We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely haven in busy Saigon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon

Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon
Ranked #95 of 2,649 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: "TUI THAI Eatery" is former Monsoon Restaurant and Bar Saigon with one of the same founders. Managed by Thai & Vietnamese-French management team and Thai Chef. Authentic Thai Cuisine from secret home recipes from Bangkok in a relax and fun atmosphere. Outdoor dining Thai BBQ available. Thai Cooking class starts in May 2016. For tour operators, we can provide Vietnamese and Thai Set Menu with special prices. A real local taste of Thai in Saigon!
Shropshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely haven in busy Saigon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We ate here in January 2013 and loved the setting which was cool and elegant. Very nice to be sitting in air con luxury and enjoying great food. Good choice of dishes from all over Indochina. Not cheap but great for a special meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shropshirefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    125
    49
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
all over the world
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food Ok but way too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice place and good service. Food is ok but nothing extraordinary. 6 prawns for 150.000 VND is way to expensive even for a good restaurant in Saigon.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alemantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good, no excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This restaurant is silent and nice to watch. It is difficult to find. Prices are clearly more expensive than most restaurants where we visited in Saigon. Taste of food was good, but it was noot excellent. Ideal for a bit more formal dinner. I was surprised that there was only few people
when we was eating.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Riku V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stylish and Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The menu is split up into regions eg Vietnamese, Cambodian, Thai... The food was soooo good and we found some fabulous dishes that we had not seen before. Upstairs, they have a great kids' play area, including a large blackboard wall and heaps of toys - you can sit at a table right near if you have kids. Monsoon also sells some fabulous merchandise from local producers, including good quality cushion covers and teatowels with black and white photos of "old Saigon," and some yummy jams. They also have a really good wine list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mammakelstarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A modern approach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a good choice for something a bit different without leaving Vietnamese cuisine. The catfish with mango was delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PJN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing