We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair for fine dining”
Review of Ly Club Saigon

Ly Club Saigon
Ranked #115 of 3,569 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: European, Vietnamese, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set amid a sculpted, neo-modern garden featuring settpaving and a infinity fountain, the classic French colonial-eraLy Club Saigon villa is located in Ho Chi Minh's centralDistrict 3.Wide elliptical arches, original French staircase, classicmodernist furnishings and refined natural colors imbue anatmosphere of relaxed yet cultured elegance in the loungeand dining areas.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We tried this place out at lunch time as we had heard they had a good set menu. They offer two menus - Vietnamese and Western - both sounded good but the Western was a little more to my taste.

The food is elegantly displayed and the three courses were just enough for a light lunch. The drinks were a little over-priced but I guess its expected in 'high-end' restaurants although when you know how much a can coke really costs it can make the bill a little hard to swallow.

The Vietnamese menu was around the 300,000VND mark and the Western at 400,000VND with no drinks.

The French villa in which it runs it a lovely building and they have kept the decor simple and tasteful which is a nice change. I could seen it as an amazing wedding reception location. The outside area is too hot in the afternoon and they don't seem to set it up to be welcoming until the early evening anyway. Makes a shame though as at first you can really tell if its open.

I have seen that they have a Happy Hour - buy 1 get 2 free - which sounds inviting must go back to try it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank VVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalCulinar, General Manager at Ly Club Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear VDeLeo,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our special lunch set menu and the nice feedbck regarding our dining room.

Please be informed that we are now offering a lunch wine selection at 95.000 VND per glass.
Our new Happy Hour concept includes a special Mojito selection with no less than 10 different Mojitos to choose from. 2 for 1 Happy Hour offer between 4pm- 6.30pm and 9.30pm- Closing!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Ly Club Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 255 of 341 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

We went on a Saturday night. They were hosting a wedding and another party upstairs. Despite being very busy we recieved excellent service. The tasting menu for the Vietnamese food was very good. We also had the dessert that has poprocks incorporated into it... must try it! Food was beautifuly presented and tasted amazing. Total bill w/o alcohol was $100 usd.

4  Thank SingaporeJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalCulinar, General Manager at Ly Club Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear SingaporeJoJo,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear you had such a good time with us and enjoyed our cuisine. I'm glad to hear that service was performed well although you were visiting us on a very busy night!

We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

All the best,
Ly Club Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Prices are pretty steep by Vietnam standards, but to the average Western tourist it should be more than affordable. It's not the best place to find authentic pure Vietnamese cuisine, but I still highly recommend it for the Vietnamese-French twist the food has, nice ambience, and impeccable service :)

Some staff members speak decent English but on the whole it can still be improved. Overall a great experience, recommended if you want to have a nice, (relatively more) posh dinner

1  Thank SamuelT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalCulinar, General Manager at Ly Club Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear SamuelT1234,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed the cuisine, service and restaurant ambiance.
We also thank you for your kind feedback, we are always working to improve our standards and service.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Best regards,
Ly Club Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We were part of a 60 person tasting menu dinner in the upstairs dining room. Service was excellent , the food selection covered a broad cross section of Vietnamese cuisine and the food preparation was good (although some guests complained that the duck was under cooked)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Clark00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalCulinar, General Manager at Ly Club Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Clark00,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed the cuisine, service and restaurant ambiance.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

All the best,
Ly Club Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had our final meal in Vietnam at Ly Club and it didn't disappoint. The whole experience was as good as any fine dining experience we have ever had. Sure, it was expensive for Vietnam but very reasonable when compared with western prices. The food was incredible, service was attentive and friendly and the surroundings were awesome. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank jimmy70_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalCulinar, General Manager at Ly Club Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear jimmy70_12,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to post such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the restaurant ambiance, cuisine.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best wishes,
Ly Club Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ly Club Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ly Club Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing