We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and overall service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Ranked #32 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is very well located for those who like to walk around the city. The service is 5* no doubt and all the amenities are there. Nice rooftop pool and bar with light snacks. But when we got the check at the bar we were charged 2000000 extra, which we were very surprised about, but they took it off when we pointed it out. That should not be happening in a 5* hotel.
Other than that I would recommend it if you are staying in Saigon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvetlanaGordienko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,361 - 1,367 of 2,799 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights during a hectic tour of Vietnam and enjoyed our stay.

The room was light, airy, of a decent size, with a very comfortable bed and nicely appointed bathroom with a bath tub. We were lucky to have one of the corner rooms overlooking the river and the adjacent square with the fountains lit up at night at the weekend. The public rooms are nice and there was an excellent breakfast buffet.

We were disappointed that on the first night we could not book a table in the Chinese restaurant on the first floor, but those guests wishing to eat there were escorted to an area at the back of the buffet restaurant on the ground floor where tables had been reserved for diners wishing to have table service and dishes from the Chinese menu. This was actually my 70th birthday so the meal was a special celebration and was indeed most enjoyable with excellent service. I must also comment that (presumably notified of this fact by our tour operator - certainly not by us), the hotel had provided a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and some strawberries dipped in chocolate which were delicious and this gesture was very much appreciated. Also, as we had to leave very early for the airport on the second morning, we requested a "breakfast box" to take with us as we would not have time for breakfast in the restaurant before leaving. The request was smilingly accepted, and sure enough really good "takeaway" breakfasts were waiting for us at reception on check out.

Overall the service was friendly and excellent.

I do, however, have 2 small criticisms. The first is that this is a large hotel with a large number of rooms and, I think, 3 different breakfast locations. The specific location to which you are allocated for breakfast is indicated on the back of the key card folder. This was not pointed out by reception at check-in as a result of which we did not notice it and first went to the main ground floor restaurant, only to find that we should have gone to the restaurant on the first floor. Secondly, because of the number of guests, we found that the lobby was generally pretty chaotic and as there were only 3 lifts serving about 20 floors, there was often a significant wait for a lift at the intermediate floors, and a rugby scrum when getting a lift from the ground floor. It was also the only hotel on the whole holiday where wifi was not free.

Despite these minor criticisms we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend the hotel, and ideally I would have liked to score it 4.5!

Room Tip: I cannot comment on any rooms other than our own. However rooms numbered x12 and I think x13 are at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The location of this hotel is really good. You can walk to almost every where in District 1 from here. There are lots of cafes and restaurants both local and international with various cuisines. The breakfast is good and has awide spread. I was here for both business and leisure. The support from this hotel was very good. If you are thinking of holding your meetings here, I would recommened it. One thing to note in Vietnam is that if you need an ISDN line, it requires 15 days approval from the government authorities. One not so good thing about the main hall is that it has 2 pillars that block some of the participants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheosrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We Stayed 6 nights and were impressed with everything about the hotel, staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were great , Meals were what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel only one small downfall was the price of wifi, but not the biggest issue as there was so much time spent exploring the city

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and found it to be very average. The décor is pretty dated and our room had a terrible smell - we figured out that this was coming from the air con, and was better when the air con was switched off, so we were just lucky we had acclimatised to the heat by this point. We did have a riverside view though really the most interesting part of the city scape were the massive communist propaganda posters on the other side of the river! We ate in both restaurants, the food was okay, nothing more, including breakfast (though they did have the biggest cereal selection I have ever seen in a hotel!). And the service was also very average - they did their job but not really with a smile - something which really frustrates us, having stayed at so many budget places in Vietnam and elsewhere in SE Asia where the staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful, then you treat yourself to a "nicer" hotel and can't even get a smile - it costs nothing people! The only exception to this were the staff at the bar on the fifth floor, who were really sweet. And the location was good, walking distance to Saigon's main sites. Not a terrible stay but not a memorable one either and should be better for the price - overall - an incredibly average hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestvoice t, Manager at Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Hannah 126,

Warm greetings from Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon!

We would like to first of all thank you for choosing Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon as you accommodation choice during your recent visit to Saigon.

It is with regret that we read your comment. We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize on behalf of all of us on the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. While it is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with superior standards of products and services, in this particular instance, we seem to have faltered. We hasten to add that your experience is not reflective of our usual services that we provide to our valued guests. Please rest assured that the management will follow up on the issues mentioned to avoid reoccurrences as such. We would appreciate if you could share the room number during your stay with us.

We would sincerely like to have the chance of welcoming you back to the hotel for you to enable us to extend a better experience. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.

Please feel free to see me as a point of contact at our hotel should you require any further assistance.


Best regards,

Kim Chi- Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located. The service is very friendly and good.
The rooms are nice especially when choosing the ones with a view on the river.
Thusfar I have stayed in this hotel for business purposes only and I have always enjoyed my stay.
The hotel is also an excellent choise for a family visit to Ho Chi Min City.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I repeatedly stay here because the staff are fantastic. If you get club benefits, you'll feel even more comfortable as the 18th floor club lounge staff are superstars. They have never said no and are extremely hospitable.

If possible, get a river view instead of a city view room. The river view is pleasant after a long or busy day.

Great place, great location. Only positive experiences!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank THEHAiRYANiMAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#29 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,200 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
InterContinental Saigon Hotel
#8 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
Sofitel Saigon Plaza
#24 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#22 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Saigon
Le Meridien Saigon
#14 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon

Address: 8 - 15 Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#27 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $137 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon is a hotel for the curious, the adventurous, and for those who see every journey as a chance to be inspired by the unexpected. We are here to help you find authentic local experiences; we are passionate about the neighborhood and believe in Business Unusual. With sensational panoramic views of the Saigon River, and in the midst of the vibrant business and tourist hub of Ho Chi Minh City, the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon is the leading 5* lifestyle hotel in Saigon. The hotel features total 336 comfortable and spacious Guest Rooms and Suites as well as two exceptional dining venues – Viet Kitchen and Kabin Restaurants - which offer amazing culinary journeys across international and Cantonese cuisines as well as local flavors and specialties. A cool and trendy Rbar on hotel ground floor, relaxing Atrium Lounge, an open air social event venue Liquid Sky Bar, rooftop pool, an on-property spa and a Fitness Center complete the full list of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing