We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will return!”
Review of Scott and Binh's - CLOSED

Scott and Binh's
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Scott and Binh's is permanently closed. If it ever does open back up, Scott and Duc have nothing to do with it. Sincerely, Scott Marquis
Reviewed December 7, 2013

In the past year we’ve lived in Vietnam, my wife and i have frequented Scott and Binhs at least weekly. I will honestly say, we have never had a bad meal or bad experience, for that matter. The food is always fresh, with generous potions, pleasing to the palate and always above and beyond expectations. The atmosphere is warm, welcoming and relaxing. Daily dealing with the chaos and grind of Ho Chi Minh City life, Scott and Binhs is a little island of serenity which is off the beaten path. A little piece of Americana, tucked away in quiet Phu My Hung. If you go, I promise you, you will not be disappointed and you WILL return. Scott will even remember your name!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Saigon-Cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Hi Saigon Cyclist, thanks for your continued support, and taking the time to write us a review here on TA. It's always a pleasure to have you both over as our guests. Make sure to let us know if we are not living up to your expectations at any time. See you both again soon. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy eating, Scott and Duc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Scott and Binh's
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 120 of 306 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

After 8 years in Saigon of handing over outrageous sums of money for mediocre Thanksgiving meals at the big name hotels, I can easily say......this was the best TG meal I've had for a fraction of the cost. The turkey was fantastic as was all the trimmings! And the green bean casserole was a surprise...almost as good as my mother used to make :) but great all the same. I won't rave on and on about the meal but I do hope Scott will continue the tradition. It was spot on, the best in town in my humble opinion. Thank you, Scott for an excellent meal just like mom would've cooked!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SaigonMangoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hi SaigonMangoMan, thanks for the continued support and taking the time to write us a review here on TA. We don't do all the Holidays, but being American, I do take great pride in putting on a good spread for Thanksgiving. Really glad you enjoyed it, and I won't tell your mom about what you said ;-) We will be doing a similar feast for Christmas Eve and Christmas this year, and for Thanksgiving next year for sure. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott and Duc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Bar and restaurant with nice atmosphere. Owner and staff are very friendly and attentive.Had drinks there on a few evenings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank euxtonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hi euxtonal, thanks for stopping by and taking the time to write us a review here on TA. We try to take care of all of our guests and make them feel like they are "at home". Please stop by again the next time you are in HCMC. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott and Duc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Wonderful....went today with a friend as he had to this place many times. The food and the service is really very good. The Sunday brunch is lovely with so many options. Good for a vegetarian as well.
We went late so not much crowded else a better idea would be to book a table in advance.

1  Thank MS-75-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hi manojsaxena, thanks for coming over with Mr. A and family, and then taking the time to write us a review here on TA. I see that my lovely wife Duc and all of the staff, both front and back of the house took good care of you while I was home playing with our daughter :) Hopefully next time I will have more time to talk and meet your family. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott and Duc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We went to Scott and Binh´s tonight and absolutely loved it. An absolute must if living in Saigon and want to get somewhere quiet, talk English and enjoy lovely home cooking (as lovely as Vietnamese food is you can get a bit tired of noodles and rice). We left completely full and satisfied with both service and food. We will definitely come again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ThelmaBjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expatguy67, Owner at Scott and Binh's, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hi ThelmaBjork, thanks for coming by and then taking the time to write us a review here on TA. Sounds like we were all doing our jobs properly when you visited us ;-) Whether you live here in HCMC, or are passing through, we want to be that "break" from all the amazing Vietnamese food when you need one. What's nice is that we have everyone coming here, and we are also an introduction to quality Western food for our local Vietnamese guests. Looking forward to seeing you again when you have time. Thanks again from all of us at Scott and Binh's. Peace and Happy Eating, Scott and Duc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scott and Binh's also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing