We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, no excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon

Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon
No.1, Cao Ba Nha, Nguyen Cu Trinh ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
84862908899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 2,536 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: "TUI THAI Eatery" is former Monsoon Restaurant and Bar Saigon with one of the same founders. Managed by Thai & Vietnamese-French management team and Thai Chef. Authentic Thai Cuisine from secret home recipes from Bangkok in a relax and fun atmosphere. Outdoor dining Thai BBQ available. Thai Cooking class starts in May 2016. For tour operators, we can provide Vietnamese and Thai Set Menu with special prices. A real local taste of Thai in Saigon!
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good, no excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This restaurant is silent and nice to watch. It is difficult to find. Prices are clearly more expensive than most restaurants where we visited in Saigon. Taste of food was good, but it was noot excellent. Ideal for a bit more formal dinner. I was surprised that there was only few people
when we was eating.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Riku V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    125
    47
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stylish and Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The menu is split up into regions eg Vietnamese, Cambodian, Thai... The food was soooo good and we found some fabulous dishes that we had not seen before. Upstairs, they have a great kids' play area, including a large blackboard wall and heaps of toys - you can sit at a table right near if you have kids. Monsoon also sells some fabulous merchandise from local producers, including good quality cushion covers and teatowels with black and white photos of "old Saigon," and some yummy jams. They also have a really good wine list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mammakelstarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A modern approach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a good choice for something a bit different without leaving Vietnamese cuisine. The catfish with mango was delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PJN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“SE Asian oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Set slightly back off the street with a charming little front lawn, Monsoon provides a little oasis of relaxation from the frenetic HCMC bustle. The atmosphere is what really makes this place so great. Lovely decoration and little extras like a kiddies area, small gift shop and body shop hand lotions in the bathroom are what make this place unique and special. The menu also sets it apart with such an interesting offering of SE Asian delights however the thing that I was most impressed by was the drinks menu...wow! A huge wine menu and fantastic range of beer on offer as well as delicious juices and smoothies. This is by far the best drinks menu that I have seen at a restaurant in HCMC. The food was good without being extraordinary but we only tried a few dishes and we will certainly be going back to sample a few more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WillieVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Attractive Concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I ate here with a friend based on a listing in the back of The Word. The restaurant has good interior design with a Thai-style table, a hanging clear Plexiglass chair, and graphic word art on the walls. The menu spans the range of Southeast Asia and it was really fun to have such a variety of cuisines in one restaurant. The cocktails are gourmet and actually worth the nearly 200,000 dong. My meal was tasty, but not original. It was a faithful copy of what it was supposed to be. The restaurant listing called this a fusion restaurant, but I think not, I believe it serves the exact classic versions of the dishes as would be served in their countries. I definitely recommend the restaurant for its style. It had quite a romantic feel to it with candlelight and nice service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank honeybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing