We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel but let down by breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruby River Hotel
Ranked #47 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but let down by breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We picked Ruby River Hotel because of its location in Saigon, and were not disappointed on that front. The staff were all very helpful with directions to various places of interest and spoke very good English. The room was very well equipped and had excellent soundproofing glazing, a bonus in a busy, noisy city like Saigon. There is a shortage of restaurants in the immediate vicinity but there are plenty of higher end restaurants within a 15 min. walk. In the opposite direction, about 15-20 min. walk, there are plenty of very good Eastern And Western eateries in the so called "backpackers" area which offer a very good choice of food at very good prices.
The main negative for us with the Ruby River Hotel was the breakfast which was very much geared to the Eastern palate, for example, Rice gruel and Pigs tail with red beans. The western options were there but very limited.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisx2Leeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    289
    74
    14
    12
See reviews for
88
324
67
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

On first arrival at the Ruby River all seemed nice, the staff were friendly and we were brought a welcome drink to our room. The room itself was spacious, clean and the bathroom was very modern with a good large powerful shower. The only problem is that the room was so noisy! HCMC is a non stop cacophany of beeping horns and traffic (it does ease after midnight but not enough!) But what kept me awake more was the poor soundproofing between rooms, so as soon as someone above or next to you moves, you hear every sound.
Breakfast is not bad,not exciting but with the usual range of noodles, fruit and eggs/toast.
I hardly slept and so my opinion on this hotel is a bit tainted by it but I think if you bring earplugs or are a deep sleeper then this is a nice hotel in a fairly good central location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TillyOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

+ good location
+ very clean and neat
+ good brakfast
+ nice decor and bright large room with a spacious bathroom

- loud music from outside at 6am (there is something like a music school in the neighbourhood)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCZ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I just returned from my stay at Ruby River. My pros and cons are relative to other 3 star hotels I've stayed in while in Vietnam:

Pros:
* Shower - great water pressure, gets really hot
* Later check out time - noon instead of 11 at most places
* Clean throughout

Cons:
* Incredibly hard bed. Most mattresses in Vietnam are firm, but this was like sleeping on a board.
* Paper thin walls. I could clearly hear conversations from the people next door.
* Weak breakfast - few choices, fresh fruit was not fresh, "hot" food was cold at 7:30
* Pushy staff - bellhops expect hefty tips, and they'll just stand around if you don't give one or they think it wasn't enough, despite the fact that any tip is well appreciated at most places.
* Untrustworthy staff - I asked how much to rent a room long enough just to take a shower (I had a midnight flight), and they said there were no rooms, but travel websites disagree. If they didn't want to help me out, they should have just said so rather than lying about it. I called them out on it, and they simply said "sorry sir".
* Location - It's in district 1, but it's a hike to get anywhere except Ben Thanh market.
* Room too hot - your keycard activates the AC, so when you leave, the room gets sweltering hot and takes 30+ minutes to cool back down. (And no, you can't just stick another card like a credit card. The RF tag in the keycard is used to activate).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel. The room we had was nice and good sized, although the bed and pillows were a bit hard. Their breakfast was above par and the staff was very nice. A good solid hotel in a central location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greatbighairybeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was greeted by staff who were eager to help me to my room and assist me with getting about the city. The room was small but very clean and air conditioned. Short walk to Ben Than Market and city sights. Would recommend to anyone after somewhere clean, cool and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is really well positioned within minutes of the Ben Than market. The lobby area and rooms are modern and stylish and had everything you need, safe, tea/coffee, hair dryer. Breakfast was really good with a mix of asian and western food, eggs made to order and even home made yogurt and fruit. The staff were very friendly and go out of there way to make you feel welcome, fresh orange juice on arrival and if you are sitting in the lobby they always make sure you have a glass of water to drink. The rooms were a bit noisy as you could hear quite a bit from the road and the nearby school as well as water rushing through the pipes in the walls?!. I enjoyed my stay here and would be back because of their attention to detail and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#44 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
#50 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Signature Saigon Hotel
Signature Saigon Hotel
#71 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#20 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
#74 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#45 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby River Hotel

Property: Ruby River Hotel
Address: 59-61 Nguyen Thai Binh Street | Nguyen Thai Binh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruby River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether in Ho Chi Minh City for business or leisure, Ruby River Hotel in downtown Saigon is your home away from home. Located within walking distance of District 1's main attractions, this boutique hotel features spacious rooms, and elegant restaurant, friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere. Conveniently located in central Saigon's Ben Thanh and Dong Khoi areas, Ruby River Hotel provides graceful, air conditioned rooms with en suite bathroom and free WiFi. The hotel features a restaurant and a tour desk. Popular HCMC attractions are located nearby. Notre Dame Cathedral, Saigon Opera House, and the War Remnants Museum are all a quick five minute drive away. Tan San Nhat International Airport is just 30 minutes by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Ruby River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing