We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in District 7” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scott and Binh's - CLOSED

Scott and Binh's
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Scott and Binh's is permanently closed. If it ever does open back up, Scott and Duc have nothing to do with it. Sincerely, Scott Marquis
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jewel in District 7”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Scott and Binh's is a find in District 7. Great food and relaxed friendly atmosphere. The owner, Scott, always very attentive, ensuring your dining experience is excellent. Great place for children and adults alike. Go for a happy hour and/or dinner, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Tina F, thanks for coming by and taking the time write us a review here on TA. As we have a family ourselves, we welcome families here at Scott and Binh's. My thought is if we can help have the children have a good time, then we will see the whole family back again :) Hope to see you and the family again when you have time. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott and Duc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    70
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Out of town.............but worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

From the minute I called up to make a reservation till we were put in a taxi home we were made very welcome and looked after.
The menu is extensive and also has specials of the month to choose from wasn't easy as every looked good!
We chose nachos to start followed by the Scotts lamb carbonara and chicken sandwich with a honey mustard dressing which were all delicious. We did say the best till last ordering a snickers tart which was divine!
All in all a great experience with wonderful staff. It also makes a change to be out of the city in the quieter suburbs where you see a completely different side of Ho Chi Minh

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barneymum58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Barneymum58, thanks for coming by and then taking the time to write us a review here on TA. Our goal is to give all of our guests "a break". Whether you live here in HCMC, or are visiting, sometimes some comfort food, in a quiet area, with friendly staff is just what the doctor ordered. We are all glad that you felt taken care of here. Please drop by again if you are in HCMC. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott and Duc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We had Christmas Day supper and it was a fantastic dining experience. The food was delicious- turkey cooked beautifully and all the trimmings were yum and also cooked to perfection. Scott is such a great host. It was a pleasure meeting him. He was even kind enough to help us out with a restaurant for NYE in Hoi An. I would strongly recommend this restaurant and we hope to visit again one day. Wishing Scott and Binhs every success.

Helpful?
Thank JennyandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi Jennyandalex, it was nice to meet you and your friend at Christmas. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on TA. We all worked very hard to feed everyone a taste of home(well, American home cooking ;) at Christmas. We always try to make people feel at home, and it sounds like we did our job again. I hope you had fun in Hoi An, and are enjoying the rest of your holiday. Safe travels, and thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott and Duc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This restaurant is popular especially with expats. The management is very friendly and staff confident and even remember your likes and dislikes. I am not American so don't understand the need for such large plates of food. Was invited for nye celebration and was appalled at the food provided. First off something positive. The pumpkin cake for dessert was moist and delicious. The main was a huge rectangular plate full of mounds of grey/brown barely warm food. It looked
Very unappetising. The turkey at one end was OK, the stuffing would have been nice if hot. The potato mash was lumpy and tasteless. The only thing on the plate left in its natural state was the corn kernals. There were several other mixed veg things which don't bear thinking about. It reminded me of the TV show MASH where the food was scooped and plonked randomly on the plates. I was embarrassed trying to eat until my companions commented too. Want to go back as i suspect individual orders will be better. Can't understand the high ranking though.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi Lorraine S, thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on TA. Sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us. We all work very hard to keep our guests happy, but the reality is that we can't please everyone all the time. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott and Duc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“24th Dec 2013 - Christmas Eve Dinner...Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I like to thank Scott and his team of chefs for preparing this special, delicious and awesome Christmas dinner dishes on the eve on Dec 24th 2013.
I and my wife enjoyed the varieties of dishes in the platter.
The combination of the 8 types of selected dishes were rich in colour, aroma, touch and taste.
Its worth the effort and visit Scotts & Binh's to have a memorable dinner with selected house wines of your choice in the menu to add value to your culinary experience.
To say it in one word, it has to be "Scotts & Binh's".
The place is full of splendor, food is great taste, price is reasonable and service is commendable and extra ordinary.
I give a score of 4.5 over a rating of 5. Sure, I recommend this restaurant to my family and friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gobalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi Gobalan, it was nice to meet you and your wife and friend on Christmas eve. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on TA. We all worked very hard to try and make everyone feel at home for the holidays, and your kind words show us that it was not in vain. Hope to see you again soon for a chat. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott and Duc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scott and Binh's also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing