We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price”
Review of Au Lac II Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Au Lac II Hotel
Ranked #158 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our first hotel in Vietnam and we were pleasantly surprised to find such an immaculate hotel with friendly staff for the price. The room was beautifully presented. The hotel was central to everything in District 1. The breakfast buffet catered for all nationalities with exceptional staff in the restaurant. They couldn't have been any happier or more eager to help.

The only downside was when we were over charged for a day tour by the reception staff at the front desk. (US$30 when other tour guests were charged US$15). When we questioned reception staff upon return to the hotel we were told the price was US$25, we were then told by reception staff that the other tour guests were lying but after some arguing we were refunded US$5 as a compromise.

Despite the tour pricing scam, we would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go on Happy Tours - unorganized, unprofessional, and not as stated in brochure, eg the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandaNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Chose this 3 star Hotel as it was located in District 1 and booked a Deluxe room. Big room, clean and well equiped. Located within walking distance of river and shopping. Ate in local street food places by just pointing at food we wanted. So easy, tasty and cheap. Ho Chi Minh was the best place to start our Vietnwm holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wazza53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel was arranged by our tour group. It is in a great location but had several problems. It was raining hard and our ceiling started linking. We were on the 8th floor the top bit the elevator says 20 floors? No umbrellas and the sound system for the TV was terrible. Breakfast wasn't great either . I think it is a new hotel and has potential as a 3* hotel . The rooms were otherwise modern and comfortable . Make sure you have a window!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Lovely staff great service, convenience location, beautiful room. It would be a place to recommend to all tourists and business travelers. From the hotel you can walk around the city center to discover the people culture and the way the sell their business. The lovely shopping is not very far from the hotel you can find yourself with variety of gifts and a lot of costume clothing. The hotel restaurant provides international cuisines specialty Vietnamese with lovely taste for buffet lunch.

I will be back for sure on next trip.!

Craig

Room Tip: I am most prefer room 521
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 781Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Waimaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank ParisBourbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gualtiero P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Roseland Point Hotel
Roseland Point Hotel
#94 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Oscar Saigon Hotel
#165 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#64 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Roseland Corp Hotel
Roseland Corp Hotel
#79 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#104 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alagon Western Hotel
Alagon Western Hotel
#97 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Lac II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Lac II Hotel

Address: 87-89-91 Ho Tung Mau | Ben Nghe Ward, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $42 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Au Lac II Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Lac II Hotel will only take a few minutes to walk from the Hotel to Ben Thanh market, bus station and cultural and historical monuments. It is also convenient to Notre Dame Cathedral, Opera House and Reunification Palace from the Hotel. The Hotel offers five categories of rooms which are well-decorated and spacious. All rooms have windows that provide a good view of the bustling activities in the city. Together with modern facilities and friendly services from our well trained staffs, we are certain that Au Lac II Hotel is able to meet the expectations of any vacationing guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Au Lac II Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing