We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Am Lam out of town but great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of An Lam Saigon River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
An Lam Saigon River
Ranked #15 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Am Lam out of town but great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were concerned that we had booked a long way from the city and getting in and out on the shuttle is only 3 times a day , first call 10 am and last 6.30 pm so some connections are difficult. But our room was fantastic, right on the edge of the Saigon river watching an amazing array of barges and boats go by. Service was great the butler bit is rather over blown. Restaurant very good but no local options that we found.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlam S, Manager at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Mark W,

Thank you for your recent review of An Lam. We are glad to hear to enjoyed your recent stay in one of our Riverfront Villas.

As you have written, we are located a little out of town but this is one of our main attractions to our guests! Many of our guests prefer to stay close to the city in peace and tranquility rather than in the hustle and bustle of busy Saigon.

That being said we are only a 35 minute drive from the center of Saigon (District 1) and we also offer 3 complimentary return speed boat trips to the city everyday from morning until evening which take just 20 minutes. We can even arrange private boat transfers at other hours of the day if required.

I was also a little surprised to hear your comments about our Butler Service being over-blown/excessive. We do not have a dedicated Concierge or Reception desk at An Lam as our Butlers look after our guests from check-in to check-out and are on hand from morning until night to fulfill their wishes and requests. We receive many good comments from our guests regarding our Butler Service but it is ultimately up to the guest how they choose to use the services of their Butler.

We look forward to welcoming you back to An Lam Saigon River again in the future,

Steven Poole
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    77
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
80
210
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We are a family of 4 just back from our annual family hol in Vietnam. We started (first 4 days) and finished our trip (last 2 days) at An Lam Saigon. WOW. The most wonderful greeting, the coolest accommodation, fantastic service. Friendly, calm, peaceful, luxurious and really attention to detail. The rooms are really big, clean, thought out. Our 'butler' Sue (Xuan) was just brilliant. Always there to guide and sort. The breakfasts are to die for. The pace of the place is just what is needed after a 13 hr flight. The kids were made to feel so welcome. The pool was spot on. great wine list. I cannot find a fault. The speed boat (complimentary) into the city is a really great service (15 mins). A taxi can take up to an hr. Would love to have tried their sister property - maybe one day. We'll done to the team in Saigon.

Room Tip: Spend more time then you intend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlam S, Manager at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear John P,

Thank you for your recent review of our resort. I am very happy to hear you had a great relaxing stay in Saigon with your family.

We always work hard to continually improve our service levels throughout the resort so I am pleased to hear your kind comments regarding our service and attention to detail, with particular praise going to our Butler and F&B teams.

I was slightly concerned to read that it took you up to an hour to travel to our resort by taxi as it generally only takes 35-40 minutes to District 1. That being said we always give Vietnamese driving directions to any of our guests traveling out of the resort, just in case the taxi driver is unsure of our exact location!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to An Lam Saigon River in the future,

Steven Poole
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mailhac
Level Contributor
283 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We arrived late having had a terrible flight down from the North (Cancelled flights airport changes and then bad weather). I had pre-booking a table on the terrace, but we were too late for that, the restaurant had close two hours earlier BUT our butler met us and had had the forethought to put a lovely tray of sandwiches, fruit nibbles and drink in our room. Nice touch and just shows the thought that goes into looking after you in this hotel. How would sir like his scrambled eggs cooked for breakfast etc. etc.
We were spoilt, np other way to describe it. Also we lost track of time sitting on the restaurant terrace watching the world go by on the river. Timeless and fascinating.
Thouroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor with a private pool is my recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlam S, Manager at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Lecoqdnord,

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us in Saigon.

We are pleased you enjoyed the snacks and nibbles placed in your room after a tiring and stressful journey from Hanoi. We know that many guests are often hungry after their travels so our Butlers normally place a small selection of snacks, sandwiches or nibbles in the room for our very late arriving guests... just in case!

We look forward to welcoming you back to An Lam again soon,

Steven Poole
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, one at the beginning of our trip around Vietnam and Cambodia, and one at the end.

Our first night was spent in the Penthouse Lam room. This is a gigantic room with huge windows, and separate living area. It was tastefully decorated and had everything we needed.

Just some areas to improve: The pillows are far too large and too firm. There really needs to be a softer and smaller pillow size. The bed was great.

The pool badly needs maintaining. It looks very worn with rust and peeling paint. There are also a significant amount of stains on the AC unit in the living area and around the windows in that area too. I would also recommend toning down the amount of citronella that is pumped into the room as it was overbearing.

The second night we were in an Executive Lam room, this time on the ground, closer to the restaurant and pool. We much preferred this room to the Penthouse as the pool/garden area was a lot nicer. We did however have some problems with mosquitoes. Yes there is a net around the bed but there were at least 4 or 5 inside it so the first thing we had to do was kill them... not great. There were several in the room itself too. We didn't have this problem in the penthouse room, likely as it's high up and further back from the river.

Food was great, breakfast too. Much better than An Lam's sister hotel in Ninh Van Bay where we also stayed.

Location was great for us. We had no real desire to spend 1 night all the way in the city so this was perfect. A unique alternative to most other hotels in the area.

Staff were very friendly, helpful and competent; among the best I've come across. Overall, if some of the rooms were maintained better, I'd come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlam S, Manager at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Kovsky,

Thank you for your recent review of An Lam Saigon River.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Penthouse and Executive class rooms and we appreciate your feedback and suggestions. You will be pleased to hear that we are currently in the process of lightly refreshing all our rooms and villas over the next few months.

We are sorry to hear of the mosquito issues you experienced. Luckily we don't usually suffer from a huge number of mosquitoes as we have weekly mosquito spraying throughout the resort and our Housekeeping team are usually very vigilant in eradicating the pesky creatures, that being said, we do have natural mosquito repellant available in all our rooms just in case.

We are very pleased to hear your comments regarding our staff being "very friendly, helpful and competent; among the best I've come across", I am sure our staff will be very pleased to hear your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to An Lam again in the future,

Steven Poole
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Beautiful location on the Saigon River and great fun to take the daily boat shuttle into the city which was a great service. However, does not live up to the marketing and the service delivery promise. Overpriced, a butler service is offered that is not really a butler service but was more of an intrusion without the relevant interpersonal skills. Room average for the price we paid and don't be seduced by the private in villa pool, really not worth the extra.
The restaurant was lovely, good value, good food and good service. Stay here with managed expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlam S, Manager at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Pete2105,

Thank you for your recent review, we always appreciate feedback from our guests in order to constantly improve our level of service.

I noticed that you stayed with us in December 2013 which is quite some time ago now. I am pleased to inform you that there have been a number of changes since you stayed with us from staff changes/development, refurbishments here and there as well as the opening of two new rooms so you can be assured that any issues you experienced on your previous stay have now been fully rectified.

We look forward to welcoming you back to An Lam Saigon River again in the future.

Steven Poole
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A young couple wanting a city break in Vietnam before flying to the Mia Resort in Nha Trang. An Lam certainly delivered.

We stayed here for three nights in the Pent House villa which was out of this world. It has a private deck and pool area. All the rooms come with their own butler too!!! Customer service at its finest.

I had a sesame seed body scrub in the hotel spa which was just heaven and really good value for money. My husband used the gym which is more cardio focused that free weights.

We ate twice in the hotel restaurant and every dish was delicious. The bed and breakfast option is a must. The breakfast is from a menu with a great selection of Eastern and Western options. So much nice than the usual buffet style.

The free boat service is so handy for nipping into the city. You get to see what a lot of tourist pay for on a boat trip of Saigon River.

We want to come back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlam S, Manager at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Gamewell,

Thank you for your recent review of our resort. We are glad you had a great stay with us in Saigon and your comments have been shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming back to An Lam Saigon River again in the future.

Steven Poole
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just had a return trip to the An Lam. Ideal for residents of Ho Chi Minh city wanting to escape for peace and quiet. Ideals for visitors to HCM wanting easy access to the city (by boat) but wanting to stay in a quiet place. Honeymooners? Ask for the Saigon Villa - bliss!
Absolutely love the place! Staff are so courteous and friendly. Idyllic situation by the River Saigon. River watching is fun or sit and relax by the pool - we had our own private pool this time. Wonderful breakfast and we enjoyed our evening meals too. Ssh! It's so good - don't tell everyone!

Room Tip: Last visit we had the large upstairs room (with our grandchildren) - this time we stayed in Saigon V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlam S, Manager at An Lam Saigon River, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Val S,

Thank you for your recent review. It is always nice to hear such positive feedback and we are glad that your second visit was just as good as your first!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Villa Saigon, nothing can beat the wonderful river views in the early morning or evening from your private terrace.

We hope to welcome you back to our oasis again soon.

Steven Poole
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
4.4 mi away
Villa Song Saigon
Villa Song Saigon
#2 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
#8 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
6.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Lam Saigon River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Lam Saigon River

Property: An Lam Saigon River
Address: 4 21, Trung Street | Vinh Phu ward, Thuan An District, Binh Duong, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — An Lam Saigon River 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and pure, An Lam Saigon River Private Residence is a captivating and exquisite luxury lifestyle boutique hotel. Located on the fringe of Ho Chi Minh City - a 15-minute boat ride from the city's center, the property blends utmost privacy with serenity and exclusivity. The property comprises seven luxurious riverside villas set in vibrant tropical gardens, and offering extraordinary views of the Saigon River. The villas host a total of seventeen guestrooms, each exclusively designed and furnished with its own contemporary identity and with elegant Vietnamese touches. Natural exotic wood floors set the tone where simplicity reigns, with elegant touches defining a sense of place and attention to the smallest of the details, adding to the unique charm of the resort. All villas are equipped with modern amenities that redefine a luxury lifestyle. The villas are designed with large terraces open to breathtaking views of the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your An Lam Saigon River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing