We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine"”
Review of May Restaurant - CLOSED

May Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Southern Vietnamese family dishes are the main focus of the restaurant. We will welcome you as if you were coming in our home, with smiles and soft atmosphere, believing that good food brings people together. In a French colonial house, we went back to the roots of Vietnamese cuisine as it was done in the Sixties without MSG.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine"”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Experience Vietnamese cuisine in a safe way ;) Street food is ok but food poison is not anywhere near fun !

I love their food and presentation

>>> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8O0p8wixpk
Small trip to May restaurant online ;)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank QuynhAnh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    95
    38
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely old building”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Maybe we chose the wrong dishes but the spring rolls had too much mint in them, my pork in clay pot with duck eggs was mainly fat. I know pork belly is fatty but this was very poor. My wife's beef was very grisly.
On the plus side the service was good and the beer was lovely and cold.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardener1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great meal and lovely restaurant!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Great meal with the same standard of service.

Last minute idea looking for a good evening meal and used Trip Advisor to find a restaurant. Found May and was not disappointed. Located at the east end of the city so get a taxi to get you there. Inside it's well decorated and the food is very good.

If I ever came back to Saigon I would eat there again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
239 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Elegant and delicous”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a family dinner at May. First impressions were very good: very friendly and professional staff and a beautiful house and dining room. Setting was friendly and casual.

We got some recommendations and ate delicious food. Especially the squid tamarind and the pork with xxx leaves. We found prices reasonable considering the quality of the food and service, and the facilities.

This was our last meal in Vietnam after travelling from north to south during a month. Luckily for us it was probably one of our best in a “proper” restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yes but make sure your expectations are localised.”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Located on the outskirsts of District 1, it really feels like the dodgy part of town which makes for an all the sweeter scenery as the vila ,close to engulfed by ugly rundown 5-6 story buildings, is a french colonial masterpiece. Whom ever designed the restoration did a great job of keeping the ambiance of the room-by-room private home feel but to me it´s a bit of a miss as I like to see more then just one other table in the same room. Service is aspiring but as in most (see all) of Vietnam blissfully unaware of what a stuck-up foodie is used to. So, can food ingenuity bring this home? They make a big point of good and bio-degradable-healty-happyharvested –bla-bla-bla food and all those other bits a foodie like me who only cares about the end result that makes it´s final apperance in my fork couldn't care less about. BUT, this food is old school inventive and even though they make a splash about serving traditional food they do fusion successfully with european influences. As always some courses are not 100% but as long as you order in abundance (which the low prices invite too) you will leave with a big smile.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Niklas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing