We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Ranked #32 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. Hotel concierge recommended some bus services for me to try which was great. Also recommended a decent hair salon where I had a cheap and good shampoo.

Room is a bit dated but I'm not expecting the best Marriott standards in HCMC.

Breakfast was relatively good. Had a beef noodles (pho) station, egg station, the rest are typical breakfast.

Easy for taxi drivers, just say Riverside hotel and not Renaissance Riverside. There is actually really a riverside hotel but it's just next to it anyway. So it won't get wrong far away.

The locality is great for me. I love the Hoang Yen restaurant next to the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SporeSamSeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    1,050
    238
    64
    25
See reviews for
416
886
166
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Only about $160/night for a nice 4 star hotel, I'm a gold elite member so I got club lounge access and river room, this was amazing with all free food and drinks, but even if you're not elite gold, the pool and gym/ restaurants are nice, rooms are a little small but modern and stylish, free wifi too

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank neb n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2014

You know your in good hands the moment you arrive at the airport the hotel car is waiting for you even at 2AM in the morning. The hotel staff are very friendly and hospitable. Great breakfast and restaurant inside the hotel. The gym has all the equipment i need and for me particularly the stationary cycling bike. The room has great view of the river and is always kept clean. The location is walking distance to city icons.

I always will come back and stay in this hotel. Your home away from home.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river has a fantastic view of the outlying areas of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dar0289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestvoice t, Director of Operations at Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Dar0289,

It is great to receive such a wonderful comment as yours. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our room, food, facilities at our Health Club and our services met your expectation.

We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us which encourages our team to deliver exceptional service in the future. We are all here waiting to welcome you back with “your home away from home”.

Kind Regards,
Susantha M.
Director of Operations
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at the start of our honeymoon. We were delighted with the location on the river with great views over bith the city and river.

We had champagnes and strawberries on arrival and the shower waa superb.

Breakfast was amazing, the choice was the biggest we've ever seen. From waffles and cereal to noodles and dim sum!!

The hotel is located on quite a busy round about and you can hear the traffic, but we loved that as it is all part of the Vietnam city experience!! "Beep beep"

Recommended for couples and business people. There is a roof top pool but I wouldn't really say its family friendly as the shallow end is still waist height.

Enjoy!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CB786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

it was a very bad experience, my friend and I booked 2 rooms through Marriott vacation club and was told that paying a room with breakfast is good enough for 2 person to enjoy the breakfast. and that confirmed by the counter reception when we checked in Ho Chi Mingh Renaissance.

However to our horror on the first morning breakfast, we were told that our room is only entitle to 1 person breakfast, I explained the situation nicely to the manager, she claimed that there is no such thing, she insisted she was there at the counter when we checked in and argue that the counter staff whom checked us in did not mentioned the breakfast issues. I swear with my life that she was not there while we checked in on the first day, and she kept on embarrassing us by telling us to pay for the breakfast, I couldn't help but to make a fuss and demanded for the top management to address us.

Director of Operation, Mr Kalmar finally stepped in after the meal, he called upon with the counter staff whom checked us in on the first day and managed to pay us back the justice.

How could ever a 5 stars international hotel embarrass their guests over a breakfast issue in the restaurant with so many diners having their meal?

How could a 5 stars international hotel staff lie over to their guests saying she was at the check-in counter when she not (I challenged her to look over at the CCTV).

How could ever a 5 stars international hotel staff not to apologize over the matter when clearly it was the hotel mistakes? (Although Mr Kalmar did but not the staff whom embarrassed us in the restaurant)?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Ideal location and the staff are very friendly and happy to assist. Room is very comfortable with strong Wi-Fi signal (free if you are Marriott reward member).

Breakfast is good with decent selection of food.

Hotel staff are very alert and helpful. When I met my wife at the hotel, they checked with her to ensure valid IDs are presented (She is a vietnamese) and I feel this helps to heighten the security in the hotel and this is also a local law requirement as well.

Housekeeping did a fantastic job keeping my room clean everyday.

Front desk staff are also very pleasant and help when I require assistance to make dinner reservation at a different restaurant and they are more than willing to share places of interest.

Room Tip: If you are not a Marriott reward member, do signup and you will get free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Good service every time when I stay, breakfast very good but sometimes busy during 7.00 - 8.00 AM. Hotel staff always give you very good service, warmness, friendly. price is reasonable for five stars like this.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pornthep U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#28 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,005 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon

Property: Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Address: 8 - 15 Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#26 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Saigon's business and entertainment district, the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers warm hospitality, first-class amenities and incredible panoramic views of the Saigon River. Ho Chi Minh's famous landmarks such as the Reunification Palace and the beautiful Opera House are all within strolling distance as are numerous sellers of Vietnamese arts and crafts: a fascinating mix of commercial, retail, entertainment and cultural highlights at your door. Pamper yourself in a newly refurbished club room and after a day of meetings or sightseeing, take a dip in our rooftop pool,relax at our sun soaked poolside terrace. Alternatively enjoy a drink in the Atrium Lounge, a leisurely dinner at Kabin Chinese Restaurant or dine in our Riverside Café for Western and Vietnamese culinary delights. If you are looking for a hotel for an event or meeting the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon offers meeting facilities which include natural daylight and river views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing