Your praise on the quality of service is certainly the most important compliment to us.
Please know that we will be sure to share your positive feedback with all of our hotel Ambassadors.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Sofitel Saigon Plaza soon.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel was outstanding. The General Manager of the hotel even made sure everything was OK. The staff were outstanding in service delivery. Everything was clean and tidy. Facilities were excellent and the Club lounge was on par with the Shangri -La Hotel Dubai.
Will stay there on my next business or family holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank airbus20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you for being so thoughtful in giving your appreciation of the time spent with us during your stay earlier this month.

Needless to say, we were thrilled that you had a memorable experience and that you found our hotel Ambassadors very professional. Please know that we will be sure to share your positive feedback with all of the Team.

We were sincerely touched to read how much you appreciated our facilities and the Sofitel Club Lounge. It is truly satisfying to know that your experience amongst us met with your expectations and above and beyond.

We look forward to have the occasion of welcoming you back in a not too distant future, and I look forward to seeing you at that time.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our stay was excellent in all respects. As an Accor member I appreciate the generous support of the staff through put Asia Pacific. The gym was notable as well about the quality of other Accor facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ToowoombaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you for being so thoughtful in giving your appreciation of the time spent with us.

Your praise and comments on your stay are surely one of the best compliments you could ever make to us.

We looking forward to have the occasion of welcoming you back in a not too distant future, and I look forward to seeing you again at that time.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good hotel at nice location. It seems to be recently rennovated and looks very cosy.

Maintain the Sofitel standard indeed

Though a bit expensive but definitely worth staying if budget permits

Service staffs standards are good as well and all can speak very good English

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank sTripTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Bonjour,

We would like to express appreciation for your kind words following your last stay with us.

Be assured that your positive comments were shared with each member of the Team having contributed to enhance your stay. It is a pure satisfaction to know that our constant refurbishment effort to provide state-of-the-art hospitality is recognized.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future at Sofitel Saigon Plaza or at any of or Sofitel Luxury Hotels worldwide.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The lobby is bright and spacious. Front desk staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The room is too dim - inadequate lighting. The easy chair is squeezed in a corner due to lack of space. The lanterns and cage decor in the room makes the room pretty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuoCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederik D, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Saigon Plaza, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Bonjour,

First of all, we thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Saigon Plaza here on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are very much taken to heart. We are enhancing the lighting in the rooms as we speak.

We are delighted that you particularly appreciated the quality of our servcies and the thoughtfulness of our Front of House Ambassadors.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Sofitel Saigon Plaza soon.

With very best regards,
Frederik Deman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
#10 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
#7 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Asiana Saigon
InterContinental Asiana Saigon
#5 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Saigon
Le Meridien Saigon
#16 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#14 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Saigon Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Saigon Plaza

Property: Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Address: 17 Le Duan Boulevard | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Saigon Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Saigon Plaza is located on peaceful tree-lined Le Duan Boulevard just a moment from the city's commercial centre with it's fabulous shopping dining and landmark attractions like Notre Dame Cathedral and Reunification Palace. Newly renovated rooms and suites offer guests contemporary 5-star hotel style with a blend of modern French design and Vietnamese influences. Each room features spacious elegance while the Imperial Suite is the largest in Saigon. Situated in the business district and offering a full range of expert services the hotel is ideal for business as well as leisure travellers to Ho Chi Minh. It's conference facilities make it a preferred host for Magnifique weddings and events. Experience the French art de vivre the best of Ho Chi Minh City and gracious 5-star hotel service at Sofitel Saigon Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Saigon Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Saigon Plaza Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Sofitel Hotel Plaza Saigon
Sofitel Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing