We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining”

KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant
Ranked #96 of 3,194 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: KOTO Saigon is a restaurant opened in October 2011 with Modern Vietnamese fusion menu. KOTO is a not-for-profit social enterprise, which works with disadvantaged youth in Vietnam and empowers them with to learn and strive in their lives.KOTO stands for “Know One, Teach One”: learning should be passed on; knowledge is there to be shared.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were taken to this restaurant as part of a Wendy Wu tour and was truly amazed by the quality of the food and the presentation. The staff could not have been more attentative. It is located down a alley way and you could easily think you had come the wrong way. We ate inside but there was also tables set up outside in a lovely courtyard. We had a set meal as there was a group of us, but a la carte was available. Credit to all involved in this venture.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    95
    25
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“perfect in every way”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

start with an intrepid tours(with other ngos) project that takes street kids and trains them in the restaurant business. it has been a very successful venture,with kids getting jobs in the best restaurants and hotels. no surprise because the food is elegant, creative, delicious, beautifully presented. the restaurant is gorgeous,romantic,atmospheric. last but not least, the staff is charming, efficient,perfect. this was the best gourmet meal i had in vietnam--hard to beat the street food,but if a truly lovely sit-down fusion meal is what you are craving, this will do it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annecheve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“fancy place, average service”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

we went for our last dinner in vietnam as a group and were given a fixed menu from intrepid who organized our trip. The menu was a bit confusing and food and service was below average. Nicely done place. A bit expensive as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank miteshgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“High standards achieved here”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

It's so good to be served world class food and receive great service from these young people. They are cheerful and willing to please. The food is of very high standard. Well worth supporting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank leila16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great place, Great cause.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I met Jimmy Pham back in 1999 when he had a cafe in Hanoi and so when I came to HCMC for business and heard he had a place in HCMC I had to go there. I was very impressed with how far he had come, how well the staff were trained and the quality of the food. Jimmy had/has a great vision and it has manifested impeccably. I definitely recommend coming here not just for the food but to support the great cause of training street kids in hospitality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellerjack_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing