We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crumbs Bakery
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Serving meals from breakfast to late night snacks such as Meat Pies and Burgers.Large outdoor eating area with ample parking.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The only quality bakery we've found while living in Vietnam! It is our weekly shop and don't know what we'd do without Crumbs :-) Their breads are not sweet (difficult to find in this city) and fresh everyday. Pastries are almost like the ones back home in Aust...yum! Muffins and other sweet options are also here. Online ordering system works a treat. Good work Cumbs :-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clairecim675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 39 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

Every now and then as an Aussie traveller, I look for a meat pie. As a trade qualified baker, I can be pretty fussy with what appeals,, I heard about this place and took a cyclo to get there. And was very impressed with the display upon entering, a good range of artisan breads, a good sweet offering and a pie warmer with a good range also. Bought a selection to try and was very happy with my choice. Also good and efficient and friendly service. I'll be back to try more!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsCrumbs, General Manager at Crumbs Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Peter

It's an absolute honour to have received a review from some one like your self who know the trade and give a professional opinion, our crew at Crumbs are working harder and harder to try and get more review from people like yourself. Thank you for your support from all at Crumbs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

As an aussie living in HCMC one thing i miss is a good meat pie. Crumbs has good meat pies so i like it.

The bakery is a small take away shop near the backpacker area in D1. pretty simple layout with cold and hot display cases at the front and the ovens at the back. Single staff member serving behind the counter. I chose the beef and mushroom pie a sausage roll and choc chip muffin. The pie was good and tasty and generously filled. not necessarily a great pie but very good 7.5/10.

I didn't like the sausage roll so much, the meat was very soft and paste like-as if too much flour/breadcrumbs had been used in the mix. The pastry was quite hard and not flaky like a good sausage roll should be. 5/10

the muffin was fine 7/10

their website also says they will deliver the pies frozen - I may have to get a stock to keep in the freezer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank damienhcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Easily the best bread in town. If you are fed up with the sweetened stuff that everyone sells in Saigon then make the effort to go here. You will not be disappointed. Their South African seed loaf is excellent and a really good price. Try the cinnamon and apple thingies too - melt in the mouth stuff.
Oh - and real meat pies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank NZCannibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittylequyen87, General Manager at Crumbs Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear NZCannibal

Thank you for your satisfied comments, The crew at Crumbs do really put a lot of hard work in just to make sure customers like yourself can enjoy and appreciated.

And Crumbs crew appreciate and enjoy getting feed back such as yours.

Looking forward to even a better year at Crumbs, happy new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This bakery does not have a sit-in cafe area, it is takeaway only. I have ordered various types of pies and sausage rolls from here - you can order online and they deliver for free very quickly (although they don't always tell you when they are coming so it pays to check with them so that you will be home and have enough cash). Pies cost around VND45,000 which is not at all cheap compared to other foods in Vietnam (even foreign/imported food) but if you are craving a pie then there is not a lot of other options so you just have to pay it. They offer a lot of flavours of pies. Pies I have tried which are good:
pastie
beef, bacon and cheese
beef and tomato
potato top
The beef and pepper pie is quite hot so watch out if you don't like hot food. The sausage rolls are not at all like what I am used to and I probably wouldn't order them again. The party pies(savouries as they are known in NZ) are quite gelatinous and not that meaty. Overall I would still order from this bakery but it will never be like a true pie from home!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Netty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittylequyen87, General Manager at Crumbs Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Netty2010

Thank you so much for your honest and unbiased opinion, comments from such valuable customer like yourself will make our team at Crumbs work harder to satisfy you and many others in the future.
Once again from myself and the crew at Crumbs thank you for your support and hope that we can continue to service for the future.

Best regards and a prosperous 2012.

Tu Nguyen
Crumbs General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crumbs Bakery also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Crumbs Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing