We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Bahdja Restaurant - CLOSED

Bahdja Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: First Algerian Restaurant in Ho Chi Minh city. Serving Algerian style Couscous, Tajines. Fresh mint tea, Espresso, Great wines, cold draught beer available. Unique decor, central location.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Bahdja really offers everything you should expect from a north african restaurant (or of any restaurant you would go to spend a good time and eat well) : very good food, good price, warm and friendly service, honest advices, very instructive descriptions and explanations, good prices and an overall excellent value for money. Everything there is geniune, including the heart and the passion the owners of this little place displays.
Their food tastes really authentic (having Algerian roots I know what I am talking about). Don't go there for the view or expecting a fancy place. What's good about this place is not superficial.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bsenouci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    33
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
“birthday dinner to remember”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Anna and Akhmed know about entertaining, hospitality and good food cooked with love. Bahdja was the best backdrop to my small dinner party. Service was excellent. Food was consistently delectable. Wine, well selected. The place was beautiful and tastefully decorated. And it is those small touches that keep me coming back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best couscous in town”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great little place serving fresh, delicious and wholesome food. My favourite is the lamb couscous - lamb is nice and juicy and the couscous light and in just the right quantity, although I do like the tajines too. For starter I always take the beef bourek (kind of a beef spring roll) - hot and fresh from the kitchen, a good squeeze of lime takes this starter to a whole new level. If you don't know what to have just ask Anya (one of the owners) and she will guide you to the perfect dish.

Central location and free parking for motorbikes at the nearby parking garage make it really handy. Its open at lunch time so within walking distance from all offices near or on Nguyen Hue street.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the most enjoyable dining experiences I have had in a long time”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I rarely post on tripadvisor so soon after dining at a restaurant, but this place deserves a great deal of praise for the experience my wife and I had there. I think the best place to start is to mention the service. From start to finish, the service was absolutely spot on. The owners were very engaging and interactive. Being relatively unfamiliar with Algerian food, we were both incredibly happy by the descriptions and suggestions offered by them. What really made me happy was how well they provided a few vegetarian options for me considering I wasn't sure what to expect.

As for the food, it was absolutely pitch perfect. We started with an absolutely delightful tomato and capsicum salad. The complimentary bread and dips were unreal. One was a bit spicy, which I loved, and the other was a bit more subdued. They are a great balance. As for the mains, my wife had a hard time coming up with the proper words to describe how much she enjoyed her beef tanjine. My dish was a a stew of vegetables topped with an egg and baked. I can honestly say it's one of the finest dishes I have ever had from that region of food. We shared a dessert (split the two baked goods). The crust was a little thick on one, but the Algerian take on baklava (almonds instead of pistachio) was like a revelation to me.

Overall, I cannot recommend this place enough, which is incredibly rare for me. I have strong opinions about food, and this place absolutely blew my expectations away. Even the mint tea stood out as beautifully done. And the overall cost was incredibly affordable considering we shared an appetizer, got a carafe of wine, a pot of tea, two mains, and two pastries. I always look forward to trying something new, and I'm glad we had this experience. You can tell the food was done with a lot of thought and love for what they do. It's been a long time since I've been this happy with a dining experience, and I can't wait to go back. Mark my words; it will be soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeySmithRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious North African cuisine and superb service.”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

In my opinion, the best service I've experienced in a restaurant after 10 years of living in Vietnam. Delicious Algerian/Moroccan cuisine at reasonable prices. This family run operation is operated by Ahmed and his wife Anna. They are the perfect hosts and really know how to make their guests feel right at home. Anna will always make a great recommendation from the menu or specials. I have been there twice in the past two weeks and am returning tonite to introduce Bahdja to my wife and friends. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gfreed61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahdja Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing