We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngoc Phan Guest House
Ranked #80 of 891 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Feeling at home”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We chose the guest house after reading all the reviews on it and were so happy with it. The owner family and their staff is so friendly and they speak very good english. They helped whereever possible and really made us feel welcome. The rooms are nice and have everything they need, the neighbourhood is great, with many bars and restaurants around and in walking distance of all the sights. And since the guest house is at the end of a dead end alley it is actually really quiet. This is one of the biggest values, when travelling the big cities in Vietnam. Usually we slept with earplugs but this was not necessary here. After a long day touring the city, we loved coming back to our guest house, feeling at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarolinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Room was basic but had everything we needed!
The staff were very friendly and helpful!
Great location in District 1, walking distance to all the main restaurants/bars/sights.
Breakfast was included and was very good, I had a fresh bread roll with omelette and a few small bananas and juice!
Great budget accommodation! Highly recommended! :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleFysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed a week in this Guesthouse and found it as excellent Value for this low price. The rooms are plain but have all the facility you need eg Fridge, Air-con and Bathroom with big shower.
The rooms are very clean actually the whole Guest House is very clean. Asian way no wearing of shoes inside the House !
The breakfast is plain and consist of a bread roll, jam and margarine with the option of omelette, eggs sunny side up or scrambled. Tea and coffee and fruit.
The owner is very helpful and most important of all he speaks fluently English which you find not so often here in Vietnam.
The location is at the end of a little Cul de Sac from the most busy street in District 1 which is the place to be. Due to being at the end of this little side road the rooms are quiet.
Plenty restaurants in the vicinity to sit inside or on the pavement.
The area is home of most backpackers visiting HCMC with travel and tour operators on every corner.
We tried in this week we stayed to establish what decides tourist young and old to visit HCMC and could not find one reason to do so. There are no real sightseeing spots except some leftovers from the Vietnam war and these get off course very one sided put on to you by the current socialistic party in power.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the double bedroom on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Axel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I had a really good stay at this budget family run guest house , it was very clean & good value for money . The owners were very nice people & helped whenever they could & really seem to enjoy doing what they do !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winnit73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Ngoc Phan is a really nice guesthouse run by a nice family. It lies in a very quit alley from a big street with lots of shops and bars.
The family is very helpful. If you wanna book a trip, taxi or see stuff around Saigon. They will always help you and give good advice.
The rooms are very clean, with good airco (not blowing straight on the bed), a nice shower and great beds. We had 3 different rooms (we kept coming back from trips to Mekong and Cambodja) and they were all very good!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenJ2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Excellent location right in the hustle and bustle of backpacker area District 1. Down a little alley away from the noise, had excellent nights sleep (stayed 3 nights on top floor). Very clean and comfortable. Mr Phan Huy Chau was always helpful recommending restaurants and places to visit. Tommy who worked in the evenings was also very pleasant and helpful. I especially enjoyed the omlette, roll & lemon drink for breakfast each morning kept us going all day!

Room Tip: If you aren't fit try not to book top floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We felt welcome from the moment we arrived. The owner was welcoming and hospitable and couldn't do more for us. He brought us up to our room which to our delight was squeaky clean, big and air conditioned. Bathroom was very modern too, and there was a fridge and cable TV. Breakfast was nice with a good selection and nice coffee. Owner booked us some tours and recommended places to eat and things to do. Would stay again, it's in the centre of Saigon but is completely quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingonaprayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#174 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#29 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saigon Inn Hotel
Saigon Inn Hotel
#4 of 891 in Ho Chi Minh City
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hoai Pho Hotel
Hoai Pho Hotel
#67 of 891 in Ho Chi Minh City
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yen Trang 2
Hotel Yen Trang 2
#28 of 891 in Ho Chi Minh City
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room @ Saigon
Room @ Saigon
#91 of 891 in Ho Chi Minh City
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoc Phan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Phan Guest House

Property: Ngoc Phan Guest House
Address: 35/12 Bui Vien Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 891 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ngoc Phan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing