We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great combination of comfort and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Ranked #32 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A great combination of comfort and location”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance Saigon Riverside for two nights. It was our first time in Vietnam and we decided that it might make sense to stay at the Renaissance for familiarity's sake. The rooms and service did not disappoint. The staff were friendly and the concierge was a valuable source of information.

TIP: If you're staying at the Renaissance, don't waste your money booking a city tour. Most landmarks are within walking distance and we found that the traffic in HCM City wasn't quite as bad as most people make it out to be. If you do need to take a taxi from the hotel, the taxi rank outside is well organized and you're not likely to be scammed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    1,037
    237
    63
    25
See reviews for
413
878
165
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was our last stop in a 1 month trip to SE Asia, and we were a little spoiled by having rather large rooms in every place we stayed. At the Renaissance, at first, we were given a small room with no view. Then we got a room with a river view, by request, but it was so small. After much more discussion, we got a corner room with a river view, which was larger, and much more comfortable. It had a bathtub and separate shower, and the room layout was nicer.

Breakfast in the Executive Lounge was good, as is characteristic of a Marriott. We enjoyed the view of the river from the lounge during breakfast, and when we stopped in the lounge for a drink or food in the evening. I felt like I could just watch the boats go by on the river for hours! The internet speed and connection was good, in the room and in the lounge. We didn’t eat at any hotel restaurant for dinner; there were so many more authentic restaurants close by!

The gym was quite good; all sorts of machines; TV monitors on the treadmills. It is on the top floor, just steps down from the rooftop pool. Although we didn’t use the pool (too busy doing seeing sights and shopping!), it had a beautiful view from the top floor!

We didn’t use the tour companies associated with the hotel; we booked the foodie tour with XO Tours online before coming to Saigon, and glad we did- it was a highlight of the trip. Mostly, we walked to sight-see and shop in the city, as the location of the hotel is good. We did take a taxi to Chinatown (Cholon) one day, although the market there wasn’t all that we had anticipated. We were there for 6 nights, and there is a lot to see and do within walking distance of the hotel; museums, shopping, markets, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: We had to be persistent to get a good room. First we asked for a river view room, and were given a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed 1 night for business trip and was impressed with the view that overlooks the river. It is walking diatnce to shops and about 20 mins to the city centre (that being the theatre).

Very confortable stay and what impressed me most was the honesty of the staff as I left my iphone in the room upon checkout. I called the mainline and they were very helpful in searching and call me back in 10 mins saying that it is in the room and they will leave it at the reception for me to collect.

Thank you to the housekeeping staff and operator who helped in this. It saved me alot of time and was glad you made it possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I used the Renaissance Riverside in Saigon as my “home base” for a 3-week trip to Vietnam. I only stayed in the hotel a total of 4 nights, but during those stays I found it to be an excellent choice. The front desk staff and doormen were super helpful (the doormen always made sure the cab drivers knew where we were going). The rooms were large, super clean and the air conditioner was the bomb!

The rooftop pool and bar was great, one of the best places in town to get an aerial view of Saigon, I stood on the pool deck more than once with a map in one hand and my smart phone in the other, mapping out the days walking tour. The hotel is also known for it expansive buffets, offering both western and traditional local foods. The buffet is expensive by Vietnam standards but the food is plentiful and good.

The best thing I can say about the stay and the hotel is how gracious they were in allowing us to leave our large pieces of luggage , enabling us to only take what we needed for each of our short trips around the country. Each time we returned we were greeted by the front desk employees by name and the bell staff brought our stored luggage up to our room immediately. The hotel staff also helped arrange laundry service for our dirty clothes each time we returned.

Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: The higher the better- much less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanksnow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hampton
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is within walking distance from most attractions located on map. Eventhough some attractions were approx. 20-25 minute walk from hotel, we enjoyed experiencing the city on foot and got some exercise in the process. Hotel rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable bed.

We had river view but there really is not much to see at night except barges and river boats. The river is not scenic and in my opinion, there is no need to pay for a river view that doesn't have WOW factor.

Breakfast was okay with a good selection of both cold and hot foods. I enjoyed sitting in the lobby bar area.

Hotel staff is friendly and very helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayGoEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Context: part of a 14 day holiday traveling across Vietnam
Positives: very helpful and friendly front desk staff, excellent location within walking distance of shopping and restaurants, rooftop pool, wonderful views of the river, delicious room service food
Negatives: ask for a high floor if street/traffic noise bothers you

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott29inSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a very typical high-rise city hotel in a rapidly developing city. We were very high up on the 16th floor which always makes me worry a bit about fire. The hotel was very luxurious and well-run with very friendly staff. Our room was very spacious and had everything we needed. The shower was excellent and much-used as the temperature was much hotter here than in the other parts of Vietnam we visited. We also enjoyed the roof top pool which has stunning views over the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#26 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Saigon
Le Meridien Saigon
#21 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon

Property: Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Address: 8 - 15 Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#26 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Saigon's business and entertainment district, the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers warm hospitality, first-class amenities and incredible panoramic views of the Saigon River. Ho Chi Minh's famous landmarks such as the Reunification Palace and the beautiful Opera House are all within strolling distance as are numerous sellers of Vietnamese arts and crafts: a fascinating mix of commercial, retail, entertainment and cultural highlights at your door. Pamper yourself in a newly refurbished club room and after a day of meetings or sightseeing, take a dip in our rooftop pool,relax at our sun soaked poolside terrace. Alternatively enjoy a drink in the Atrium Lounge, a leisurely dinner at Kabin Chinese Restaurant or dine in our Riverside Café for Western and Vietnamese culinary delights. If you are looking for a hotel for an event or meeting the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon offers meeting facilities which include natural daylight and river views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing