We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and Service is wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant

KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant
Ranked #101 of 3,104 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: KOTO Saigon is a new restaurant opened in October 2011 with Modern Vietnamese fusion menu. KOTO is a not-for-profit social enterprise, which works with disadvantaged youth in Vietnam and empowers them with to learn and strive in their lives.KOTO stands for “Know One, Teach One”: learning should be passed on; knowledge is there to be shared.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food and Service is wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Good food and service. Reasonable price. I was surprised when the waiters came to asked how were the food. Usually in most of restaurant in hcmc only manager sometimes ask that questions. I felt very good about it. Heard owner of this restaurant only hire orphan. And if you dominated 50$, your name will be on the wall

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyAnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    94
    25
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No Expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

After comments from TA we visited this restaurant so we guess we had expectations. It was not what we expected. In saying that let us clarify: the meals were very nice (vegetarian choices were good, whilst also having the honey prawn), but pricey for what you got and compared to other local restaurants. The staff were very welcoming, but didn't allow you enough time to view the menu and continued interruptions whilst eating or enjoying a conversation. The venue is difficult to find as its down a driveway/alley and the signage is mixed with another cafe/restaurant. The indoors set up has an elegant feel whilst the outdoor is very relaxing. We ate our main meals inside and moved outside for our dessert and coffee.
Although we gave an average score, it is worth a visit as the concept of Koto is to support the street and disadvantaged youth of Vietnam. Great concept.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLG014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochiminh City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

From a local's perspective, there is not any point I would like to recommend for this restaurant although this is for the purpose of charity. We came as a group for team lunch and get totally disappointed.

We didn't try western ones but vietnamese ones. The dish overall is too pricey compared to both quality and quantity. For ex: the "crispy fried shrimp with honey" cost about USD7-8 with only 3 shrimps inside. The "seabass with mango sauce" seemed like with bumpkin sauce instead of the sour taste of mango. Vietnamese dishes are not well seasoned and do not deliver genuine taste.

The attitude of one waitress could not be acceptable when she incidentally spilled water over my colleague's mobile phone without any apology.

Our whole lunch was not worth overall !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hanoimuathu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KOTO_Restaurant, Manager at KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2016
First, I would like to thank you for supporting KOTO Kumho -a Training Restaurant. KOTO, a nonprofit social enterprise, gives disadvantaged and at-risk youth in Vietnam a second chance in life through our holistic hospitality training programme. As a Training Restaurant, our staff are made up of current KOTO trainees currently in the programme and KOTO alumni 'passing on the knowledge they learned to new trainees, which is the 'Know one, teach one.' philosophy. We work tirelessly to improve the quality of service and food while providing a practical platform of work experience for these young individuals to go off after and work in 4 & 5-star hotels and restaurants. Each food and drink purchase at these restaurants goes to support the 100% free training programme.

We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Running a training restaurant who caters to mainly tourists results in a slightly adjusted taste for our cuisine, still very much Vietnamese, but perhaps not as local as eating off a plastic chair and table in a ‘hem’. We would love to have our prices be as cheap as an outside vendor, but unfortunately there are several reasons why this isn’t possible. First, our training programme is 100% free and requires income to support our continued development of disadvantaged youth in Vietnam. Additionally, running a training restaurant is also more expensive than a normal restaurant or street stall. We are a ‘training restaurant’. This means: more staff is required (higher overheads), more spillage, breakage, and wastage (as they are learning and students make mistakes). We appreciate your comparison of ‘typical Vietnamese prices’ in our a-class facility (kindly heavily sponsored by our KOTO Kumho Founders), Again, we apologize for your experience, and always try to improve our service and quality levels.

We are excited to let you know that we have recently hired a new French General Manager last week, and we are excited to see him 'shaking things up' already. We are rigorously re-training our KOTO Kumho staff (KOTO trainees and alumni included), and hope that when you return (and we hope you do!), you will see a dramatic difference in food/drink and service quality.

Thank you again for supporting KOTO, and we hope to see you in one of our Training Restaurants in the future to experience the difference.


Best regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Koto Saigon - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Being impressed with KOTO Hanoi for its tasty food, marvelous decoration, and lovely staffs, I was keen on visiting KOTO Saigon. It was very impressive as well although it's a bit different from KOTO Hanoi. KOTO Saigon provides a relaxing, enjoyable space with lovely open terrace and comfortable in-doors sitting area. However, both Koto Hanoi and Saigon share some similarities: the food is tasty, fresh and nicely presented, the staffs so friendly and caring.

I am really passionate about KOTO's marvelous philosophy and projects to change lives of disadvantaged and vulnerable youths by empowering them with skills and positive attitude.

Overall, excellent food, nice atmosphere and lovely people... Very highly recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thuyling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt / UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely place and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Another restaurant that trains street kids and is trying to make a difference. Lovely food, friendly service and happy faces - definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DinahandRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing