We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

When I arrived in Saigon by bus from Siahnookville Cambodia. I only had this hostels adress written down. I found it easily The staff are super friendly and it's only 2 blocks from the main backpackers road with the Pham Ngu Lao bus station directly across the street for trips further north. They have air conditioning that can be controlled by anyone at anytime and not turned off forcebly at certain hours. The dorms are only $7 and for an extra 1$ you can choose a smaller 4 bed dorm.. Very good free hot breakfast included.

I will be staying here again soon.

Room Tip: Pay the extra dollar for 4 bed dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike7688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 396 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

For those starting off their journey in Vietnam this is a brilliant place to begin. It's in the main backpackers district and close to pubs bars and restaurants. Its also a great way to meet other travellers from all over the world. My friend and I spent a lovely evening having dinner with 5 other travellers. The staff are friendly too. Breakfast is simple but enough to start your day. A recommended stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTouristsNextDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Where to start with this hostel! As we checked in the staff were incredibly rude to us as they threw a set of period stained sheets at us. When I noticed the stain I was annoyed but I didn't make a fuss because I could just changed my sheets. However, when I asked to change the sheets they laughed at me and didn't understand why I wanted to change them. Furthermore, the aircon did not work. They promised to fix it that night whilst we went to eat but when we got back it still wasnt fixed. When I complained they said it would be fixed by 9AM. It wasn't! In the morning they gave us soggy bread with stail butter and jam. A person next to me had the noodles which looked like whale vomit. I do not recommend thí place to anyone. I would rather sleep on the street than this hostel

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markgoodstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I moved to this hostel after leaving another one because of bad service. Its quite convenient because its located right on the main street unlike the one we came from which was in a narrow alley. Another nice feature is that it has a travel agency right in its lobby so it was easy for us to book our Cu Chi tunnel tour as well as our sleeper bus ticket to Siem Reap.

The place is clean and decent and staff are friendly. Prices are cheap with free breakfast (bread/scrambled egg), free coffee and tea all day.

Main thing it really has going for it is location since its near money changers, inexpensive restos, souvenir shops, 24hr convenience stores, all the stuff a typical backpacker needs.

I would go back here in my next visit to Saigon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Staff is absolutely terrible. From the moment we stepped in we received a "what do you want?" And we weren't allowed to check in until 2pm (already a late hour for global standards), it was 1:30pm. Wifi worked for around half and hour and then stopped working, she wouldn't help me at all saying it was my fault because it was working fine. When I got back at 8pm I asked her again (quite afraid of her and her "I hate life" face), she wouldn't help me but to prove me wrong she asked her co-worker who confirmed it wasn't working, she disconnected the router and connected it again and you'd be surprised to see how it is working. During this whole time she hasn't ceased to be extremely mean (she turned a little bit nicer when we told her we could stay more than one night if we liked it). NO WIFI IN ROOMS (stated otherwise) and stops working every now and then.

When we were going to pay, she told us the exchange rate was 22,000vnd per dollar, more than 5% higher than anywhere else!! I don't know if she's keeping some money for herself or what is going on but someone should check that out because in the three weeks we have travelled Vietnam (from Hanoi on south) we have never had a rate higher than 21,000vnd. She's literally robbing us, but we needed our passports so there was nothing we could do.

Apart from the worst staff and service I've ever encountered the rooms are good (5 floor building-no lift) and common area is ok, two computers and a tv at your disposal.

Overall, if you can bare the torture of discussing and having to stand an awful face an attitude for everything do come here, otherwise you can find something better.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juan Pablo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Breakfast and free coffee/tea all day, friendly staff and super clean! Kitchen ladies don't speak english but always so helpful and smiley! Reception area is small but cozy and perfect to meet many other young backpackers! Free movies available also. I Would have stayed here longer but will come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayumbaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed with my husband, room quite nice, but not exactly same as we seen on internet. The access from guest house to main street is near, but we had to walk through a traditional market that smell is quite disturbing..
My husband loved the breakfast and the kitchen, because it's homie, but not really works for me. And the staff very nice and helpful. But i think there is still alots of guesthouse better than this with same price..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumucung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong Quynh
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong...
#12 of 725 in Ho Chi Minh City
243 reviews
0 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#7 of 725 in Ho Chi Minh City
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel at Bui Vien
Saigon Backpackers Hostel at Bui...
#32 of 725 in Ho Chi Minh City
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel 2
New Saigon Hostel 2
#19 of 725 in Ho Chi Minh City
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#6 of 725 in Ho Chi Minh City
295 reviews
0 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 725 in Ho Chi Minh City
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Address: 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 725 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $11 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saigon Backpackers Hostel Chain has been the first hostels in Ho Chi Minh City since 2009. Inspired by the energetic spirit of our guests, Saigon Backpackers Hostels is our latest and nicest hostel addition to Saigon's active backpackers' scene. Our hostels are located at the fringe of the city. To several budget travelers who just cannot get enough of Saigon, it's no secret that Saigon Youth hostel has the best location that you may ask for. The city center is just 5 minutes on foot. And just stone throw away is the Bui Vien street, another great area to explore. You will be stimulated by choices of Saigonese cuisine in the vicinity. It is undeniable that wonderful selections of food that can be nice alfresco roadside dinning and variety of restaurants, cafes and bars. At Saigon Backpackers hostel, we trust the environment will be the perfect place for you, foreign travelers, to meet friends from all over the world. We are obsessed in ensuring that our guests get more than just a bed with us with cozy atmosphere with color themed room design of Saigon culture. Saigon Youth hostel is a good place to feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing