We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place & good food”
Review of Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon - CLOSED

Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Burmese, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: "TUI THAI Eatery" is former Monsoon Restaurant and Bar Saigon with one of the same founders. Managed by Thai & Vietnamese-French management team and Thai Chef. Authentic Thai Cuisine from secret home recipes from Bangkok in a relax and fun atmosphere. Outdoor dining Thai BBQ available. Thai Cooking class starts in May 2016. For tour operators, we can provide Vietnamese and Thai Set Menu with special prices. A real local taste of Thai in Saigon!
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice place & good food”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Still want more taste of Khmer food as i just backed frommCambodia somi decided to visit there. The restaurant is very nice, it feel like a villa in the middle of busy, hustle HCMc, from the extorior with beautiful courtyart to unique chair & bar are really impressive. But the most stunning thing is the food, you must trybthe Pomelo salad & Fish Amok. Last time i tried Amok is when i was in Siem Reap & it doesn't meet my expectation but in Monsoon, the Amok (served in a coconut) is full of flavour & so tasty. My partner have Beef Lok Lak & Cream caramel for desert & she was happy of them. 1 appertizer, 2 main, 2 deserts came with 700k. The only negative side is that the main dishes didn't come out at the same time, my dish came after my partner's 5min but it was fine for me.

Helpful?
2 Thank tamali71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    124
    49
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“beautiful place and beautiful food.......”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Was here recently with a few friends and had a great time.

Enter via a cute little garden and the decor is lovely and has a great ambiance and the staff are awesome. Good english and always happy to help out recommending dishes if you are unsure.

The menu is a reasonable size and covers most of SE Asia in its influences. You'll see Vietnamese, Thai, Cambodian, Myanmar and Malay dishes plus a few more.

The food tastes delicious and is of a high quality. The cocktail and wine list is good and the prices for all are fairly reasonable.

This is more of a high end restaurant but doesn't feel pretentious. Great to go here with friends or your loved one.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, cosy Restaurant”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Inexpensive great food, very cosy and very friendly staff. ....going back for seconds.....Love the place

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MopLures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fab Food”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This restaurant wasn't far from our hotel (Beautiful Saigon 3) so we decided to visit on our last night and we definitely weren't disappointed.

The restaurant itself was lovely and the staff were very friendly.

Our food was gorgeous, there was different cuisines to try from, including Cambodian, Thai, Burmese and of course Vietnamese - you could pick from any part of the menu for each course. They also had a lovely specials menu.

The food was very inexpensive and for what we had was fab value for money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thedistancekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Really excellent restaurant with delicious food, great service and very reasonable prices. Best meal I've had anywhere in Vietnam. Owner came to our table and had a chat. Fantastic place !

Helpful?
1 Thank SiJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Restaurant & Bar Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing