We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and spotless Western-style hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice enough place - it's definitely very quiet for its location in the backpackers district! It's on the far end of Pham Ngu Lao for all the attractions though. You could certainly find cheaper in the area for roughly the same experience but if AC and spotless bathrooms are an absolute priority then this Is your best bet.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 387 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Perfect hostel in Pham Ngu Lao street. Very friendly staff, great chat on the evenings with other fellows. Good breakfast. Good free coffee all day. We had small problem with booking of bus to Phnom Penh (transport company did not accept our reservation and we had to wait for another bus), but problem was solved.
Both private rooms and dorms are OK. Private rooms with fridge, TV, clean etc. - excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Really clean, comfortable beds. I stayed in a 4 female dorm with its own bathroom. The location is good, its quiet- down an alley and the staff is friendly. For 8 dollars, I had a room and breakfast. Enjoyed the common room and had a fun morning on a motor bike going to a temple with one of the staff members who was my guide for the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooklyntraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Saigon Backpackers Hostel is in a good location, down an alley off the main backpackers strip so it is quiet but central. It's more expensive than I am used to paying in SE Asia ($8 for a dorm bed) but was clean and very nice. The only improvement i could ask for is staff tha speaks a little bit better English as any communication was very very difficult. Usually I like to ask staff for recommendations and use the desk to book further travel but j found it too difficult to do so at Saigon backpackers. Also I thought it was strange that the 4 nights I stayed there there was at least one person over 40 staying in the dorm room each night. Felt odd for a backpackers and while I'm sure they were harmless it felt a bit uncomfortable. Last, I was surprised they converted their price of $8/night to dong using 22,000 dong to the US$. The going rate is 20,800 so made a difference of about $2 for my 4 nights and felt like this was a bit of a scam. But overall very clean and central backpackers!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had a fantastic experience at the Saigon Backpackers Hostel.

The staff, especially Hieu and Ut, made all the difference. They were so friendly and helpful. Both are studying at university and majoring In tourism - how fitting. We also signed up for the Cu Chi Tunnel tour through the hostel - good price and fun tour.

Our double room for two people was ~ USD$20/night. The room was extremely spacious, and comes with a mini fridge and a powerful AC unit. Breakfast is also included. There is a bustling morning market on the main street perpendicular to the hostel if you are looking for fresh fruits or prepared foods.

Overall, a great place to stay at an excellent value. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shrug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very nice staff and chilling room! Big TV, playstation and pool! Also really close to all the bars. Good place to meet people and drink before going out. I didn't see the rooms but the dorms were very nice.

You are at a walking distance from war remnant museum, market, reunification palace and a bunch of other tourist stuff. The bars are much closer so it's good if you want to go out.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquelinrochette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were so surprised to see our rooms in the hotel at the just usd 20 per night for two. The rooms were very well equipped almost like a 3/4 star hotel. The rooms and breakfast were amazing. They serve egg, vegetables with a baguette. Try their cold coffee, I fell in love. Oh and ladies!, while you walk your way to the hostel, do not, I say do not, miss the manicure and pedicure for 50,000 VND. I missed it and do regret it but one my friends did have her nails done and they were beautiful.

The only problem was the location as it is located in a small lane and Siagon streets roaches can haunt you for life. It is scary to walk the small lane at night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong Quynh
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong...
#13 of 688 in Ho Chi Minh City
233 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Saigon Hostel 2
New Saigon Hostel 2
#14 of 688 in Ho Chi Minh City
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 688 in Ho Chi Minh City
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vitamin Smiles Hostel
Vitamin Smiles Hostel
#25 of 688 in Ho Chi Minh City
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel at Bui Vien
Saigon Backpackers Hostel at Bui...
#27 of 688 in Ho Chi Minh City
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hideout Hostels Asia - Saigon
Hideout Hostels Asia - Saigon
#12 of 688 in Ho Chi Minh City
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Address: 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 688 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $11 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saigon Backpackers Hostel Chain has been the first hostels in Ho Chi Minh City since 2009. Inspired by the energetic spirit of our guests, Saigon Backpackers Hostels is our latest and nicest hostel addition to Saigon's active backpackers' scene. Our hostels are located at the fringe of the city. To several budget travelers who just cannot get enough of Saigon, it's no secret that Saigon Youth hostel has the best location that you may ask for. The city center is just 5 minutes on foot. And just stone throw away is the Bui Vien street, another great area to explore. You will be stimulated by choices of Saigonese cuisine in the vicinity. It is undeniable that wonderful selections of food that can be nice alfresco roadside dinning and variety of restaurants, cafes and bars. At Saigon Backpackers hostel, we trust the environment will be the perfect place for you, foreign travelers, to meet friends from all over the world. We are obsessed in ensuring that our guests get more than just a bed with us with cozy atmosphere with color themed room design of Saigon culture. Saigon Youth hostel is a good place to feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing