We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, super clean hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, super clean hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hostel was the cleanest I stayed in in South East Asia. Towels and large lockers included. More like a big hotel room with bunk beds. Very friendly and helpful staff. Only downside is no hang out area, but this is hard to come by in Ho Chi Minh. Great location right amongst the backpacker scene but down a quiet (and well lit) side street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHangTruong, Owner at Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Lucy S

Warmest greatings from Phan Anh backpackers Hostel Ho Chi Minh.

Thank you very much for choosing our hostel for your stay at Ho Chi Minh City. We have read your comments about the hostel and we're very happy and appreciate to take the time to write a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

We're look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again near future!

Many Thank with Warmest Regards,
Ms Hang & All Staffs
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Ho Chi Minh City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    123
    28
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
93
146
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hostel is beyond amazing! We arrived in Vietnam and had to get our visa's which took us a little longer than expected (2 hours). We had booked taxi services from this hostel to pick us up and to our surprise, the taxi driver was right outside the airport waiting for us! We told him what had happened and he told us that the lady (Ms. Hang) at the hostel told him not to go anywhere until we were picked up because she had checked our flight and knew that we had landed.
Upon arrival at the hostel, we were greeted with a welcome drink (fruit drink) and a warm hello. Ms. Hang is the woman who took care of us and she is absolutely wonderful. She spoke to us about checking our flights and was delighted to finally see us safe at the hostel. Within 10 minutes of checking in, she was able to book all of our activities, buses, and accomodations for our stay in Vietnam. She was very sweet and speaks very good English. She even offered us storage for our luggage on the day of our flight back home (there was a few hours gap between check out and flight). The hostel was clean, neat, and included free breakfast! It's also located a block away from all the hot bars and shopping centers.

I would definitely come back here and reccommend anybody else going to Vietnam to come here as well. I've stayed in hotels and hostels all throughout Vietnam and this hostel offered the best service, hands down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleolcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHangTruong, Owner at Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Littleolcee,

Warmest Greatings from Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel Ho Chi Minh.

We would like to say thank you very much for writing a lovely reviews about our hostel. Absolutely, we have been delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and Hopefully, we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Many Thanks and Warmest Regards,
Ms Hang & All Staffs
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Ho Chi Minh City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great Hotel/Hostel. I went on a tour of the Mekong and on my return found out i couldn't stay at their sister hotel (Seventy Hotel). I has not booked a hotel at all this trip to Vietnam. They gave me a discount and had someone drive me to the Phan Anh. I stayed there a few nights before going to Hoi An. This hotel was just as good, big firm bed, good quality showers and a very nice breakfast included in the price. This or their sister hotel will now be my first stop after arriving in Ho Chi Minh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHangTruong, Owner at Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Paul P,

Warmest Thank You from Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel.

On behalf of our all staffs, I would like to say thank you very much for your stay at our hostel and take your value time to write great comments about our hostel on TripAdvisor. It has been our pleasure to welcome friendly and nice guest as you.

Hopefully, we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Many Thanks & Kindly Regards,
Ms Hang & All Staffs at Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Ho Chi Minh City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

An amazing hostel for backpackers and travellers looking for cheap places to stay in HCMC. Clean, friendly staff, easy-going atmosphere, comfortable beds, good location, breakfast... ALL for less than $10!

I really enjoyed my stay at HCMC and the main reason is because of Phan Anh Hostel. The staff also recommended me some tours to go to, and they were great as well.

Can't recommend Phan Anh more. Definitely the best hostel I stayed in during my trip to Vietnam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShunYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHangTruong, Owner at Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear ShunYang,

Warmest greatings from Phan Anh backpackers Hostel Ho Chi Minh.

Thank you very much for choosing our hostel for your stay at Ho Chi Minh City. We have read your comments about the hostel and we're very happy and appreciate to take the time to write a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

We're look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again near future!

Many Thank and Warmest Regards,
Ms Hang & All Staffs
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Ho Chi Minh City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

i and my wife stayed 2night in this hotel. beside clean and quiet hostel the price was affordable. wifi also available. it really good idea from the owner to kept our paspor to avoid lost it. staff and owner were very friendly and always willing to help us from booking the tours, giving a direction to any nice place and nice vietnam restaurant "pho".

Room Tip: face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yi Shen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHangTruong, Owner at Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Yi Shen T,

Warmest greatings from Phan Anh backpackers Hostel Ho Chi Minh.

Thank you very much for choosing our hostel for your stay in Ho Chi Minh. We have read your comments about the hostel and we're very happy and appreciate that you took the time to write your review on Tripadvisor.
We're look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again near future!

Many Thank and Warmest Regards,
Ms Hang & All Staffs at Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Ho chi Minh City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Binh Dinh, Vietnam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Me and my colleagues arrived there and where quickly checked in by very friendly staff.

There was 6 beds in our room and the beds where very comfortable, each bed had its own light and electrical plug nice if you want to read, charge you phone or use your laptop to skype back home.

They also provided each one of us with a locker to keep our stuff safe and sound.

The only short comings i had was that some days there where no towels i assumed that they where taken to be cleaned but we did not see them again till the next evening and also considering there where six if us in a room there was not really enough hot water for a shower all the time but then again its so hot there you don't really need a hot shower in all honesty.

We also had breakfast included it was ok once you knew what to order i recommend the fried noodles with a egg.

The staff where very friendly and always willing to help us from booking tours to giving us directions and advice.

They do have an elevator and offer laundry service however i did not have a chance to use it.

Just around the corner from the hostel there is what me and my friends started to call the food corner. There you can find anything from Sushi to pho to Dumplings(the dumplings where simply divine the best i have ever tasted) to banh my's even.

This being said i would go back to Phan Anh any time and recommend it to all budget travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHangTruong, Owner at Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Francois S,

Warmest greatings from Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel.

I would like to have a chance via TripAdvisor to say thank you very much for your nice review about our hostel. I will share your feedback to all my staffs. Anyway, I will remind my hostel's cleaner about the towel.

Hopefully, we will have another chance to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Many Thanks & Kindly Regards,
Ms Hang & Staff at Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Ho Chi Minh City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days, the rooms were clean, we felt extremely safe with our belongings The breakfast was delicious! The staff was very nice and had great English and were helpful! Great location!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charkrones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHangTruong, Owner at Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Charkrones,

Warmest greatings from Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel Ho Chi Minh

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City as well as spend your valuable time to write a great review for us.
Hopefully, we will have another chance to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Many Thanks & Kindly Regards,
Ms Hang & Staff at Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Ho Chi Minh City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
30.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#37 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
28.7 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#36 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
30.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#2 of 514 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 mi away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#10 of 514 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
30.0 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 514 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
30.1 mi away
Town House 23 Saigon
Town House 23 Saigon
#4 of 514 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel

Property: Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Address: 373/6 Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 514 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phan Anh Hostel is located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City and backpacking area. The Hostel located on the Pham Ngu lao Str. There are many tourists attractive nearby: Ben Thanh Market, Sai Gon River, Notre Dame, Post office, Reunification palace, War museum, Banks (ATM), Booking offices, bars and coffee shops and shopping centers. Phan Anh Hostel has cozy rooms, all the room has window with well and modern facilities such as: Elevator, Air condition, Hot water, Free Wifi in the room, Internet free, welcome drink including also have the common room with many games for you relax during the trip ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing