We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and reliable service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
Ranked #172 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and reliable service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

From our previous experience in HCMC , hotel in this category usually in more for local, so we are amazing the the manager not only can speak English but chinese also.As in the case of my mother , she can only speak chinese so no problem at this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    83
    49
    16
    15
See reviews for
11
77
72
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you are looking for a place with nice rooms, good Wi-Fi, hot water, cable tv, free breakfast, internet in the lobby, bike rental, laundry service, friendly staff, close to all the action yet a bit distant from being in the middle of serious noise levels, and at a very affordable rate, this is the place you want to stay.

Not all the staff speak English enough for long conversations, but enough to help you get what you need and need done. Julie, the manager is very attentive with a good command of english and she is able to speak Chinese if need be.

Room Tip: Be genuinely nice and you might get a nicer room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wlvlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

After staying at the Saigon Mini Hotel 5 on 196 Bui Vien two years ago, we booked two twin rooms with balcony via Agoda for our stay this year.
We didn't know that the Saigon Mini Hotel 5 was now part of the Bizu Boutique Hotel Group and weren't informed about this either when we made the booking.

When we arrived at the hotel at 196 Bui Vien the receptionist informed us that they were full and we should go to their partner hotel at 183 De Tham. She kept pointing out that it was only a couple of minutes away and I kept pointing out that we chose the 196 Bui Vien on purpose, it wasn't our first stay and we actually really wanted to stay there. But as they were full there was nothing she could do and so we trotted over to 183 De Tham.

We got two keys; one room was a twin room with window, the other one a double room without any window.
Again I pointed out that we booked TWO twin rooms WITH balcony or window and that we want to change the room but this was not possible. There would have been a room we could have moved to, but the receptionst had lost the key. She said it might be possible for us to move the next day, if she found the key.

The rooms were very small but kind of clean. Our first night was the New Years Evening (of Tet) and when we returned to our hotel around midnight, it was impossible to sleep as the room on the 6th floor (with the window) as right next to the roof terrace and our windowless room on the 4th floor was right next to the Techno room of the Go2 bar. The Go2 bar is one of the busiest and biggest bars in District 1. The "good" thing about Go2 is that it stay open late. If everything else in HCMC is closed, you can trust that the party is still pumping at Go2 until the early hours. We can confirm that, were we right in the middle of it. We thought, ok, maybe it was especially loud for Tet and hoped for the second night. It was the same, loud music and singing until 6.00 am.
Don't get me wrong, I have no problem with parties and have been to Go2 until late at night myself before. But I chose a hotel, which was NOT next to the bar and now we were put somewhere, where we didn't want to be.
It was not possible for us to move to the other hotel or to another room and when it was possible (for the last night), we were too tired to pack our stuff and it seemed to complicated as we were on a Mekong-trip during the time the move should have happened.

The included breakfast (we only went once I think) was ok, baguette or toast with eggs or Asian soup or noodles.

It was possible to book tours (Cu-Chi Tunnels and Mekong) through the hotel reception at cheaper rates than in some outside travel agencies.

Wifi was included and there were guest computers in the lobby.

The rooms were incredibly small and seeing that we didn't book a cheap hostel it's very bad value for money.

All in all I have to say that I am really disappointed in the way we were treated by the hotel group by putting us into another hotel than we booked. Had we booked a hotel right next to Go2 in the first place, it'd have been alright. But we wanted to avoid loud music and knew exactly what we wanted when booking and am upset that the staff could not manage to move us again.

Room Tip: Not with a wall to the neighbouring bar Go2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

The staff make the service great,very helpfull, they help me to buy the Vietnam sim card, redcomment a Vietnam good food (bun bo heu) it's delicous. Room clearn, very nice city view...i will stay here again when i go ho chi minh

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhizhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Overall its a very ordinary budget hotel. So what you pay for is just about ok.
Staff not very helpful and not well versed in English....surprising to see that in Ho Chi Minh.
Rooms are small
Location is quite nice though....
No breakfast...but right outside the hotel is a Banh Mi stall and a small cafe.
The hotel is in Dist 1 so a dozen bar and restaurants to choose from.
Also, they don't help with early check in even if you inform in advance.
The staff created hassels on USD - Dong conversions.

Its ok to stay if you are on a tight budget.

Room Tip: As for rooms on higher floors with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GargiPareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was so good at this hotel, is located in the middle of the town. Room is comfortable, clean and good value. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. Good breakfast and surrounded by good retaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pierreluyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
161 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Located on the edge of the so-called "Backpackers' Area", this a pleasant little hotel in an area of intense competition. The reception staff and the lobby staff were friendly and attentive. The lobby area is a bit small but there are 3 computers for guests to use free of charge - for the dwindling numbers of us who still do not carry access to the Internet around with us. The room was also a little on the small side but adequate - some of the woodwork on the furniture was a little worn as was the door to the attached bathroom which contained an adequate supply of toiletries. I did not try the breakfast choices, preferring to go out to one of the many eateries nearby. The area is within walking distance (just!) of many of Ho Chi Minh City's attractions. There are some nightlife establishments nearby and the noise did penetrate into the room at times.
The only real downside was the taxi service which they booked to take me to the airport on my departure for a prepaid amount of 190,000 Dong ( I think ) which is about 9 or 10 US $. I was told not to pay any more but, on arrival at the airport, the driver asked for a " tip ". I have written to the hotel to them about this and have asked that they complain to the company "Saigon Air Taxi" and perhaps they should also consider using another company.
On the day of arrival I paid the equivalent of about $8 US in a metered taxi from the airport to the hotel - the hotel are asking about 20 US $ which is obviously excessive.
This is a fairly new establishment and they say that they are anxious to hear customer comments

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#173 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nguyen Khang Hotel
Nguyen Khang Hotel
#123 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#153 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kim Hotel
Kim Hotel
#129 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#110 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.2 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#90 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)

Property: DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
Address: 183 De Tham | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam (Formerly DDA Hotel District 1)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU) 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near tourist attractions such as Ben Thanh Market, HCMC Central Post Office, Reunification Palace, Municipal Theater Saigon Opera House and The Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral. It’s suitable for either leisure travelers or business travelers who wish to stay in the most convenient location.Located right in the heart of the tourist area - the intersection of the famous De Tham, and Bui Vien street, the hotel offer great convenience for tour booking, shopping, eating, drinking , spa, massages , and nightlife entertainment. Name it, you mostly may have it just out side the hotel door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing