We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Thien Phuc Hotel
Ranked #413 of 835 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Quimper, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel.
The first 3 nights were ok, triple room for 21$ per night (2 people) without breakfast.
The last night they asked/ordered us to move to another room on the 6th (lift until 5th floor) at 8pm for an old couple.
Firstly they overbooked our room without advising us before and secondly they lied about the new room, supposed to be the same.
Small double bedroom, the sink was stuck, smelly room, much more noisy than the first one (side of the street with nightclubs) and everything for the same price...

We decided to complain about that because we accepted to change to be nice and they finally just try to rip us up.
We ask for a significant discount, we had to fight almost 1 hour.
The staff understood our position, but not the manager who wasn't happy and btw who didn't speak english.
Without speaking vietnamese, I know what she said about us to the staff wasn't nice at all with killer's eyes and she was expected us to check out at 8pm even if we booked since 4 days because she simply didn't care about us.

Room Tip: The next street, more tiny has a lot of choice for a better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Breizhtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
1
16
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Took local bus from airport (.25 cents) and dropped off only a few block away from this Soi.
Been to Saigon before so I knew the general rates and standards. As soon as I saw it, at $17, realized the value and dropped my backpack. No point wasting time wandering around to save a $1-$2 for what you get here.

The place was renovated in September 2012 and they do have lift now. Lovely clean lobby and two PCs in the common area.

Spacious room, clean, ceramic tiles, 32' flat screen, double bed. Restaurants everywhere, and the loud backpacker drinking area is just a couple blocks away so you can still get a good night sleep if you don't want to stay out.

Would easily stay here again.

WARNING WARNING WARNING!!!!
Saigon in notorious for "cowboy" motor bike snatch and grab. And pick pockets. Leave your passport with the front desk and don't carry more money than you need for the night.
Ladies ->> leave your purse in the room or in the hotel safe. Anything you carry, purse, handbag, camera should be strapped around your neck and even then, these motorbike ninjas may still attempt it, knocking you down and breaking the strap, and off they go in a flash. I witnessed it, in broad daylight and heard of 3 other incidences.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoJac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

A nice hotel, rooms bigger than most budget hotels, beds ok but a bit hard. Breakfast very basic included in price, Staff nice and friendly but some need to learn more english, All in all a reasonable hotel my only complaint which happens at a lot of hotels in vietnam, we booked the hotel for a superiour room with a balconey but they had over booked and first night we had to stay in another room,, would stay here again. Plenty of good eating places very close by, good night life bars etc

Room Tip: When booking ask them to make sure you get the room that you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostschweiz
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Clean, quiet rooms still in the heart of all the action in Pham Ngu Lao. The location is perfect for younger travelers looking to party and have a good time. If you're a family probably better to check another neighborhood.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located in a small side street off Bui Vien it's a good place to stay a few nights. Bathroom was clean, but a bit small. The usual travel desk at the reception will sort you out with trips and/or bus tickets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the New York Thien Phuc Hotel for two nights. The location is convenient for going out at night, which is good one the one hand and bad on the other: it’s just 10 seconds to the next bar, but if you got a front-facing room you’re not going to get much sleep as it is ridiculously loud at night. We had one of these rooms for the first night and the changed to a room facing the other side, which was much better.

Generally, the rooms are good, clean enough and large. When you’re looking for a room priced around 20-25USD, New York Thien Phuc Hotel is alright but if the only rooms available are facing the front, don’t stay there!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the backside of the hotel if you'd like to sleep at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for four days for $12 USD/night. We were given a room on the fifth floor (the highest floor) and there were no lift. We didn't mind climbing up the stairs but it gets tiring after awhile. Rooms on the lower levels are more expensive as told by the receptionist.

Kettle is not provided in the room, the housekeeping will provide if we requested for hot water. The blankets are not covered with duvet, quite unhygienic actually. They change bed sheets everyday but not sure if they change the blankets.

Our room had a nice balcony facing the opp side of pham ngu lau street. It is very near to Ben Tanh market, about 15 mins walk. It is also just a street away from Bui Vien Street, where you can find many bars and pubs in the night time. Location is very good.

Motorbike rentals and tour desk available at the lobby. Free internet available as well.

Staff are friendly but sometimes they get tired of you asking them questions. However, they are nice to talk to. Overall, this hotel is nice and it is what you get for the price you pay.

Room Tip: Request for rooms on the lower level if you don't like to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zulaikha17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#153 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#78 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#110 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#51 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kim Hotel
Kim Hotel
#129 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dragon Palace Hotel
Dragon Palace Hotel
#161 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Thien Phuc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Thien Phuc Hotel

Property: New York Thien Phuc Hotel
Address: 175/14 Pham Ngu Lao St | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #413 of 835 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New York Thien Phuc Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of District 1 - Pham Ngu Lao / Tay Balo, New York Thien Phuc Hotel is an ideal spot from which to discover Ho Chi Minh City. Only 7. Km away, this 1-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. A haven of rest and relaxation, the hotel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as Delta Adventure Tours, Mekong Tours, Bobby Brewers.The facilities and services provided by New York Thien Phuc Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. For the comfort and convenience of guests, the hotel offers business center, room service, tours, safety deposit boxes, bicycle rental.Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with television, desk, internet access – LAN, ironing facilities, mini bar in each room. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Ho Chi Minh City, make New York Thien Phuc Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Thien Phuc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing