We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Exceptionally friendly staff, really clean and spacious room. The hostel is situated in District 1 near most of the touristic sights, though local districts (more lively and cheaper better food) are near by as well. Tip: Go to the Vietnamese Traditional Massage Institute 185 Ð Cong Quynh (just around the corner, and get a massage for just 60.000 Vietnamese dong). I highly recommend this hostel to anyone who's looking for an affordable, yet clean and comfortable place to stay in Ho Chi Minh City.

Room Tip: 502 is a standard double room, top floor (there are also dorms available)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    125
    55
    12
    15
See reviews for
2
47
133
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stay at the private room. The room was clean and spacious. but i think they didn't change the bedsheets after the last guest checked out. we also found 2 cans of beer in the mini fridge, and a box of leftover food, and a jacket. When we decide to take a shower that night, we found that there's no towel in the bathroom, so we ask the receptionist, and their answer is they ran out of towel. they promise to deliver it to us the next morning, but the fact is we have to ask twice before they finally give us the towel.
The location is at the end of pham ngu lao street, about 15 minutes walk to the benh tanh market.
overall, my stay here is quite nice. The nicest thing here is there is a traditional market right in front of the alley, full with fresh fruit, vietnamese sandwich and ice coffee.

Room Tip: the common room has a pool table, cable tv, game console, 2 computers with good internet connection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LalaSantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in this hostel. Very nice, clean and comfortable room. The best bed in Vietnam since we started our trip three weeks ago.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDaphne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson,AZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in April, fair price for the room, clean and haid aircon and wifi so all that was good. HOWEVER i had a t shirt i left on my bed (my fault for not locking but didnt think a black sweat soaked no name brand shirt would be that desirable) that was gone after maid service went through the room (no other roommates at that point). Another guest there had his smart phone stolen while it was charging in the kitchen and he was 5 feet away in the lobby. Not necessarily fault of the hostel, but something to be aware of when staying there

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanouk Ville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I only got to stay in Saigon for one night but I am very happy I got to stay at Saigon's Backpackers, all the staff are friendly and eager to help, the dorm rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and the common area is equipped with computers, books, a huge TV and a pool table. I would definitely recommend this hostel. Had a great stay, and will use them again if I ever return to Saigon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Loved this place. Easy to locate in Backpackers area. Fab value for money. Stayed 3 nigs, more if we could. Good A/C in the 6 bed mixed dorm on floor 5 ($8 on H-W but deals on their own website) . Huge bunks for a great nights sleep. Breakfast included and towles replaced on request for free. Very clean so you should have no problem taking your shoes off at the door. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. Good guideline prices for cyclo, food etc. Nice common area downstairs and a good place to meet others - TV, comfy couches, pool table, book swap etc. Fast internet with good working headphones for skype. Stay here

Room Tip: No lift. Good walk up to the 5th floor but felt good after it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry_gal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Amazing hostel. Cheap,clean and everything you need. Lovely people who run it. You really can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#2 of 486 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
30.0 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 486 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong Quynh
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong...
#13 of 486 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#10 of 486 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 486 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saigon Youth Hostel
Saigon Youth Hostel
#30 of 486 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao

Property: Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
Address: 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 486 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saigon Backpackers Hostel Chain has been the first hostels in Ho Chi Minh City since 2009. Inspired by the energetic spirit of our guests, Saigon Backpackers Hostels is our latest and nicest hostel addition to Saigon's active backpackers' scene. Our hostels are located at the fringe of the city. To several budget travelers who just cannot get enough of Saigon, it's no secret that Saigon Youth hostel has the best location that you may ask for. The city center is just 5 minutes on foot. And just stone throw away is the Bui Vien street, another great area to explore. You will be stimulated by choices of Saigonese cuisine in the vicinity. It is undeniable that wonderful selections of food that can be nice alfresco roadside dinning and variety of restaurants, cafes and bars. At Saigon Backpackers hostel, we trust the environment will be the perfect place for you, foreign travelers, to meet friends from all over the world. We are obsessed in ensuring that our guests get more than just a bed with us with cozy atmosphere with color themed room design of Saigon culture. Saigon Youth hostel is a good place to feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing