We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ciao Bella

Ciao Bella
Ranked #19 of 3,106 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: New York Italian. Warm casual eatery
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

As soon as you arrive you are welcomed with a glass of bubbles on the house and as soon as you are seated there is bread with accompaniment. I enjoyed excellent meatballs for a starter with raisins and pine nuts and the "post" cabonara, which included a pouched egg and parma ham. The dense chocolate pudding mousse was perfect with an authentic italian espresso. Also complimentary limoncello.

I can't say if the freebies are standard fair, but it certain went to show that they go the extra mile. You sit a little close but some would just call that cozy.

If you are in need of excellent Italian in Saigon this is the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R_M_Martensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,038
    366
    108
    47
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
“Quiet Lunch for two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My fiancee and I visit today for lunch. We were walking past and was drawn to the sign that advertised an Aussie Beef Burger. The waitresses all spoke good english and the service was very good. I ate the Fettuccine with Chicken in Tomato Olive Sauce and my fiancee ate Steak and Chips. The steak was a big tough but my meal was enjoyable. We also ordered freshly squeezed orange and watermelon juice and espresso illy coffees.
Enjoyable place and well presented. Close walking distance to Ben Tanh markets

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Ciao Bellaaa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food is better than some restaurants i tried in Italy. The dishes have a touch of Vietnamese food although mostly authentic Italian dishes. Pizzas are a must try and Italian Pork sausage homemade pasta with peas wont disappoint. The service is great, nice and smiley staff. A complimentary garlic bread with humus and basil sauce is a nice gesture. Great value

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FilipGudovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Homely & Cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've eaten here a few times, always for lunch, and it's always been good. Service is great, and the business lunches (soup and sandwich, or soup and salad) are excellent value, with great choices of sandwiches.

Sat upstairs and downstairs and my people watching instincts prefer down, near the street, as Dong Du is a busy place. My Rueben s/w was great, well prepared and enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saigondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely restaurant for ambience, service and food! Upon arrival, we were served a complimentary glass of champagne with fresh bread and homemade dipping sauces including white beans, tapenade and balsamic sauce. I opted for the "posh carbonara" for dinner that is made in a Parmesan cheese bowl table side. It was a lovely presentation, but there wasn't really anything special about the dish. Everyone enjoyed their meals, but I don't recall that anyone "raved" about their meal. The menu is well written, though, and definitely enticed me to return to try something else.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mdp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bella also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ciao Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing