We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pack earplugs”
Review of Vinh Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vinh Hostel
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pack earplugs”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hostel sits in an awesome location, close to excellent nightlife and just across the street from where all the mayor buses arrive and depart. Stayed in a private double room, which was alright, however no real window making the room a bit stuffy and dark. Cleanliness was o.k. Downside of the excellent location is the noise from the bar/ restaurant next door. Don't go here if you fancy a quiet nights sleep. Furthermore staff spoke hardly any English.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BvanderBroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
12
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the hostel for two nights in a private twin room. The rooms were clean and adequate for the price. As we stayed for new years, there was a lot of noise from the street, though this was expected.

However, we found the staff unpleasant and incompetent to deal with. We used the laundry service, however they did not have it ready for the time we agreed, then they gave us the wrong bag of laundry! We also gave our passports to reception, and after asking for them back we were told to come back a few hours later. When we came back, they gave another excuse for not giving them to us at which point I angrily demanded them back. The receptionist gave it to us after photocopying the pages, but we were just annoyed they were using delaying tactics instead of explaining that it was standard practice for hotels to take guests passports and we were upset by this dishonesty. Finally, we booked a tour to Chu Chi tunnels, however I strongly recommend you do not book a tour with the hostels tour company. They failed to tell us that the fee we paid did not cover all the costs and we had some surprise charges whilst we were on the tour. Furthermore, the tour bus left over an hour late than the departure time which was very frustrating.

I would not recommend this place when there are many much better options around.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

For the price you pay it is a good deal! Double room was big and clean with a decent tv and good bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helped us with any thing we needed and the location was perfect, literally steps away from where our bus dropped us. The downside is that it is noisy at night due to the busy street it's on, it's bearable but definitely noticeable. Also the bed was very thin mattress and not very comfortable but over all I'd still recommend it as the location and value are very good.

Room Tip: The higher the better for noise control
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Buck104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

its in a great location with plenty backpacker bars around. my room ws cleaned everyday. i had a double bed which was comfy and my own bathroom. the hostel pulls the hitters down at night so you have to bang on to get in. i stopped here three nights and thought it was good value. although i would try book somewhere else next time.

im not one to complain but if you haven't got good ear plugs then you might find it hard to sleep if you are not drunk!

its next door to a massive bar that has the music pumping but, i think by midnight it had stopped so if you are looking to get your head down then this isn't the place.

i found this out the night before i was travelling and didn't go mad on the alcohol

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithy4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hostel's location is good. Accessible to attractions, food shops, parks etc. If you take a cab from airport to de tham street, you'll spend around 200,000 Dong.

The staff are friendly and accomodating. They'll give you some tips as well.

The street is also crowded and buses are noisy even in the wee hours. Later i found out that there's a bus terminal of Futa Buslines infront.

You can also find some motorbikes for hire infront that will take you to any destination you want, but with a price esp. if it's far. Like i hired a motorbike to go to Cu Chi Tunnels for around 450,000 Dong but with additional tours to some spots, like my personal driver. The hostels package tour to Cu Chi is cheap, but time is from 8am - 2:30pm which i don't want to spend that many hours as I would like to tour around the city before heading back home as my flight is at 6PM.

The motorbike experience is enjoyable and a bit scary. Felt like I was on an F1 or MotoGP race.

Price per stay is cheap regardless if you take a dorm type or an individuak room. I took a top room, 4th floor which is nice but the downside is you need to walk up using stairs so kinda tiring.

Overall, stay is good. I covered most of the tourist spots in Ho Chi Minh City.

Room Tip: if you want to view from up, better choose rooms on the top floors although the downside is, you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo3y80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

First of all, this hostel has the best location where the action is and near the bus station. However, these streets are crawling with hotels, so I'm sure another one will give you better value for money. A/c in our room worked so and so, and also staff turn it off from reception and we had to go downstairs and ask them to turn it on everyday, which was kind of annoying. They didn't empty trash or refill toilet paper in the three days we stayed. Wifi works well, shower is good (but Vietnamese style, so everything in the bathroom gets wet). Laundry service was good (but they should inform you that it takes 36 hours). Music from outside is very very loud but seems to stop at 11. Also, the female receptionist is really nice.

You should note that previous reviews are phrased exactly like each other, kind of suspicious to me.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Motarbetaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I traveld vietnam for two weeks and found this one which was my last hostel the best. I would like to recommend the place. I paid 7 usd and the location was really great. Very friendly staff as well. There is a fast foods place next door which sells cheap food that isint noodles as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhpistorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Sai Gon Hostel One
Sai Gon Hostel One
#93 of 616 in Ho Chi Minh City
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Sunny Hotel
New Sunny Hotel
#24 of 914 in Ho Chi Minh City
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eco Backpackers Hostel
Eco Backpackers Hostel
#22 of 616 in Ho Chi Minh City
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SAIGON downtown B&B
SAIGON downtown B&B
#57 of 616 in Ho Chi Minh City
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wanderlust Saigon Hostel & Rooftop Bar
Wanderlust Saigon Hostel & Rooft...
#251 of 616 in Ho Chi Minh City
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Pearl Hotel
New Pearl Hotel
#57 of 914 in Ho Chi Minh City
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hostel

Property: Vinh Hostel
Address: 269 De Tham Street, Pham Ngu Lao Wards, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 616 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Vinh Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing