We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Comfortable Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights. I was very happy with the service, staff, and the accommodation! Even though i had a quite difficult time talking to the reception, i felt that they mean the best service. The breakfast was just fine, I had a good time with my roommates. The room was comfortable, the shower room was nice. The reception did booked my tours, bus transfers, very convenient! Highly recommended hostel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 442 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

I have stayed here for many months, the Phan Anh hostel is by far and away the best hostel worldwide. The service ,the quality and the cleanlyness is first class. The staff are extremely friendly with nothing too much trouble. At the Phan Anh hostel you are not a customer you are a family member. Thats why I call it a home away from home.
Derek.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in both dorm and twin rooms. Both very clean and well kept. The staff were friendly and nothing was ever too much. The included breakfast of sandwiches and iced coffee was excellent.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I spent 6 nights in a double room here. Everything was great.
Firstly, the accomadtion equipment met my satisfaction. A spacious room with strong A/C, clean bathroom, cable TV, mini fridge, soft bed. And one thing i like most is that it very quiet at night. Secondly, the staffs very hospitable. They sat down and talk with me, enjoyed the show on TV with me.They made me feel like a family.Very kind of them to gave me lot of advices where to go, thing to do. Thank you the boy who helps me the way to Cu Chi tunel by local bus.Very detail information about the bus station, fee, time of last bus, where to catch the bus. Two girls so lovely and talkative :)
Moreover, it is located on the packbacker area, very easy to enjoy nightlife here with many restauranst, bars, coffee shops, ...many famous places is nearby, for example Ben Thanh market, War museum is close.
However, the wifi at the ground floor is very good but on upper floor is a little weak. But it's okay. Breakfast is so nice and i can change my choice every day but i felt that the chef is not enthusiastic when cooking. Maybe he was waken up early in the morning.
Everything in here make my days in HCMC.
If you have no plans yet for your stay, like we did, Phan Anh hostel is the best choice.
Love you guys and i would love to be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. I stayed in the 8 bed female dorm which was spotlessly clean. My towel and sheets were changed regulary. The hostel staff were very helpful helping me with boooking a bus and boat ticket to Phu Quoc. The manager was very kind too. I wasn't leaving Ho Chi Minh City until 10pm on the night bus so they let me have a shower before I left which I thought was a nice touch.

The hostel is in the backpacker district so very near to a variety of bars and restaurants. It is only a 20 minute walk to the other main sights.

I am returning to Ho Chi Minh City in a few days and I have already booked two nights at this hostel.

Room Tip: The 8 bed female dorm room is nice. The room and bathroom are cleaned every day. The room has air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfie917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We are couple, visiting Ho Chi Minh City for first time from 9/5/2014 to 12/5/2014.

I would like to say BIG "Thank you" to all the staffs of Phan Anh Hostel, especially receptionist who has been very helpful, kind, trustworthy and do not mind going extra miles making things are alright for you. They had make my first trip to Ho Chi Minh City with great memories and wanting to come back visit again.

The location of the hostel is great as it is not just next to a market open in the morning, 5 minutes walk to the night hangout area and yet provided you a quite and comfortable environment for good sleep as it is away from the noisy nightspot area.

We have opted for twin bedroom and though facilities rather basic. it comes with refrigerator, air-cond, attached bathroom, window view, TV, closet, two chairs and a small table and plenty wall socket for you to juice up your gadgets. That is exactly what we only need, any extra is a waste for us.

We had the one day trip to Mekong Delta and a half day trip to Chu Chi Tunnel, which we had signed up with the Hostel itself. It is so convenience that we didn't waste time searching for them. Not to mentioned taxis to airport. Everything is well handled by the receptionist.

Basic breakfast keep you warm in the morning so you don't feel starving.

The cleanliness is superb and amazed by it. Hostel environment is good. You got a money charger next door.

I highly recommend if you are on a budget, or no specific idea where to stay and etc... Do drop by and visit them.

Room Tip: It is not just a hostel, it has a twin bedroom with attached bathroom charging at a reasonable price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimFooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My trip to HCMC didn't start well. When I turned up at my chosen hostel it was shut due to plumbing/electric problems so I was led to a TERRIBLE hostel (Ms Thu - do NOT stay there). So, the following morning I set out and found Phan Anh and all of my problems slipped away. It's excellent, the staff are amazingly helpful and speak enough English to help you out with almost anything you need and are very friendly. The rooms are great and have ferocious (but controllable) a/c and every dorm has an en-suite. There is a lift to all floors. Rooms are made daily and the sheets look and smell clean. Beds are a bit hard but that's standard in Vietnam. It's location in District 1 is right in the heart of the backpacker district and you can walk to all the major sights. Breakfast is actually pretty good with a range of options. I spent three nights there and went on a full day trip and the total bill was just over £20. Bargain. I can't recommend this place enough, book it/stay there with confidence. If I head back to HCMC I'm staying her again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 761 in Ho Chi Minh City
752 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#8 of 761 in Ho Chi Minh City
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Town House 23 Saigon
Town House 23 Saigon
#3 of 761 in Ho Chi Minh City
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon Center
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon C...
#14 of 761 in Ho Chi Minh City
174 reviews
0 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong Quynh
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong...
#9 of 761 in Ho Chi Minh City
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel 2
New Saigon Hostel 2
#20 of 761 in Ho Chi Minh City
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel

Address: 373/6 Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 761 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $10 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phan Anh Hostel is located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City and backpacking area. The Hostel located on the Pham Ngu lao Str. There are many tourists attractive nearby: Ben Thanh Market, Sai Gon River, Notre Dame, Post office, Reunification palace, War museum, Banks (ATM), Booking offices, bars and coffee shops and shopping centers. Phan Anh Hostel has cozy rooms, all the room has window with well and modern facilities such as: Elevator, Air condition, Hot water, Free Wifi in the room, Internet free, welcome drink including also have the common room with many games for you relax during the trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing