We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are going to do this again!”
Review of Mango Cruises

Mango Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mango Cruises offers a variety of products and services in the Mekong Delta. Starting with our Ben Tre Day tour for those wanting a fulfilling day, we also have a boutique resort for those wanting an overnight experience on our beautiful Riverfront property (compelete with WiFi, A/C and in-room bar fridge). Lastly, we offer our Private Sampan Cruise to multiple destinations throughout the Mekong Delta and best of all, your Sampan is entirely yours. Whatever your needs, Mango Cruises has a program just right for you.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Research started 4 months before our trip,with a contact direct to Mango cruises = Come & go Vietnam = Jay! Email communications & responses were what sold us to choose this company to provide us for what proved to be a trip of a life time.After negotiating options with Jay,we chose a one night home stay,followed by 3 day-2 night sampan cruise of the delta.We flew into Saigon from Hanoi at 9.00am=taxi to Minh Tam bus station & travelled to Ben Tre arriving at midday.From drop off point we were picked up by Mangos xeoms to the homestay.(this little ride was a scenic adventure in itself!)
We were met by Mr Mann,who got us started with lunch & drinks on the homestay verandah & explained the company & property where we were,and checked us into our beautiful room with outside ensuite.(He ticked the next box that we had made the right decision to choose this company.)
Mid afternoon after lounging on the verandah with plenty of cold beers,our tour guide for the cruise arrived,and we were introduced by Mr Mann to "Lockie!". Wow, this guy was just effervescent & alive and explained our itenery for the next 3 days,giving the sense of what we dreamed, was to come true for our cruise. We were not dissapointed! (every last box ticked) From day 1 to 3,Lockie was our man!We cruised,stopped for tours on foot & bike to brick factories,local homes,temples, rice factories,orchards & farms,it just goes on with every moment a fascination! Then Lockie proved himself to be a beautiful singer while we drank beers on the front deck of the sampan,singing some beautiful Vietnamese love songs with so much genuine feeling!.also answering our many questions about what the "locals" activities were that we sailed past.Lockie also provided "evening drinking music while we cruised the delta,his favourite for aussies being "Khe sanh", but we introduced him to Men at works "Down Under", so other aussies please reinforce to him that this is our national anthem!
The food,have we mentioned this?Meals were 3 x times a day,all 5 x course & unbelievable new experiences, we were battling to get through the volume!Absolutely marvellous!
We also had plenty of time to ourselves when cruising,observing from any point we chose from the sampan,which was luxuries beyond our expectations.The nights sleeping at our anchorage points were quiet & relaxing,and as other reviewers have stated we never saw another european the whole time.This was our 4th trip to Vietnam & second to the mekong after a day trip from Saigon,but out of all our time in Vietnam,this was the best! We are a couple in our mid fifties & me with 2 x bung knees, but it proved easily do able for the walking & the bike rides which are on flat country,the captain just pushed the bow of the sampan right to the shore banks & the crew provided a step ladder for me to access in the more difficult dissembarcations.
This company might be a bit pricier than others,but in Australia we have the saying-"You get what you pay for!" & why our headline is "we are going to do this again!"
Feel free to pm us for any questions.
Thank You Mango Cruises.

p.s.we took 426 photos of this cruise-overboard may be,but we gaze at them on our screensaver & would not delete one of them = memories of our most memorable trip

2  Thank Exmouthviet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoCruisesJay, Director of Sales at Mango Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Exmouth Viet,

Thanks very kindly for your review and we are certainly pleased to hear you enjoyed all facets of your time with us!

Very thankful for taking the time to upload pictures from your program and we certainly hope we will see you again in the near future.

All the best,

Director of Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 145 of 214 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I booked the 2D/1N Ben Tre – Can Tho cruise many months in advance for our New Year trip and so glad we did! The email communication was great, Jay answered all of my questions. For me, this was a once and lifetime trip, and I have to admit at first I struggled with price of the overnight cruise but I can assure you post-trip, Mango really exceeded my expectations! I too, read lots of Trip Advisor reviews before deciding.

The thoughtful planning by Mango Cruises had a mix of interesting activities and downtime to just chill on the boat, this itinerary was crafted to a science! I can't suggest another thing to add to take away from this 2 day trip. We paid extra for the car ride from HCMC to our take off point with a nice stop at a Mekong Delta rest stop for a café sua to go, we met our tour guide, Lee and a great driver, Mr. Fook.
I loved the Sampan, the modest outside design so it fits in the landscape of the Mekong and it's very luxury-style accommodations on the inside. Perfect lil cabin for our trip! I simply loved this boat! Along the river ride we toured a coconut factory and then later stopped in town where we got on our bikes (my favorite part) where we cruised though a small town and stopped by an incense factory, cashew factory, the colorful Cai Dai temple, even stopped to have a beer and meat snack wrapped in banana leaves (at our request, lol.) Our guide Lee was just great. More than a guide, he was like having a friend in Vietnam to show us all the cool sites and stopped to show us more at our request/based off our questions.
The food was above and beyond, the Mango Curry was one of my favorites, there were 5 courses, so much food. I loved the cooking demo and we ordered a bottle of wine and helped make the spring rolls too! That sure made for a fun evening on the boat. The staff was so kind and professional, they also gave us alone time while we cruised between destinations, which was great (again this was like a science of travel planning.) My husband and I had time to sit on the front of the boat to reflect and relax on the Mekong, it was truly our own lil private boat. Staying overnight on the boat is a cool experience and a good thing so we could just wake up, have breakfast and then be ready bright early for the Floating Markets which are a cool site to see. At the floating Markets: Be sure to grab a café sua or bottled beverage from the beverage boat kids, they are fun and fast to serve ya, out on the water.

The Mekong Delta cruise is likely the Highlight to our trip to Vietnam, and we also went to Phu Quoc Island! Cool thing for Mango Cruise is that this trip can be perfect for Couples as a Romantic trip or also perfect for a small Family of four as the activities are fun for any age! If you are thinking about this trip and like adventure with a luxury home base, don't miss this unique experience.

3  Thank djcynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoCruisesJay, Director of Sales at Mango Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Djcynic

Thanks very much for your review of our 2D/1N Private Sampan Cruise!

Mr. Le is one of our great local guides and along with our crew, always try to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests.

As for me personally, I truly enjoy the ability to correspond with all of our guests and love to hear their feedback at the conclusion.

Hope to have you back in the future!

Kind Regards,

Director of Sales - Mango Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This trip was a trip of a life time for me and my sister. We highly recommend this trip for any traveller with mango tours. The day was varied and exciting. The food was amazing the knowledge we learn was exceptional and both the staff and locals we met were very welcoming and We can personally recommend this for any age group to do. The tour was above and beyound all our expectations. Thank you very much Tran thuy Nhung. Next time we will defiantly look into your 3 day excursion.

1  Thank melissa15selena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoCruisesJay, Director of Sales at Mango Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Melissa,

We thank you for taking the time to provide a recap of your day with us.

Our General Manager was very pleased to hear your feedback of the program directly and we certainly hope you will return for a long excursion the next time you are in Vietnam.

All the best!

Kind Regards,

Director of Sales - Mango Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a super day -- seamless, authentic and beautiful... The guide was geniune, extremely knowledgable (he was local), so friendly -- we were in good hands! Visits to traditional brick-making factory, making rice paper, rides down jungle canals, and riding bikes through local villages made for a spectacular and scenic day... Would recommend in a heartbeat!

Thank you Mango!

1  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoCruisesJay, Director of Sales at Mango Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Matt,

Thanks very much for submitting a review of our service!

We do focus on providing an authentic off-the-beaten-path experience and were happy to hear that you enjoyed your day with us.

Hope that we will have you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Director of Sales - Mango Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had the opportunity of tuning several of the diverse services of MDC. We were on the boat, a sampan, bikes to visit local businesses and then back on the boat. The trip was excellent . We saw rice wrappers being made, bricks being made and all the things done with coconuts . Lunch at the resort was excellent particularly the fried elephant ear fish.
Enjoyed the whole day

1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoCruisesJay, Director of Sales at Mango Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Steve,

Thanks kindly for taking the time to review our Day Tour.

Elephant ear fish is a favorite amongst many of our guests and we are glad you enjoyed it. We do attempt to include many different modes of transport through our program and each help to give you an in-depth look at the region we call home.

We hope to see you again in the future,

Kind Regards,

Director of Sales - Mango Cruises

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Cruises also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Mango Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing