We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...5 star in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Ranked #32 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wow...5 star in every way”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Like apparently many others before me, I booked the Riverside Hotel instead of the Renaissance Riverside Hotel by mistake. Even gave myself a smug pat on the back for getting it so cheap compared to what everyone else was paying.

Yep...turns out there's a reason for that - different hotel, just a couple of doors down, with a similar name. Absolutely nothing similar beyond the name.

So after 1 night, I promptly checked out and checked in to the Renaissane Riverside Resort, where I'd intended to stay all along.

Fabulous hotel. Fabulous location.

Amazing staff, and the best breakfast (range and service) that I've ever seen. Worth paying the money for, even just once.

The room service was also the most amazing I'd ever seen. I'm a huge fan of room service - someone else cooks it and brings it to you, and you don't have to dress up or leave your room. What's not to love!? The room service trays were a work of art. Even a simple burger had garnishes and accompaniments beyond my expectations. The food itself was fantastic, and the inclusions and additions (sauces, little snacks with the meal itself etc) was a whole other level of amazing.

The room service breakfast was nothing short of extravagant. I seriously had to toss up whether to go down and bask in the amazing restaurant breakfast, or laze and glutton out on the room service breakfast.

Total first world dilemma, I know.

The views are great, especially on the upper floors of the river side rooms. Having said that, I had a room on the opposite side of the hotel, looking directly into an adjoining office block. I spent much time on my sofa, observing Vietnamese office life. It was actually highly entertaining and addictive.

The casino, wow. The lift itself is an experience. That's all before the free food and drink while watching the Asian punters get stuck into the video gaming machines - slapping them, talking to them, chanting their good luck mantra's. It was a total highlight of our time in HCMC.

This hotel is well worth the price. The rooms are fantastic. Nothing is too much to ask of the staff. The food is amazing. Treat yourself, you won't regret it.

Roof top drinks at the pool bar as day turned to night was also a highlight.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room on a higher floor. Splash out a little extra for a Club Room, for guarant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParentalParody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    1,050
    238
    64
    25
See reviews for
416
886
166
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Have stayed here 4 times in the past 4 months, usually in a club room. We normally get river view rooms and while others have commented on the lovely views, in my opinion at least, this is not a particularly scenic river. The club lounge is very pleasant and the staff there try hard to please although they sometimes do have difficulty communicating in English. Good gym but the spa is hit and miss. More a 4 star than a 5 star property. It's good value for the price which is why we continue to use it. Go for a club floor room.

Room Tip: Club floor river view. River is not particularly pretty but still better than city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
737 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The Renaissance Saigon Riverside Hotel has trained their staff extremely well as they bend over backwards to serve their guests. The rooms are comfortably furnished,housekeeping is very good and anything one should require is only a phone call away.It is worth the extra money to stay on the club floors.The club lounge is well run and offers a very nice breakfast,snacks all day and a great evening cocktail hour.Use your Marriott Rewards card and you get free internet.The hotel is very well located in the city.

Room Tip: Request a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dealmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sg
Level Contributor
218 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I felt really welcome in this modern, well designed hotel. The breakfast was great, free wifi in all rooms for Marriott rewards members. Be sure to visit the gym and pool on the top floor , overlooking the city. It is a stones throw away from the airport , making it perfect for business.
Definitely my first choice for HCMC!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My partnet and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April as part of a package. When we arrived we were upgraded to a Corner Riverview/City View room. The view was magic. The breakfast each morning was just amazing, the largest choice of food I have ever come accross on my travels and I have been to a few international places. The staff were very helpful with the changing of money and directions for sightseeing. Will go back there again next year when we do the same trip again.

Room Tip: Ask for Corner room with City/River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times now all for business purposes, although one time I did choose to stay for a weekend to enjoy the sights of the city. I find the location to be great, very easy to walk around the city and the hotel is located along the river so easy to access any river cruises. The rooms are spacious. Wifi was free but was really bad, it kept on dropping out.. But hey it was free so am not in a position to complain as it was better than nothing. Gym access is 24hrs and the facilities are of a high standard. Recommend to try and get one of the rooms that are not facing the balcony that overlooks the bar downstairs, as it can get noisy and there is a man playing piano that you can hear from your room even if you are on a high floor.

Room Tip: Away from the balcony (its an internal balcony) overlooking the bar downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I had a room at the club level and it was nice and clean. The service was great and high notch. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlBallaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#28 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,006 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon

Property: Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon
Address: 8 - 15 Ton Duc Thang Street, District 1 | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#18 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#26 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Saigon's business and entertainment district, the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers warm hospitality, first-class amenities and incredible panoramic views of the Saigon River. Ho Chi Minh's famous landmarks such as the Reunification Palace and the beautiful Opera House are all within strolling distance as are numerous sellers of Vietnamese arts and crafts: a fascinating mix of commercial, retail, entertainment and cultural highlights at your door. Pamper yourself in a newly refurbished club room and after a day of meetings or sightseeing, take a dip in our rooftop pool,relax at our sun soaked poolside terrace. Alternatively enjoy a drink in the Atrium Lounge, a leisurely dinner at Kabin Chinese Restaurant or dine in our Riverside Café for Western and Vietnamese culinary delights. If you are looking for a hotel for an event or meeting the Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon offers meeting facilities which include natural daylight and river views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Riverside Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing