We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Last Resort"”

Sax N Art Jazz Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"The Last Resort"”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Avoid at all costs. Poor service and hidden costs really bring this place down. A hidden service charge, expensive drinks and poor service can only equally a poorly managed night club. The night went like this: no escort to seats, no waiter for drinks, walked to bar and ordered our drinks, waived down a waiter for an invoice, very expensive drinks, 240,000vnd in cover charge for three people, total bill 650,000vnd for less than 30 minutes of entertainment.

Don't question the drinks or service charge because the staff gets angry and about 4 to 5 show up at your table. I am convinced this is not the first time the staff has had such issues.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Huddo_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    65
    25
    20
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“RIIIIPPPP OFFFFFFFFFFFF”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Watch out for this club. The atmosphere was ok and my family and I decided to have a drink on the way home from an extrodinary dinner at "Shri". What a let down when we paid the bill. The drinks were triple the average (We accepted this for the entertainment) but not the cover charge 80,000dong each. Not even one the most expensive bars in Saigaon (The Rex) charges this. What made it enfuriating is that no-one tells you about it as it is hidden in the menu.

I have no problem of business making a profit but in typical Vietnamese style they try and rip you off at every chance they get.

Out of principal I urge any tourist to take a huge detour from this place and find something that is more open in their pricing.

We walked out not paying the cover charge.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dodgy Operation”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

AVOID! The Jazz was fine, until presented with the bill! The cover charge and service added another 30% to our bill! Whilst still not expensive, we were left with a very sour taste in our mouth!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hodgo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great music but a bit scammy”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A lot of other reviewers have complained about the hidden cover charge and while I was taken there by friends and knew about it, I have to agree it's a bit low to not make it clear there is an entrance fee. Which is a shame, because the bar is great and the music excellent. But the tricks played to drag a few extra bucks out of unsuspecting tourists leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don´t go there”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Poor service and very over-priced. We were also scammed by the hidden cover charge and we only came for a single drink. I really don´t recommend this place to anyone.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorppa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sax N Art Jazz Club also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Sax N Art Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing