We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , great staff !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saigon Backpackers Hostel at Bui Vien
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location of this hostel is the best - in the middle of the backpacker area yet in a quiet street , everything is within a short walk.
The staff were friendly and very helpful about every question and every concern , they were all young with good knowledge in english and knew what to recommend.
The room was fine - comfy bed and working ac/wifi
And for the bonus - free coffee in the morning and computers in the lobby

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grishgori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, checked into a dorm. I got a big surprise the room was very very clean and of course the bathroom. 4 beds dorm was perfect with fully air- conditoned even though the room too small, but it's just great for not fit in too many people in the dorm, you can easy to make new friend, talk with each other.
The bed was extremely CLEAN and I like the bed so much, I slept well for whole night, comfortable bed. Good location with just right in middle of the street, right opposite with local Vietnamese groceries shop, you can easily buy something with cheap price and the local was friendly if you buy from them... to add on, the 333 beer from the grocery shop just only 7000 - 10,000 VND, cheap beer you can drink for whole day.:-)

Staff was friendly and helpful, enjoyed my stayed here, if you plan to visit HCM city, stay here.

Room Tip: Dorm. Trust me, clean room with snowy bed sheet and you'll like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThianWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Enjoyed my stay here. Good location. Booked a private single room and was okay. Comfortable bed and clean but on the small side and no window. Aircon worked well as did wifi and hot water. Breakfast was simple but tasty and quick! Phung (one of the girls working here) was lovely and made my stay very enjoyable. Was very helpful and generally just nice company! Street food in the alley was delicious and the Vietnamese ladies were lovely

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

It's the worst hostel that i've ever been. My Ipad 4 was stolen from inside the locker with lock inside the room with key, the answer of the recepcionist was: it's a risk you must assume! Nobody helped me neither apologized.

Treatment is lousy, the a/c doesn't work, the laundry service return me back just as dirty clothes.

Also it's dirty, the recepcionist dowsn't speak english, Better not to mention breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxferretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a great stay here, 2 nights. The dorm rooms were small, 4 beds per room, with air con! Very clean, staff are super friendly and will help set up tours for you. Free breakfast that is prepared and served to you is a huge plus! Good too- bread, cheese, vegetables, fruit, noodles, tea and coffee. Nice simple start to your day in a crazy hectic city. The location is great, right on backpackers street and close to all the sights. Really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: The stairs are so so steep. If you have a big bag ask for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice hostel, cheap, and cozy even the room and bathroom is clean. dorm is equipped with AC and hot and cold water in bathroom. everything is nice except the kitchen which is a little bit dirty. but i did not regret stay in this hostel ^^d

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kipajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Several reasons for being disappointed with this hotel. For one, we asked for a airport pick up (willing to pay additional USD14 for it), never came. Their site said that for USD12 a night I get a 4 bed dorm type room with free breakfast - when we got there, we were sharing the room at USD8 per person which came out more expensive than if I got a private room for 2 at USD15.

Before the end of day 1, we found another hotel (Saigon Backpackers Hostel) and paid the same price (USD16) for a private room. Better location and more efficient service there.

If you're a serious backpacker, then you will be ok with this place. Its clean and decent. But what got me irritated were the lapses in their service and the wrong information they gave in their site. You're better off someplace else that will be more honest in dealing with you.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#3 of 686 in Ho Chi Minh City
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town House 23 Saigon
Town House 23 Saigon
#2 of 686 in Ho Chi Minh City
239 reviews
30.1 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#6 of 686 in Ho Chi Minh City
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon Center
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon C...
#8 of 686 in Ho Chi Minh City
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong Quynh
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong...
#16 of 686 in Ho Chi Minh City
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham...
#23 of 686 in Ho Chi Minh City
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Backpackers Hostel at Bui Vien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Backpackers Hostel at Bui Vien

Address: 241/32 Pham Ngu Lao | Ward Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Saigon Youth Hostel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 686 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $11 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saigon Backpackers Hostel at Bui Vien 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Bui Vien We are new brand hostel Ho chi minh city, Vietnam, located right in the backpacker area, Pham Ngu Lao street. It will save your time due to all top attractions are nearby our hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Saigon Backpackers Hostel at Bui Vien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing