We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip away from tourist exploited areas of mekong delta”
Review of Mango Cruises

Mango Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mango Cruises offers a variety of products and services in the Mekong Delta. Starting with our Ben Tre Day tour for those wanting a fulfilling day, we also have a boutique resort for those wanting an overnight experience on our beautiful Riverfront property (compelete with WiFi, A/C and in-room bar fridge). Lastly, we offer our Private Sampan Cruise to multiple destinations throughout the Mekong Delta and best of all, your Sampan is entirely yours. Whatever your needs, Mango Cruises has a program just right for you.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
“Great trip away from tourist exploited areas of mekong delta”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was a wonderful way to see the mekong Delta area away from the tourist trap areas.
we were taken to areas exclusively used by mango cruises and were not pestered once to buy stuff. We visited real locals in their homes, and local businesses. The Mango home was just wonderful with the lovely outdoor sofas on the verandah and bungalows to sit and watch the locals going about their business on the mekong river. We watched the sampans and boats loaded with coconuts, bricks, wares and people. The mango cruises boats are lovely and we enjoyed the comfortable wicker seats and loungers and fresh fruit. During our biking and sampan we didnt see another tourist. We enjoyed fruit from the local market and sugar cane drink. i really enjoyed the sampan ride through the narrow canals. It was so lush with the arching coconut palms making tunnels. That was my favourite activity. The food at Mango home was beautiful. the 6 course dinner was one of the best we had in Vietnam. The staff were all so friendly and smiling. I do recommend Mango cruises and staying at the Mango home. The only suggestion is for more activities in the afternoon on the first day, but we are an active family so others may enjoy the chance to relax and enjoy the lovely homestead. Thank you to everyone for the wonderful trip which I highly recommend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    14
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time on the Mekong Delta”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

With 3 teenagers it is always a challenge to keep the entertainment. We spent two days with the Mango team and they were just great. Clockwork planning and a nice combination of boats and bicycle rides to help you really feel the lifestyle of the Mekong villages. We stayed for one night in their 3 room resort and it was just wonderful, we felt right at home with the team. Fantastic.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank OB113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing - worth every penny”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a private tour to the Mekong Delta and I can honestly say it's one of the most interesting tours I have done in years.

The private boat we had to ourselves was lovely, we felt quite special lazing on our steamer chairs watching river life go by. I would whole heartedly recommend this trip to anyone. it gives you a real insight into Vietnamese life, whilst still maintaining a feel of luxury.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samanthaja73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like the king and queen of the delta”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We did a tour from Saigon overnight on the delta ending in can tho. We had a private sampan to ourselves. Felt like the king and queen sat in our wicker chairs floating down the river.

The organisation was brilliant from my first enquiry to the end of the trip. Our guide Quang met us in the hotel in Saigon and everything ran like clockwork.

The boat was brilliant. The food amazing - the chef demonstrating his skill in the evening.

Not cheap but definitely worth the money we spent to make our honeymoon special.

Thoroughly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkie-pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One day Mekong Delta tour”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We didn't have much time in Saigon / HCMC and thought we would miss the Mekong Delta as most trips spent a night and 2 days there. I found Mango Cruises and booked a day trip to the delta for the next day. I was a bit surprised and put off to have to pay in cash for the trip in a bar in Saigon particularly as it cost us $300 US for 2 people. We were given a receipt, but it was a bit unnerving when you read of the scams throughout Saigon. As a side note to the owners - it would be helpful to be able to book and pay via the website.

The actual trip was great, I loved the alternative modes of transport from car, tuk tuk, bicycle, sampan then boat and again car. The lunch at Mango house was absolutely beautiful and we're fairly fussy eaters. It was great to be away from any other tourists, not transported to a market or tourist shop to be pressured to buy at all, and to have the experience of an authentic area of the Delta to see how people there live, and make their living ,was great.

I would recommend this tour, I spent 4 weeks in Vietnam and joined a number of tours while i was there. This tour, while expensive by Vietnam (and Western really) standards was an excellent and enjoyable day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank April038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Cruises also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Mango Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing