We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weasel/cat-poop coffee is a scam, but when in Rome...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trung Nguyen Coffee

Trung Nguyen Coffee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Weasel/cat-poop coffee is a scam, but when in Rome...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

These bright, clean, modern cafes with a/c are ubiquitous. Call it Nambucks. Steeply overpriced but the provide a nice wifi'd get away from the dusty streets.
The Legendee comes as a fancy presentation, but ironically tasted like urine, not poop. I remember it to be delicious on my last visit to Vietnam, tho I hear the delicate storage requirements for this bean get neglected, so it just tasted like cheap, bad coffee. Tho admittedly, the regular #3 sua da was sublime. TN is simply a must when you come to Nam.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    153
    44
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fantastic coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

all nice just ice water served with coffee was not good at all but service and friendly staff will definitely take me on my next trip

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank feyayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cafe at junction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The waiters are courteous. When I asked him about their drip on coffee, he patiently explain how to get it done.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kweekhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went in several of the Trung Nguyen coffee shops during our week in HCMC and found them to be consistently very good.
They are clean, comfortable, air-conditioned, with prompt waiter service, and serve really good coffee, fresh juices, cakes and ice creams. Perfect for a break from sight-seeing and shopping!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OrkneyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Coffee break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

For those who were accustomed to the variety offered by western coffee chains you will be disappointed by limited coffee drinks at this coffee shop but the simplicity of the menu is in itself a break from the usual and gives you the chance to just experience coffee at its simplest form!

Experience vietnam coffee freshly percolated whether warm or iced, as is or with condensed milk! They offer humble coffee at its best without any false pretense.

Yum!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pet_mendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trung Nguyen Coffee also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Trung Nguyen Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing