We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refined Vietnamese cuisine with nice ambiance.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of May Restaurant - CLOSED

May Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Southern Vietnamese family dishes are the main focus of the restaurant. We will welcome you as if you were coming in our home, with smiles and soft atmosphere, believing that good food brings people together. In a French colonial house, we went back to the roots of Vietnamese cuisine as it was done in the Sixties without MSG.
Taipei
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Refined Vietnamese cuisine with nice ambiance.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a good place for put of town guests to experience classic Vietnamese cuisine in a nice colonial setting. The food is slightly toned down and portions are not large but good. Overall a nice ambiance for a reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lohbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    95
    38
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
280 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

based on the recommendation of other reviewers, we decided to try May today.
the place looks good, a refreshing colonial house of several levels.
on the way up, customers can see the kitchen behind glass. the kitchen seems to be maintained properly.
Service is good but the food not at the same level if you compare to Ngong or other Vietnamese restaurants of this category.
I was disappointed by the food. after couple of years eating Vietnamese food I start to be able to identify the quality.
Bo La Lot is one of the typical dishes in Vietnam you cannot miss. thin slices of Beef / Prork wrapped in Betel leaves then grilled. it usually melts in the mouth. this one was overcoooked and to hard.
Spicy fried rice is simply unacceptable. the rice is just fried with thinned chili. that's it.
the skin of the chili sticks to the teeth and palate. I've tried many time spicy fried rice in Vietnam. This one was done obviously by a lazy chef.
The Duck in claypot was very good but surely not enough to make me forget about the rest.
Overall average experience is average. the food is overprice for the quality but the environment is relaxing.
I would not recommend this place unless to go there for a drink in a colonial house with professional and good service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank djchrisblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutho, Owner at May Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Djchrisblue,
On behalf of May, please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you had during our dinner time with us.
As for the spicy fried rice, ours comes out differently than others in Vietnam because it's a very simple recipe: rice, eggs and chopped chili. I'm sorry my staff didn't explain you that it was not a more Cantonese style. They should have to.
As for the bo la lot, we don't put any pork in our mixture and use beef filet which doesn't have that much fat. They should have paid more attention to the cooking process as it's very easy to overdo. My apologies that the chef missed his quality control on that.
Should you have the opportunity to come back once more, we'll make sure that you get a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Grand Colonial Villa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was lucky enough to have this place recommended to me by a friend and it was a real treat.
May is set in a beautiful old French colonial villa and if you're lucky enough you may find that will get on of the beautiful rooms to yourself (which is quite likely). Get the staff to give you a tour around the villa too, they're more than happy to.
The staff here are very friendly and attentive and they know their stuff! You can ask them anything about what's in a dish, what's in a cocktail and they always know! It's impressive!
The food here is local Vietnamese food, luckily at fairly local prices too. I've worked my way through a fair bit of the menu now and everything is delicious. I personally like the soft-shell crab with passionfruit sauce. May doesn't use any MSG in their food (or so I'm told) so the food tastes very fresh when compared to other similar places. It's a great place to come with a group and share lots of different things.
The place itself can be a little hard to find but it's well worth it when you enter the beautiful place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sisackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Vietnamese home food in a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I got invited to have dinner at the restaurant and was surprised of the quality and the authenticity of the food. The restaurant serve dishes that are normally cooked by mums at home. So for those who are interested in what the Vietnamese eat at home, try out this place. It's away from the busy street, has nice setting (very homey) and can provide private room when needed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Haka_Nguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“WOW! Excellent restaurant...will visit again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was my first 'real' Vietnamese food experience and it was DELISH!! My expat friends in Saigon said it was a 'must try' and they were spot on. They eat here at least once a month and the food it EXQUISITE.

Earlier this year, my good friend's sister came to visit. She has a very serious peanut allergy and, when the staff was notified of this, one of the managers (who also happens to have a peanut allergy) came upstairs to take the order personally and guide her through what she could eat on the menu!! WOW!!!

The restaurant itself is stunning and used to be a wealthy family's home. It is so interesting to look into the various rooms and see all the intricate detailing. The flights of stairs with their polished wooden banisters were especially interesting. This would be a perfect place for an engagement proposal. Anyway, I'm not sure what we ate because my friends ordered a bit of everything. All I know is that it was absolutely amazing and I was blown away! Will eat there again! Thank you so much to all the staff!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Southaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing